Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,095 Members 40,359 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Cannot unlock bootloader

Tip us?
 
wmichniewski
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default [Q] Cannot unlock bootloader

Hi. I had bootloader unlocked while I had android 4.3 without any problem but PC Companion didn't let me install 4.4.2 with bootloader unlocked so I had to relock it. After that I installed KitKat without any problem and have tried to unlock bootloader again doing same steps as before but unsuccesfull. The message I get was something like "your device is already rooted" but is not. Also the bootloader is locked for sure. What can I do to sort this out?
 
gregbradley
Old
#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3743
Posts: 8,866
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmichniewski View Post
Hi. I had bootloader unlocked while I had android 4.3 without any problem but PC Companion didn't let me install 4.4.2 with bootloader unlocked so I had to relock it. After that I installed KitKat without any problem and have tried to unlock bootloader again doing same steps as before but unsuccesfull. The message I get was something like "your device is already rooted" but is not. Also the bootloader is locked for sure. What can I do to sort this out?
Dial *#*#7378423#*#*

goto service info then configuration and tell me what it says about the bootloader

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
wmichniewski
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
bootloader unlock allowed: Yes
 
gregbradley
Old
#4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3743
Posts: 8,866
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Follow instyructions from here

http://unlockbootloader.sonymobile.com/instructions


and post the output of the command window

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
wmichniewski
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
I did it already. The message I get was 'your device is already rooted'
 
gregbradley
Old
#6  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3743
Posts: 8,866
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmichniewski View Post
I did it already. The message I get was 'your device is already rooted'
I know it may be painful, but please do try it again and copy and past the content of the command window here.

Please.

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
wmichniewski
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
After I did it first time the message I get was:

FAILED (remote: Command did not succed)
finished. total time: 0.018s

so I tried to do it again and the message is different:

FAILES (remote: device is already rooted)
finished. total time: 0.004s
 
gregbradley
Old
#8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3743
Posts: 8,866
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmichniewski View Post
After I did it first time the message I get was:

FAILED (remote: Command did not succed)
finished. total time: 0.018s

so I tried to do it again and the message is different:

FAILES (remote: device is already rooted)
finished. total time: 0.004s
Did you make a TA backup?

If so, restore it and try again.

If not, flash a stock FTF of your choice, reboot and tell me what it says in service info configuration again

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
wmichniewski
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
when I can get ftf stock rom from and should I flash it with flashtool. After I do it my phone is gonna be on factory settings and I'm gonna lose all data ?
 
gregbradley
Old
#10  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3743
Posts: 8,866
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmichniewski View Post
when I can get ftf stock rom from and should I flash it with flashtool. After I do it my phone is gonna be on factory settings and I'm gonna lose all data ?
From the FTF thread in the general section

You lose all data when unlocking bootloader anyway, (You must know this if you read the instructions)

Did you make a TA backup?

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more