Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,401 Members 45,348 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: How was your unlocking experience using Asus' unlock tool?
Unlocked with no issues whatsoever. 143 31.50%
Unlocked after factory reset. 9 1.98%
Unlocked after downgrading to older version. 3 0.66%
Unlocked EVEN after an RMA. 5 1.10%
Unable to unlock due to "unknown error". 294 64.76%
Voters: 454. You may not vote on this poll

POLL: Unable to unlock your prime? POTENTIAL FIX! Mine is unlocked!

Tip us?
 
nhshah7
Old
(Last edited by nhshah7; 8th September 2013 at 12:49 AM.)
#1  
nhshah7's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 1,642
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Question POLL: Unable to unlock your prime? POTENTIAL FIX! Mine is unlocked!

4/18/2013
After months of waiting, my tablet is FINALLY UNLOCKED! If you are in the US, see this post. Thanks you Tien (Asus_USA)!


Update 9/2013:
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDog_NL View Post
It's back.

It works

Sooooooo people, contact ASUS Support about your device tracker not working! They will give you support on that, and because it has the same problem causing it, it will fix the unlock issue!

Hi all, I decided to finally take the dive a couple days ago to unlock my beloved prime and try out androwook and other custom roms that supposedly put stock to shame. However, I was unfortunately confronted by a crude and nasty message along the lines of:

Code:
An unknown error occurs, which may be a network connection issue. 
Please wait and try again later
As usual, I unrooted, rebooted, and tried again. No luck.
I disabled and uninstalled ATP Tweak (sio scheduler/systune), replaced my modified dock keyboard files (browser mod, switched alt/search buttons), and tried again. No luck.
Factory reset from the settings menu. No luck.
Placed the .28 US update on my SD card, rebooted, and re-flashed the update. No luck.

Where does that leave me now? Locked and feeling imprisoned. I'm wondering if it is worth it to downgrade and try unlocking. So far, I have only seen one person have any success with this. Due to the potential brick risk, I want to stay away from this unless I know it will work. I also know that Asus asked for the MAC address of a prime owner with this issue, but that didn't go anywhere.

This seems like it may be an issue that is experienced by anyone that RMA'ed their tablet for whatever reason. I, personally, sent mine in for a green camera issue and mura, but do not think that they changed my motherboard.

I am also curious to see how many other people are having this issue. If it is sizable, I am willing to start a petition to Asus for them to support their unlock tool and fix this stupid error without an RMA. To that effect, please answer the poll above to let me gather some data on the unlock tool.

Thanks to everyone for your help and support that makes xda such an amazing community!

PS I don't want to see any "Asus sucks" posts. There are tons of other threads for that so please spare us



Additional info:
Have tried this on several different network connections.
Have not yet contacted Asus to see if they have my prime listed as "unlocked" already, but will do so sometime this week.
Logcat of running unlock tool results in this:
Code:
D/KeyBoxService(10158): === StatusCode: SC_UNAUTHORIZED!

D/KeyBoxService(10158): === OTA BEGIN

E/KeyBoxService(10158): === Connection to http://wvdrm.asus.com refused

D/KeyBoxService(10158): === Retry after 600 seconds.

D/KeyBoxService(10158): === OTA END




July 13th Update:

I have contacted Asus with this information. I learned something interesting. Asus has my tablet (s/n) listed as LOCKED. They also did not replace my mainboard when I RMA'ed the tablet. I also have not had the unknown serial number issue. Considering those were the 3 criteria a few of us had considered to be the reasons for not being able to unlock, I am now baffled.

I am going to continue communicating with Asus and hopefully push the matter a little bit more so that something happens. As I was told, "HQ is probably aware and working towards a fix". Let's hope that happens sooner rather than later.

September 5th update:
Seems that Asus HQ figured out a fix, but it requires an RMA. We'll find out soon if it actually works...

September 29th update:
Some of the members in this thread have sent their primes in for an RMA to fix the issue. The first prime back STILL has the problem. Asus HQ is looking into the matter...again...
Nexus 7 FHD: 4.4.3 stock, unlocked bootloader

HTC One XL: CleanROM 7R2

Nokia Lumia 800: WinPhone 7.8



Retired devices: Asus Transformer Prime, Nokia E62, Nokia E61, HTC Fuze, HTC Tilt2, Nokia E72, HTC Inspire


Hit thanks if I helped you please
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to nhshah7 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dude2k5
Old
(Last edited by dude2k5; 11th July 2012 at 04:25 PM.)
#2  
dude2k5's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 230
Posts: 647
Join Date: Jul 2010
Asus wants me to resend my tablet back to RMA to see if they can fix the problem. I'll see what they have to say, don't really want to RMA back. It's a software issue it seems to me, changing any hardware will just make it worse.

edit: Email was no help. Dumb. Stuck again! Yay
 
nhshah7
Old
#3  
nhshah7's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 1,642
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by dude2k5 View Post
Asus wants me to resend my tablet back to RMA to see if they can fix the problem. I'll see what they have to say, don't really want to RMA back. It's a software issue it seems to me, changing any hardware will just make it worse.
Agreed, this seems like a server/application issue that they can fix on their end hopefully!
Nexus 7 FHD: 4.4.3 stock, unlocked bootloader

HTC One XL: CleanROM 7R2

Nokia Lumia 800: WinPhone 7.8



Retired devices: Asus Transformer Prime, Nokia E62, Nokia E61, HTC Fuze, HTC Tilt2, Nokia E72, HTC Inspire


Hit thanks if I helped you please
 
Reverent01
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ingolstadt
I have this Problem ,too
Nothing help !
This is so frustrating ...

Asus Transformer Prime 32GB
0.28 Software and Root
 
CharliesTheMan
Old
#5  
CharliesTheMan's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,483
Posts: 3,666
Join Date: May 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhshah7 View Post
Agreed, this seems like a server/application issue that they can fix on their end hopefully!
I found a tool for downgrading that worked pretty well, and when combined with Sparkys tool that will root you so easily on .28, the process of downgrading might be worth a try once you've done everything else.

I'm anxious to hear if anyone who's never rooted and has a serial number has ever had this problem.

I thought my tablet hadn't been unlocked correctly because of some issues and some of the people helping me troubleshoot and figure out the prime when I first got it told me to try running the unlock tool again and said i should get a response, but I always got the same network error. However I bought my prime second hand and it had been rooted before. Finally ended up doing some manual tests with ADB to determine if my problem was unlock related and it wasn't.

I had just gotten the prime, and people said even being unlocked I still shouldn't have gotten that network error. I just gave up after that, and have always wondered if it was related to it being previously rooted.
Help CharliesTheMan out by signing up for Copy with this link https://copy.com?r=lK6L1Y

 
ShyTownFantasy
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 84
Join Date: Aug 2009
I can't unlock my tablet. I just don't get any error message at all. But I am 100% sure it's not unlocked.
 
Parastie
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 94
Posts: 802
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lodz, Poland

 
DONATE TO ME
Default No Problems here

I have a rooted 0.28, I did not root until after I got the 0.28 update.
I just ran the unlock tool downloaded from this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1510737
I had to use the dropbox downlown because the one from ASUS would not work.

Unlocked, no issues. No factor reset necessary, no removing root. Now i'm completely unlocked and ruined my warranty just for you guys.

Now i'm going to go install a custom rom.
Later.
Give me a thanks! It's like Karma!

Devices:
Sony Xperia Ion l28at sim unlocked/bootloader sadly locked by AT&T.
Asus Transformer Prime Wookied Out.
HTC Desire with CM10.1! (RETIRED)
(If you have a prime, you're doing yourself a disservice by NOT unlocking.)
Google Users! Make sure you're using dual authentication. Especially if you have credit cards with Google.
The Following User Says Thank You to Parastie For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
whycali
Old
#8  
whycali's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 291
Posts: 1,261
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default Unlocking by a dummy

I unlocked a couple of weeks ago but it wasn't easy. Why? because I am half dumb and need reading glasses. It took me part of 2 days to figure out what was going on. I would get to the final scare screen that warns you that if you do this you are screwed forever and then I could not go any further. There were no buttons to click or agreement check boxes to check just the sad warning big as life.

Then I watched a video, the one with the hyper dude with braces unlocking his prime. And I realized I was missing the buttons on that warning screen. It occurred to met that I had amped up my font size so I could read my tablet without my reading glasses. This action made the font from the warning too big to fit the button on the screen. Went into settings, decreased font size, unlocked, never better.
Workarounds are how things "work".
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to whycali For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Parastie
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 94
Posts: 802
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lodz, Poland

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by whycali View Post
I unlocked a couple of weeks ago but it wasn't easy. Why? because I am half dumb and need reading glasses. It took me part of 2 days to figure out what was going on. I would get to the final scare screen that warns you that if you do this you are screwed forever and then I could not go any further. There were no buttons to click or agreement check boxes to check just the sad warning big as life.

Then I watched a video, the one with the hyper dude with braces unlocking his prime. And I realized I was missing the buttons on that warning screen. It occurred to met that I had amped up my font size so I could read my tablet without my reading glasses. This action made the font from the warning too big to fit the button on the screen. Went into settings, decreased font size, unlocked, never better.
I thanked your post just because it made me laugh.
Give me a thanks! It's like Karma!

Devices:
Sony Xperia Ion l28at sim unlocked/bootloader sadly locked by AT&T.
Asus Transformer Prime Wookied Out.
HTC Desire with CM10.1! (RETIRED)
(If you have a prime, you're doing yourself a disservice by NOT unlocking.)
Google Users! Make sure you're using dual authentication. Especially if you have credit cards with Google.
The Following User Says Thank You to Parastie For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nhshah7
Old
#10  
nhshah7's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 1,642
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShyTownFantasy View Post
I can't unlock my tablet. I just don't get any error message at all. But I am 100% sure it's not unlocked.
have you tried getting a logcat of your prime while you're running the unlock tool? it's REALLY easy if you have adb setup. if not, you can do it from a terminal emulator app. PM me if you need more help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parastie View Post
I have a rooted 0.28, I did not root until after I got the 0.28 update.
I just ran the unlock tool downloaded from this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1510737
I had to use the dropbox downlown because the one from ASUS would not work.

Unlocked, no issues. No factor reset necessary, no removing root. Now i'm completely unlocked and ruined my warranty just for you guys.

Now i'm going to go install a custom rom.
Later.
I envy you! lol thanks and enjoy! did you ever send in your prime for RMA? I'm thinking that doing so screws us all over lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by whycali View Post
I unlocked a couple of weeks ago but it wasn't easy. Why? because I am half dumb and need reading glasses. It took me part of 2 days to figure out what was going on. I would get to the final scare screen that warns you that if you do this you are screwed forever and then I could not go any further. There were no buttons to click or agreement check boxes to check just the sad warning big as life.

Then I watched a video, the one with the hyper dude with braces unlocking his prime. And I realized I was missing the buttons on that warning screen. It occurred to met that I had amped up my font size so I could read my tablet without my reading glasses. This action made the font from the warning too big to fit the button on the screen. Went into settings, decreased font size, unlocked, never better.
hahahahahaha i wish my problem were that simple
Nexus 7 FHD: 4.4.3 stock, unlocked bootloader

HTC One XL: CleanROM 7R2

Nokia Lumia 800: WinPhone 7.8



Retired devices: Asus Transformer Prime, Nokia E62, Nokia E61, HTC Fuze, HTC Tilt2, Nokia E72, HTC Inspire


Hit thanks if I helped you please

Tags
asus, bootloader, network connection issue, unknown error occurs, unlock tool
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes