FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Ouya Arcade Cabinet

82 posts
Thanks Meter: 19
 
By ajb999, Member on 28th April 2014, 09:15 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Just wanted to share a couple pics of an arcade cabinet built using the ouya. This is a link to a video of neon shadow being played on it. The vid is from before we finished the control box. There are some other vids on the same channel. http://youtu.be/sRDOYn7WhJk


Last edited by ajb999; 29th April 2014 at 03:50 AM. Reason: added vid link
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to ajb999 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
2nd May 2014, 07:07 PM |#2  
Banjo999's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I just decided last night that I was going to see if it was practical to use the OUYA instead of an XP machine to power the arcade cabinet that I'm going to be building. I see now that it is. It looks great, man. What did you use for the controls and how did you make them respond to the OUYA?

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium HD app
3rd May 2014, 12:25 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
We are currently using 2 xin-mo boards. One per player. The OUYA will recognize them as USB inputs. Just have to create your own custom file for android to load on startup. This took lots of trial and error. We have got it working with the majority of OUYA games with our gamepad. There are a very few that don't though. You can also use OUYA controllers at the same time for up to whatever amount a players the game allows. Our customer! Controls work great with emulators and with the 2 joystick config are awesome on OUYA fps games also. We just received an arduino board we are going to try to use to add more options and get 100% compatibility with all games. Even at this point there is no reason to use an actual controller unless you want to.
4th May 2014, 03:41 PM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Started painting the cabinet. The trim should really set it off once it's installed.

The Following User Says Thank You to ajb999 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2014, 07:26 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
More pics, vids, and info on the arcade cabinet at https://plus.google.com/+BurdbroscustomarcadeUs/posts
15th May 2014, 02:02 PM |#6  
ironfisted's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Absolutely love this. Awesome job!!!!

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
15th May 2014, 03:24 PM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chopper the dog

Looks like buffet hutch. Good to see the sales of copyrighted roms is going good for you.



good day.

We do not include any Roms with the cabinet. The OUYA comes the same as it would come out of the box except we add the files necessary for it to work with our controls and setup. It is up to the owner to put whatever games they want on it. It is their cabinet after all. We can sell just the cabinet also and it is easy enough for someone to plug their OUYA in and go. They would just have to copy a few files that would take less than a minute to do.
15th May 2014, 03:29 PM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironfisted

Absolutely love this. Awesome job!!!!

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Thanks!!! The tmolding is suppose to be here today. Hopefully that will be installed in the next few days depending on our work schedule. Once we sell this one I want to build a 4player one for myself. It's way too much fun to play. Using the control box as arcade controls inside on the big screen TV is sweet too.
Last edited by ajb999; 15th May 2014 at 04:52 PM.
19th May 2014, 01:06 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 486
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajb999

We do not include any Roms with the cabinet. The OUYA comes the same as it would come out of the box except we add the files necessary for it to work with our controls and setup. It is up to the owner to put whatever games they want on it. It is their cabinet after all. We can sell just the cabinet also and it is easy enough for someone to plug their OUYA in and go. They would just have to copy a few files that would take less than a minute to do.

Don't mind him, he's notorious for trolling. No sane person would think that you are actually including roms as part of the sale.

It seemed like a strange concept at first, but once I thought about it I realized the OUYA probably is the cheapest and best cpu you could build a cabinet with.
19th May 2014, 01:21 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Looks pretty awesome. I built an arcade cabinet once, but stupidly did not measure the hallway/door to my room, got pissed, and smashed it to pieces. Looked cool in the garage for a while though.
7th June 2014, 06:16 PM |#11  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandogg

Looks pretty awesome. I built an arcade cabinet once, but stupidly did not measure the hallway/door to my room, got pissed, and smashed it to pieces. Looked cool in the garage for a while though.

This is 31.5" wide so it would be a little bit of a pain to get through a 32" door. In the future we probably won't go as deep so they will lighter and easier to get through smaller openings.

We finally found the time and got the tmolding dry fit. Just need to pull it off and then glue it back on. We decided not to do any of the stuff mentioned above to this one except for plexi on the cp and possible a vinyl wrap. The next one will have everything as we have all the parts necessary to do it. We have also built a test 4 player cp. We still need to drill the player and start button holes for each player. Just waiting on the buttons and joysticks for it. We also ordered new hardware for our 2 player cp so we can have all led buttons. The pic of the 4 player top is a mock up with the buttons just sitting in it.





Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes