Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy [Q] I337M kitchen troubles..

OP Adizzzle

18th March 2014, 05:51 AM   |  #1  
Adizzzle's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kamloops
Thanks Meter: 1,154
 
2,131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Hello good people of XDA I just cant seem to make a ROM
using @dsixda 's Android Kitchen for my I337M!

I had the kitchen working for my S3,
Tried with S4 and it wouldn't boot up.

Restored my entire computer, fresh
installed the kitchen / cygwin.

Tried again, same results.. No booty.
Used another 'updater-script'.. No booty.

I have searched and searched, tried everything
I can, but nothing works, none of my ROMs boot.
Was hoping someone here might have an idea of
what I am doing wrong?
19th March 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #2  
Adizzzle's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kamloops
Thanks Meter: 1,154
 
2,131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Bump for some help..
19th March 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #3  
The French Tickl3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 29
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I second that
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adizzzle

Bump for some help..

wheres the i337m love
The Following User Says Thank You to The French Tickl3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #4  
Adizzzle's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kamloops
Thanks Meter: 1,154
 
2,131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The French Tickl3r

wheres the i337m love

I have no idea I guess I'll try using VB on my windows comp and try to install Ubuntu inside of windows.
Im eager to start building ROMs!

Does the Android kitchen work for you by chance?
20th March 2014, 01:37 AM   |  #5  
The French Tickl3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 29
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I finally got cygwin and the kitchen running ( got a missing "clear" error, ended up downloading literally evry available package, took like 5 hours)

So then I got myself a copy of the stock rom on 4.4.2 , tried importing it into the kitchen and got some sort of error saying missing zip..

My goal is to cook a pre rooted, knox free stock version of the rom.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using xda app-developers app
20th March 2014, 02:30 AM   |  #6  
Adizzzle's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kamloops
Thanks Meter: 1,154
 
2,131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The French Tickl3r

I finally got cygwin and the kitchen running ( got a missing "clear" error, ended up downloading literally evry available package, took like 5 hours)

So then I got myself a copy of the stock rom on 4.4.2 , tried importing it into the kitchen and got some sort of error saying missing zip..

My goal is to cook a pre rooted, knox free stock version of the rom.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using xda app-developers app

Thats odd, I get no errors when building / setting up working folder
just when I flash the ROM it ALWAYS bootloops on me..

Dang, the other S4 variants work just fine.
20th March 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #7  
Adizzzle's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kamloops
Thanks Meter: 1,154
 
2,131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
So thanks to @The Sickness I have found out that the kitchen
leaves needless commands in the updater-script, and in order
for me to get the ROM booting I had to remove those commands
and flash a kernel with my ROM. It finally booted!!!

However after flashing my ROM - VLUFNC1 + KT kernel
I loose Mobile Data and Wifi is inaccessible which I am
assuming is due to the kernel.

Finally making progress..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Adizzzle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd March 2014, 03:02 PM   |  #8  
The French Tickl3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 29
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I too have got the kitchen up and running for the i337m. I posted my progress here but i havent went ahead and actually tried to flash it.. reason being im not sure I actually want to up grade to 442.. so comfortably numb with 422 (debloated and with wanam xposed framework)

one thing i noticed and I was not expecting is the absurd storage space cooking roms takes from my computer..

in any case, thanks for posting your progress, Ive been stalking this thread bc he was supposed to cook a Samsung I337M - STOCK VLUFNC1, with 4 way reboot, modded systemUI, rooted, deodexed and free of that insidious knox, but It seems the project might have been abandoned, as the thread is now closed..
28th March 2014, 04:26 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Just wondering what you had to remove in updater script because i was having the same issue ? thanks




Quote:
Originally Posted by Adizzzle

So thanks to @The Sickness I have found out that the kitchen
leaves needless commands in the updater-script, and in order
for me to get the ROM booting I had to remove those commands
and flash a kernel with my ROM. It finally booted!!!

However after flashing my ROM - VLUFNC1 + KT kernel
I loose Mobile Data and Wifi is inaccessible which I am
assuming is due to the kernel.

Finally making progress..

28th March 2014, 04:48 AM   |  #10  
Adizzzle's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kamloops
Thanks Meter: 1,154
 
2,131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radeonddr

Just wondering what you had to remove in updater script because i was having the same issue ? thanks

I had to delete the following and switch the boot.img:

Quote:

package_extract_file("flash_image", "/tmp/flash_image");
set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/flash_image");
assert(package_extract_file("modem.bin", "/tmp/modem.bin"),
run_program("/tmp/flash_image", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p2", "/tmp/modem.bin"),
delete("/tmp/modem.bin"));
delete("/tmp/flash_image");;


The Following User Says Thank You to Adizzzle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes