Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Which carrier will you use for your Note 3?
AT&T 17 20.99%
Sprint 8 9.88%
T-Mobile 28 34.57%
Verizon 15 18.52%
Other U.S. Carrier 1 1.23%
International (EG outside U.S.) 12 14.81%
Voters: 81. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

Note 3 Carrier Selection

OP staryoshi

13th September 2013, 07:42 PM   |  #1  
staryoshi's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins, CO
Thanks Meter: 25
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Which carrier will you use for your Note 3? (Or are considering using)

I currently use Sprint, but I'm disappointed with their lackluster data network so I'm fairly certain I'm converting to t-mobile (with an outside chance of using AT&T, but unlikely).

I'm curious as to what the breakdown is amongst Note forum frequenters. I apologize for the lack of options for non-U.S. carriers, but that information is not of interest to me :P (Although the proportion of international users is useful, I suppose) I'm a statistician by trade, so the purpose of this poll is to satisfy my (and others') curiosity.
Last edited by staryoshi; 13th September 2013 at 07:45 PM. Reason: Fix title
13th September 2013, 08:10 PM   |  #2  
mircury's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 246
 
484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
If I get a Note 3 it will probably be a tmobile one because of the unlocked bootloader. I'll use it on ATT. The tmobile S4 works on ATT without a problem.
13th September 2013, 08:20 PM   |  #3  
p51d007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, Mo
Thanks Meter: 177
 
1,454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
"technically"
AT&T for me, but, it will be via straight talk, now that they are going to start doing LTE. I was thinking
about AIO, but now that ST is on LTE, I'll probably stay with it.
i don't use much data a month, less than 2 gig. Most of my data is wi-fi anyway. Been happy with
ST, so I don't see any reason now to switch.
13th September 2013, 09:36 PM   |  #4  
staryoshi's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins, CO
Thanks Meter: 25
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by p51d007

AT&T for me, but, it will be via straight talk, now that they are going to start doing LTE. I was thinking
about AIO, but now that ST is on LTE, I'll probably stay with it.
i don't use much data a month, less than 2 gig. Most of my data is wi-fi anyway. Been happy with
ST, so I don't see any reason now to switch.

I went with Sprint ~2 years ago out of principle (the only carrier I could get unlimited data with) but their network has been so slow for me I can't take advantage of the service. I can get discounts for both t-mobile and AT&T, but I feel like t-mobile offers a stronger value over the next two years for my usage. Depending on how aggressive the throttling is with ST's LTE network and how reliable the service is I'd definitely consider giving them a go, too.
15th September 2013, 02:42 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 90
 
503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Verizon for me.

I've still got their true unlimited and I'll be damned if I'm giving that up.
15th September 2013, 03:00 AM   |  #6  
amynjimmy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 159
 
874 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by p51d007

AT&T for me, but, it will be via straight talk, now that they are going to start doing LTE. I was thinking
about AIO, but now that ST is on LTE, I'll probably stay with it.
i don't use much data a month, less than 2 gig. Most of my data is wi-fi anyway. Been happy with
ST, so I don't see any reason now to switch.

Same here.....baught 3 sim cards today....i cant believe thar straight talk is going LTE

MB865/ATT-ST/4.3 Slimbean
15th September 2013, 03:33 AM   |  #7  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 556
 
2,315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirBindy

Verizon for me.

I've still got their true unlimited and I'll be damned if I'm giving that up.

So you will be paying full price for it?
15th September 2013, 03:55 AM   |  #8  
markysd's Avatar
Senior Member
san diego ca
Thanks Meter: 46
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
well im looking to get full price.. im on att and i been reading that it will be locked and now i read that tmo is unlockedboot..

will tmo work on att 4G/LTE? dont the S800 chips support LTE-A? att is going to get it first or has it already in some places ?

i need a phone that has rom support and needs root.. cant stand bloatwares
15th September 2013, 04:46 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
508 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
I will be using at&t as usual..... The locked bootloader I'm sure will be resolved or bypassed so I'm not worried about it! The most important thing to me is root which should not be a problem!

Sent from my GT-N7000 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 07:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:45 PM ----------

By the way I'm still grandfathered with unlimited data so no way I'm ditching that! Plus I work for them so I feel a little obligated..... Lol

Sent from my GT-N7000 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
15th September 2013, 05:38 AM   |  #10  
markysd's Avatar
Senior Member
san diego ca
Thanks Meter: 46
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by eroracing

I will be using at&t as usual..... The locked bootloader I'm sure will be resolved or bypassed so I'm not worried about it! The most important thing to me is root which should not be a problem!

Sent from my GT-N7000 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 07:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:45 PM ----------

By the way I'm still grandfathered with unlimited data so no way I'm ditching that! Plus I work for them so I feel a little obligated..... Lol

Sent from my GT-N7000 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

still new to this rooting thing.. so unlocked boot lets you use the phone on other carriers ? and root just lets you get root access so you can install roms/uninstall bloatware ?

im going with att buying it full price and maybe go back to t-mobile..will the att work on t-mo network?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes