Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,466 Members 49,623 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] No Task Manager?

Tip us?
 
deeznuts
Old
(Last edited by deeznuts; 27th March 2014 at 09:05 PM.)
#1  
deeznuts's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 3,304
Join Date: Sep 2007
Exclamation [Q] No Task Manager?

Maybe i'm blind but can't find any type of HTC task manager on this device? Had it on stock ATT HTC One X+ device. I'm new to Verizon, switched specifically for this device and better deal with service so this is all new to me here.

Just seems odd zero task manager installed at all. Never had to use a third party, any recommendations? Thanks

I see in Settings, App manager, you can scroll right to Running apps and manually tap and stop. Anyway to have these apps NOT become active after a reboot? I'm spoiled and use to root and greenify and what not. Never use apps like Verizon Cloud, Verizon messages, NFL, etc.
Device: Verizon HTC One (M8)
Current Rom: Stock
Location: Southern Cali
 
deeznuts
Old
#2  
deeznuts's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 3,304
Join Date: Sep 2007
Facebook app uses 48mb just for push services? Already have half the ram used up and only using mandatory apps running except Facebook, Messenger, GSam Battery Monitor, AppLock, Dropbox (all except Facebook and Messenger only use maybe 5-10mb each).
Device: Verizon HTC One (M8)
Current Rom: Stock
Location: Southern Cali
 
wtoj34
Old
#3  
wtoj34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 608
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Closest I can find is by pressing the recent apps button and clicking the four square icon in the top right. That's typically the most we'll get w/o root apps

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
If I help any one any where at any time, please let me know by clicking thanks!
Current devices: HTC ONE M8, Galaxy Nexus, Motorola Xoom Former devices: Droid X2, Droid Charge, Note 2,
 
deeznuts
Old
#4  
deeznuts's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 3,304
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtoj34 View Post
Closest I can find is by pressing the recent apps button and clicking the four square icon in the top right. That's typically the most we'll get w/o root apps

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
Yeah that's a shortcut to what I described. So no matter how many times I turn off, force close, etc the Verizon and Amazon apps they seem to still run on their own. Awesome
Device: Verizon HTC One (M8)
Current Rom: Stock
Location: Southern Cali
 
123421342
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 244
Posts: 1,229
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeznuts View Post
Yeah that's a shortcut to what I described. So no matter how many times I turn off, force close, etc the Verizon and Amazon apps they seem to still run on their own. Awesome
So disable them
 
wtoj34
Old
#6  
wtoj34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 608
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeznuts View Post
Yeah that's a shortcut to what I described. So no matter how many times I turn off, force close, etc the Verizon and Amazon apps they seem to still run on their own. Awesome
Go into settings, apps, all, click on some of the bloat ware and click disable. Removes it from the task manager for me. Also do you have this at the bottom of your apps list? I'm referring to the one with the foreign characters. Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1395954997814.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	2654162

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
If I help any one any where at any time, please let me know by clicking thanks!
Current devices: HTC ONE M8, Galaxy Nexus, Motorola Xoom Former devices: Droid X2, Droid Charge, Note 2,
 
deeznuts
Old
#7  
deeznuts's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 3,304
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtoj34 View Post
Go into settings, apps, all, click on some of the bloat ware and click disable. Removes it from the task manager for me. Also do you have this at the bottom of your apps list? I'm referring to the one with the foreign characters. Attachment 2654162

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
I just did that. Basically unchecked notifications and disabled all Verizon, Amazon apps. Going to reboot now and see if they still start up on their own and if there any issues disabling all these? New to this stuff.

Yes I noticed that too just now. Not sure what it is for?
Device: Verizon HTC One (M8)
Current Rom: Stock
Location: Southern Cali
 
wtoj34
Old
#8  
wtoj34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 608
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeznuts View Post
I just did that. Basically unchecked notifications and disabled all Verizon, Amazon apps. Going to reboot now and see if they still start up on their own and if there any issues disabling all these? New to this stuff.

Yes I noticed that too just now. Not sure what it is for?
Rebooted and they aren't there. Good one less reason for me to want root.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
If I help any one any where at any time, please let me know by clicking thanks!
Current devices: HTC ONE M8, Galaxy Nexus, Motorola Xoom Former devices: Droid X2, Droid Charge, Note 2,
 
deeznuts
Old
#9  
deeznuts's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 3,304
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtoj34 View Post
Rebooted and they aren't there. Good one less reason for me to want root.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
Same here, not running now after disable and reboot. Whew.

No offense but I can't think of any reason to not want root?
Device: Verizon HTC One (M8)
Current Rom: Stock
Location: Southern Cali
 
wtoj34
Old
#10  
wtoj34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 608
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeznuts View Post
Same here, not running now after disable and reboot. Whew.

No offense but I can't think of any reason to not want root?
True. I mainly like to hold off as long as I can until I have to root. As much as I like tinkering with Android stuff I always have that time period where I'm not willing to mess with my new$600 phone. After that period I just go flash happy.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
If I help any one any where at any time, please let me know by clicking thanks!
Current devices: HTC ONE M8, Galaxy Nexus, Motorola Xoom Former devices: Droid X2, Droid Charge, Note 2,

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes