Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,650 Members 38,601 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

notification sound not working others are

Tip us?
 
bjballar41
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 165
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default notification sound not working others are

like that title states notification for text wont sound tried changing the sound nothing all others work tho ringtone for voicemail everything. just cant figure it out.
 
gio22
Old
#2  
gio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 800
Posts: 961
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Acworth, GA
Just to cover the basics,

Did you do the following:

1) Go to Settings, Sound, Volume and make sure everything is up?
2) Under Settings, Sound and in the Feedback area, make sure that all the appropriate options are selected?
3) Reboot the phone?
4) Use the volume switch on the side to go to completely silent and then push it back up?




Check out From Nerds to Noobs on: Facebook or on the: Web




If my post has helped in any way, please click the "Thanks" button.
 
sepherian
Old
#3  
sepherian's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 292
Posts: 908
Join Date: Feb 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Are your mp3 files playing?

Sent from my captivate running firefly!
 
bjballar41
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 165
Join Date: Oct 2010
yep ive done all that stuff mp3 files will play even when im selecting a new tone on the msgs it plays there just wont play when i get a msg. i am using zedge if that helps
 
bjballar41
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 165
Join Date: Oct 2010
the email ringtone that i set for my msg ringtone worked ugh this is pissing me off.
 
gio22
Old
#6  
gio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 800
Posts: 961
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Acworth, GA
Are you on a custom ROM? I guess it is possible this is a side effect of a bad flash. Might want to try reflashing whatever ROM you are on. Make sure you backup first, but when you restore don't restore system data. Part of that system data could be your problem and you would just be restoring it, thus putting you in an endless loop.




Check out From Nerds to Noobs on: Facebook or on the: Web




If my post has helped in any way, please click the "Thanks" button.
 
bjballar41
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 165
Join Date: Oct 2010
i am on a custom rom continuum v4 but ive been using this one for almost 2 months
 
TigerEnigma
Old
#8  
TigerEnigma's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 62
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SC
If you have root explorer or another file system app, check in your system\media\audio folder. Under the notifications folder, see if you have anything in there. I have had a bad flash wipe my ringtones before and had to download some I wanted. Just a thought
 
mrhaley30705
Old
#9  
mrhaley30705's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2312
Posts: 5,412
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Georgia

 
DONATE TO ME
Try this : go to Messaging/menu/settings. The VERY last option will set your sms tone.


The Following User Says Thank You to mrhaley30705 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bjballar41
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 165
Join Date: Oct 2010
well it started working when i did that i noticed it was really low so when it played i turned the volume up and it started working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes