Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Dropped connection

OP wptski

25th March 2014, 04:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
This is sort-of OT from Chromecast talk but DLNA is mentioned lots.

At a relative's home which is on Comacst Xfinity. Two weeks ago while there, I'm on Android tab while another are on a Chromebook and both are losing internet connection. I'm using Chrome and I get a page reload error. WiFi shows still connected but turning it off/on fixes it. So there is me, Chromebook and a iPod running in the home.

Yesterday, same thing happens again! Later I'm casting a video from my tab using BubbleUPnP to a DLNA TV. The Chromebook is on and I'm using Chrome. I get the reload page and a bit later the video stops. Get it running again, it runs for 45 minutes, Chromebook is off, my tab is in sleep mode but minutes after the Chromebook is powered up the video stops. We gave up after that.

One might think it's a WiFi bandwidth issue, correct? The catch is at home on U-verse, my tab alone and I get the same reload page error while using Chrome. Wondering if this is a Google problem with WiFi since a Chromebook is nothing but Google Chrome like I'm using on my tab?? My tab has been on the same ROM version since last October.
25th March 2014, 05:07 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 327
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
I don't think the ISP is involved here at all, it's more likely that you have too many wireless devices connected at the same time for one Router to handle...

While Technically and theoretically it should handle up to 250 devices, real world experience says anything more than 7 or 8 wireless devices and you start having issues with connecting to the router and Internet access.

Thats probably not true for all routers but very true for the cheaper ones.
25th March 2014, 05:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx

I don't think the ISP is involved here at all, it's more likely that you have too many wireless devices connected at the same time for one Router to handle...

While Technically and theoretically it should handle up to 250 devices, real world experience says anything more than 7 or 8 wireless devices and you start having issues with connecting to the router and Internet access.

Thats probably not true for all routers but very true for the cheaper ones.

I would agree if it weren't for the fact at home it does the same thing. Hmmm, I was going to say just one device connected but at home but the TV has a Chromecast and a WiFi adapter as well so it's three devices.
25th March 2014, 06:07 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 327
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wptski

I would agree if it weren't for the fact at home it does the same thing. Hmmm, I was going to say just one device connected but at home but the TV has a Chromecast and a WiFi adapter as well so it's three devices.

Well at home your TV is probably interfering with your CCast. If possible try wiring the TV.

Also make sure to use the extension cable that came with the CCast.

Your TV has WiFi which suggests to me it is a smart tv...

Try looking to see if there are apps for it that can do what the CCast does like make it a DLNA target or has a companion app (like Plex) to do your streaming with.
25th March 2014, 07:14 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx

Well at home your TV is probably interfering with your CCast. If possible try wiring the TV.

Also make sure to use the extension cable that came with the CCast.

Your TV has WiFi which suggests to me it is a smart tv...

Try looking to see if there are apps for it that can do what the CCast does like make it a DLNA target or has a companion app (like Plex) to do your streaming with.

No, the problem I have at home similar to what I had at the relatives home is not while casting, it's just a loss of internet connection. Turning WiFi off/on brings the connection back.

During casting via DLNA at the relative's home, it "appears" the additional use of the Chromebook caused the video to stop and the TV goes back to normal TV programming.
25th March 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #6  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 885
 
2,252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wptski

No, the problem I have at home similar to what I had at the relatives home is not while casting, it's just a loss of internet connection. Turning WiFi off/on brings the connection back.

During casting via DLNA at the relative's home, it "appears" the additional use of the Chromebook caused the video to stop and the TV goes back to normal TV programming.

Check the router for WMM settings - sometimes the WMM implementation is broken.

It can also be a buggy router... I once had a Netgear that was fine for regular use, but if I tried to do a large file transfer or otherwise put load on it, it would crash and require a reboot. It didn't last in my setup for long.
25th March 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

Check the router for WMM settings - sometimes the WMM implementation is broken.

It can also be a buggy router... I once had a Netgear that was fine for regular use, but if I tried to do a large file transfer or otherwise put load on it, it would crash and require a reboot. It didn't last in my setup for long.

No such settings in my Gateway(router).

This is the same problem in two different home, one Comcast and the other U-verse.

I'm on U-verse just watching a normal broadcast TV channel while on my tab using Chrome and it stops working. I've cast a whole movie to the Chromecast without a single stoppage, of course I'm not using Chrome at that time.
25th March 2014, 08:12 PM   |  #8  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 885
 
2,252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wptski

No such settings in my Gateway(router).

This is the same problem in two different home, one Comcast and the other U-verse.

I'm on U-verse just watching a normal broadcast TV channel while on my tab using Chrome and it stops working. I've cast a whole movie to the Chromecast without a single stoppage, of course I'm not using Chrome at that time.

Sounds like your Chrome has become malicious somehow. Try starting it in Safe mode without extensions and see if it still causes problems.
25th March 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

Sounds like your Chrome has become malicious somehow. Try starting it in Safe mode without extensions and see if it still causes problems.

This is Chrome for Android and not the latest Beta version. I'm not 100% sure but I don't think I had this issue using Dolphin before switching. I had to force myself to use Chrome but I'm used to it now.
25th March 2014, 08:20 PM   |  #10  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 885
 
2,252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wptski

This is Chrome for Android and not the latest Beta version. I'm not 100% sure but I don't think I had this issue using Dolphin before switching. I had to force myself to use Chrome but I'm used to it now.

Oh wow. I'm stumped.
Try Clear Data on it? Not much else, unless some page that's syncing over is doing some massive network test or something.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes