Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Ace 2 Gt-i8160L LATIN. How to install CM?

OP Aidarbek

4th February 2014, 12:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bishkek
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Ace 2 Gt-i8160L LATIN. How to install CM?

When I install CM, don't wok sim-card and not IMEI.
Restore IMEI don't helped.
This is modem or hw problems, i think.
Sorry my english is bad.
4th February 2014, 01:59 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,125
 
3,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
...
Replace tee folder in rom zip /system/lib with the one from stock rom

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to teddytsen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th February 2014, 05:38 PM   |  #3  
gianrock's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 4
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
1) backup tee folder
2) On build.prop change all GT-I8160L to GT-I8160 (without L)
3) all wipes factory/cache/dalvik
3) Install CM_Xversion
4) Whith roo explorer replace tee folder

Enjoy.
The Following User Says Thank You to gianrock For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,125
 
3,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
2) also can delete assert :/
4) you can just replace in zip before flashing (just sayin)

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk
27th February 2014, 09:15 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
When to alter ROM
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddytsen

2) also can delete assert :/
4) you can just replace in zip before flashing (just sayin)

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk

Am located in New Zealand, and hence using model i8160L, running stock JB ROM

Am trying to modify / install Maclaw CM KK ROM -- but am having problems
-- it "reads" the ROM and "immediately" (afaik) but aborts installation
-- NO ERROR MESSAGES come up for any indication as to why it's aborting

Am trying to do the following -- appreciate any feedback to correct procedure if I'm making eny errors

(i) omitting any and all references to L in 8160L string -- should I restrict it to any particular lines? -- using Build.Prop Editor
-- the Settings/About Device shows it as an 8160, rather than an 8160L after the Build.Prop changes, but the boot screen still shows it as the 8160L -- but at least I don't get the error message about trying to install ROM on wrong device

(ii) before attempting installation, downloading the latest ROM, unzipping the ROM using 7zip, deleting "tee" folder
-- and pasting tee folder from the stock JB ROM installed on my phone
(iii) re-zipping the ROM using 7zip -- I notice I get a different MD5 to that llsted on the download page
(iv) attempting to flash the modified ROM in Recovery mode, but it aborts

Don't know enough to know if install procedure tries to validate the "to be installed" ROM's MD5 and aborts since it's different from that on the download page

Don't know what purpose of tee folder is -- is it to connect to local carrier?

How about if I try to install "unmodified" ROM (in its unmodified form) and once it's installed, if it does (?), replace the tee folder at that later stage, to check for ability to connect to carrier?

Do I need to unlock the SIM card first --- as that's also something I haven't done

(naturally, I've backed up and able to restore to what I had before attempting the install)
27th February 2014, 09:37 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,125
 
3,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiwiCool60a

Am located in New Zealand, and hence using model i8160L, running stock JB ROM

Am trying to modify / install Maclaw CM KK ROM -- but am having problems
-- it "reads" the ROM and "immediately" (afaik) but aborts installation
-- NO ERROR MESSAGES come up for any indication as to why it's aborting

Am trying to do the following -- appreciate any feedback to correct procedure if I'm making eny errors

(i) omitting any and all references to L in 8160L string -- should I restrict it to any particular lines? -- using Build.Prop Editor
-- the Settings/About Device shows it as an 8160, rather than an 8160L after the Build.Prop changes, but the boot screen still shows it as the 8160L -- but at least I don't get the error message about trying to install ROM on wrong device

(ii) before attempting installation, downloading the latest ROM, unzipping the ROM using 7zip, deleting "tee" folder
-- and pasting tee folder from the stock JB ROM installed on my phone
(iii) re-zipping the ROM using 7zip -- I notice I get a different MD5 to that llsted on the download page
(iv) attempting to flash the modified ROM in Recovery mode, but it aborts

Don't know enough to know if install procedure tries to validate the "to be installed" ROM's MD5 and aborts since it's different from that on the download page

Don't know what purpose of tee folder is -- is it to connect to local carrier?

How about if I try to install "unmodified" ROM (in its unmodified form) and once it's installed, if it does (?), replace the tee folder at that later stage, to check for ability to connect to carrier?

Do I need to unlock the SIM card first --- as that's also something I haven't done

(naturally, I've backed up and able to restore to what I had before attempting the install)

md5 sum change probably because you uncompressed and re-compressed file.
no you dont have to unlock carrier.
use total commander and delete first 3 lines in updater-script.(all before mount.. bahblablah) and then compress it, then try.
btw it doesnt show any status errors?
The Following User Says Thank You to teddytsen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 10:44 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
When to alter ROM cont'd
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddytsen

md5 sum change probably because you uncompressed and re-compressed file.
no you dont have to unlock carrier.
use total commander and delete first 3 lines in updater-script.(all before mount.. bahblablah) and then compress it, then try.
btw it doesnt show any status errors?

MANY MANY thanks for your very prompt reply, and further information

"status errors" -- as a result of ?? -- no status errors evident after rebooting with modfified Build.Prop

had lots of "fun" on my previous efforts with custom ROMs -- played with several on a Huawei G300 I had --
-- but, gee, this is an ongoing learning process -- now to learn about updater script !!!
(only learnt about Total Commander from your post - despite its high rating -- but note others have used other things for "text editing")
(but have discovered some TUTs on xda)

Reading more carefully through the posts I see it may be possible to flash the ROM, and then later, substitute the tee folder supplied in the Maclaw ROM with the stock JB one -- right?

I'll definitely learn more about updater-script, but I'll try to flash the ROM again without modifying the ROM === OK?
27th February 2014, 11:22 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,125
 
3,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiwiCool60a

MANY MANY thanks for your very prompt reply, and further information

"status errors" -- as a result of ?? -- no status errors evident after rebooting with modfified Build.Prop

had lots of "fun" on my previous efforts with custom ROMs -- played with several on a Huawei G300 I had --
-- but, gee, this is an ongoing learning process -- now to learn about updater script !!!
(only learnt about Total Commander from your post - despite its high rating -- but note others have used other things for "text editing")
(but have discovered some TUTs on xda)

Reading more carefully through the posts I see it may be possible to flash the ROM, and then later, substitute the tee folder supplied in the Maclaw ROM with the stock JB one -- right?

I'll definitely learn more about updater-script, but I'll try to flash the ROM again without modifying the ROM === OK?

-Dont care about ro.build.model. once assert is deleted you dont have to change it. And its not mandatory.
-I recommended total commander just because its the only root browser i have that shows the assert in 3 lines exactly. Unless es etc. You can also use other editors ^.^ :P
-like when installation is aborted, it says status 7(or 0 etc)

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to teddytsen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 11:42 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Many thanks -- now for the "rest" and time for tee
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddytsen

-Dont care about ro.build.model. once assert is deleted you dont have to change it. And its not mandatory.
-I recommended total commander just because its the only root browser i have that shows the assert in 3 lines exactly. Unless es etc. You can also use other editors ^.^ :P
-like when installation is aborted, it says status 7(or 0 etc)

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk

Many thanks!! KK installed -- that was the "fascinating" thing -- no status errors on previous failed attempt at installation -- nothing

but now it's installed -- with GApps added, and now to "worry" about the rest of it all

unsurprisingly -- if tee does what I think it does -- but I can't find a TUT on that anywhere
-- so currently, I can't connect to my local carrier, so it's currently not a :"phone" as such

even more frustratingly, computer found phone when it was first plugged in, but now seems to have lost it!! time to reboot system
-- and, it's been a while since I used CM but I can't find extsdcard!!
27th February 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,125
 
3,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Cm file manager?
Settings-general settings-access mode- root

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes