Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,791 Members 47,373 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Three UK Model - Flash to stock?

Tip us?
 
leoni1980
Old
#1  
leoni1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 1,249
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default Three UK Model - Flash to stock?

My Three model comes unlocked but is already behind when it comes to firmware. It also only has the APNs for Three (so I have to manually input for any other SIM I insert) and there's an annoying splash screen.

I'm not very well-read when it comes to flashing HTC devices but am I right in thinking that there is no way to flash stock firmware without S-off and bootloader unlock? One good thing about even the Sony handsets is that you can flash stock firmware without going through hell.

If I'm wrong could someone point me in the right direction. Not the end of the world if I can't 'stockify' but it would be nice
 
backfromthestorm
Old
#2  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 733
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 47000 places at once.
Just flash the stock Rom from Mike in the dev thread.


No need to change firmware. That would take s-off anyway.


Post of the century so far....
"but if it's really completely not understableable, it's annoying to reading such sentences...he should at least trying to use the right letters.. ! -.- ...but okay something like that has nothing to do with development so i wont write anything to that anymore"
 
leoni1980
Old
#3  
leoni1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 1,249
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by backfromthestorm View Post
Just flash the stock Rom from Mike in the dev thread.


No need to change firmware. That would take s-off anyway.

Does this require boot loader unlocking or a simple flash?
 
backfromthestorm
Old
#4  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 733
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 47000 places at once.
Unlock bootloader.
Flash a recovery through Fastboot -

Fastboot flash recovery recovery.img


Put rom on sd
In recovery backup current rom, then flash custom rom


Post of the century so far....
"but if it's really completely not understableable, it's annoying to reading such sentences...he should at least trying to use the right letters.. ! -.- ...but okay something like that has nothing to do with development so i wont write anything to that anymore"
 
leoni1980
Old
#5  
leoni1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 1,249
Join Date: Dec 2005
Hmmm I'd have to have the 'tampered' warning and lose my warranty that way wouldn't I?
Might just live with it for now. Thanks though.
 
backfromthestorm
Old
#6  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 733
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 47000 places at once.
You won't lose warranty no.


Post of the century so far....
"but if it's really completely not understableable, it's annoying to reading such sentences...he should at least trying to use the right letters.. ! -.- ...but okay something like that has nothing to do with development so i wont write anything to that anymore"
 
leoni1980
Old
#7  
leoni1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 1,249
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by backfromthestorm View Post
You won't lose warranty no.
I thought if you unlocked the bootloader it invalidated the warranty? Or have things changed?
 
kickassdave
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 241
Posts: 1,193
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Kilbride
That's a common misconception.
Unless you broke the actual hardware, they are still liable for it

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
backfromthestorm
Old
#9  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 733
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 47000 places at once.
As long as the issue isn't blatantly caused by unlocking it, there won't be a problem.
Mine have been s-off and unlocked. They just send them back locked and s-on


Post of the century so far....
"but if it's really completely not understableable, it's annoying to reading such sentences...he should at least trying to use the right letters.. ! -.- ...but okay something like that has nothing to do with development so i wont write anything to that anymore"
 
leoni1980
Old
#10  
leoni1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 1,249
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by backfromthestorm View Post
You won't lose warranty no.
If I flash this stock ROM will it receive OTA updates just like a normal stock phone?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more

Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more