FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Working (for me) BT Tethering

152 posts
Thanks Meter: 17
 
By Bushrod, Senior Member on 11th March 2014, 08:26 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This is based on this post in the Galaxy Gear General forum:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...50&postcount=2

I have a Sprint Galaxy S3, rooted stock MK3 with the hotspot mod flashed.

TS is running EnSec Patch & Imperium Operative Installer 20140221, option 2.

This is all from memory, but should be mostly accurate.

1) Enabled Xposed module and restart TS.
2) Installed HackConnectivityService.apk (found in referenced message). Enabled and TS restarted.
3) On phone, installed FoxFi (Sprint/AT&T only)
4) On TS, installed PdaNet(Tablet)
5) On phone, start FoxFi and run through configuation. Don't remember what I did here, but I don't think it was anything unusual.
6) On TS, go to Hack ConnectivityService app. Make sure the hack is activated and choose WiFi. Mobile may also work but I haven't played with that option too much.
7) Start PdaNet(Tablet). Choose configure. Start scanning.
8) Back on phone, Activate Bluetooth Mode. It ask if you want to be visible for 120 seconds. Choose Yes.
9) Back on TS, you should be able to pair with the phone's FoxFi. Click on bottom grey button. It may say Connect, but I can't tell because the screen is too small!
10) You should get a connected screen.

That's the general idea.

Without the Hack Connectivity Service in place, I could only browse the web. By choosing "WiFi" in enables Play Store access and GMail syncing, etc.

Other than the usual TS being unable to maintain a stable BT connection for any period of time, I have only found one other problem. GMail won't automatically sync for me over this connection. I can open GMail and manually check for new and it works fine. Maybe a Tasker script would help.
Last edited by Bushrod; 11th March 2014 at 08:42 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Bushrod For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
11th March 2014, 09:05 PM |#2  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,315
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks. Going to look into this and see if it can't be baked into a patch without the $8 FoxFi part.
The Following User Says Thank You to Lokifish Marz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 09:41 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
I had an old PDANet license and yup, sure enough this method works. Though it disconnects pretty quickly. Maybe I can figure a tasker script to re-enable it...
11th March 2014, 10:23 PM |#4  
mortis2600's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
Donate to Me
More
the PDAnet app is too big for the screen and the connect button doesn't show for me.

Any ideas for fixes?
11th March 2014, 11:50 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 617
 
More
Dpi mod through xposed.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
12th March 2014, 12:09 AM |#6  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,315
 
Donate to Me
More
Unless you constantly push data (even then that sometimes fails) it drops. Same for the 5 or 6 other host/client apps I've tried so far.
12th March 2014, 12:17 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Maybe have the Omaster and Ocompanion running at the same time?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
12th March 2014, 01:00 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
30 minutes so far but I can't get Gmail to sync.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
13th March 2014, 06:31 AM |#9  
nbarm2's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Thumbs up Using EasyTether BT Tethering Works on TS
I followed the post that you linked http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...50&postcount=2 and I was able to get internet access using bluetooth on the TS from my SIII on T-Mobile network. I installed the EasyTether Tablet and the HackConnectivity module on the TS and EasyTether Lite on my phone.
Last edited by nbarm2; 13th March 2014 at 06:37 AM. Reason: Added link
13th March 2014, 01:41 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbarm2

I followed the post that you linked http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...50&postcount=2 and I was able to get internet access using bluetooth on the TS from my SIII on T-Mobile network. I installed the EasyTether Tablet and the HackConnectivity module on the TS and EasyTether Lite on my phone.

Does it work for any length of time, or does it drop and not reconnect like the PDANet/Foxfi one?
13th March 2014, 04:17 PM |#11  
nbarm2's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdommer

Does it work for any length of time, or does it drop and not reconnect like the PDANet/Foxfi one?

I'm gonna test it now by leaving it on all day.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 10:17 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:01 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbarm2

I'm gonna test it now by leaving it on all day.



This the max speed I'm getting on BT on the TS with 4G on my phone. So far web browsing and play store works with no disconnections.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
Last edited by nbarm2; 13th March 2014 at 04:33 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes