Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more
Post Reply

SuperSU doesnt give me root access

29th March 2014, 08:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Hi, I downloaded UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.25.zip and saved it to my SD card. Rebooted into PhilZ recovery and installed it successfully. Rebooted and root checker basic says i dont have root access. is there something I'm missing?
29th March 2014, 01:39 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
260 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJRepresent

Hi, I downloaded UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.25.zip and saved it to my SD card. Rebooted into PhilZ recovery and installed it successfully. Rebooted and root checker basic says i dont have root access. is there something I'm missing?

SuperSU v1.25 is pretty old. Have you tried v1.93?

I don't know the process under PhilZ at all. You didn't mention which image you are using. TouchWiz? One of the custom images?
29th March 2014, 06:04 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magamo

SuperSU v1.25 is pretty old. Have you tried v1.93?

I don't know the process under PhilZ at all. You didn't mention which image you are using. TouchWiz? One of the custom images?

Where can I download 1.93?

I'm actually using one of the Team Apexqtmo ROMs from earlier this week.
29th March 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
260 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJRepresent

Where can I download 1.93?

I'm actually using one of the Team Apexqtmo ROMs from earlier this week.

In fact, looks like it was just updated to v1.94
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1538053

There's a download link in the OP of this thread, (Marked as the CWM/TWRP/Mobile ODIN version)
29th March 2014, 09:52 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magamo

In fact, looks like it was just updated to v1.94
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1538053

There's a download link in the OP of this thread, (Marked as the CWM/TWRP/Mobile ODIN version)

Installed it, but it didn't work. I used an app called Root Checker Basic and it says, "Sorry! This device does not have proper root access."

Any other ideas? Here's my device's information:

CyanogenMod Version: cm-11-20140329-NIGHTLY
Android Vers: 4.4.2

Edit: Weird, the SuperSU app didn't give me a "Not Rooted" error upon opening up. Anyways, can I overclock my phone now? What app can I use?
Last edited by DJRepresent; 29th March 2014 at 10:00 PM.
29th March 2014, 10:24 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
260 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJRepresent

Installed it, but it didn't work. I used an app called Root Checker Basic and it says, "Sorry! This device does not have proper root access."

Any other ideas? Here's my device's information:

CyanogenMod Version: cm-11-20140329-NIGHTLY
Android Vers: 4.4.2

Edit: Weird, the SuperSU app didn't give me a "Not Rooted" error upon opening up. Anyways, can I overclock my phone now? What app can I use?

Make certain that you set up SuperSU properly, and allow it to respect CyanogenMod's root access settings.
30th March 2014, 07:50 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magamo

Make certain that you set up SuperSU properly, and allow it to respect CyanogenMod's root access settings.

Yeah, it's already set to "respect." Not sure about the other settings, though. How do I overclock this piece?
30th March 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
260 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
I have a bad feeling that installing the old version first may have screwed up your new installation. If your root apps still fail to get permission, try going through the supersu settings to clean up for reinstallation, and go through the installation procedure again. Overclocking as you think of it is a function of the kernel, and I do not know of any custom kernels for the apexqtmo that allow for it. Besides, overclocking will give you no real performance benefit on the apexqtmo, and in fact will cause instability, and overheating, which will cause the phone to trip over into thermal protection mode much faster, which means it will automatically throttle back. (Which is precisely why the stock CM and HypnoToad kernels do not allow for frequency scaling in an upward direction from stock CPU speeds
1st April 2014, 06:40 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
I'm no expert, but maybe something just messed up. try flashing a rom so you can just start over.
Last edited by GrayFox777; 1st April 2014 at 06:45 AM.
2nd April 2014, 10:51 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magamo

I have a bad feeling that installing the old version first may have screwed up your new installation. If your root apps still fail to get permission, try going through the supersu settings to clean up for reinstallation, and go through the installation procedure again. Overclocking as you think of it is a function of the kernel, and I do not know of any custom kernels for the apexqtmo that allow for it. Besides, overclocking will give you no real performance benefit on the apexqtmo, and in fact will cause instability, and overheating, which will cause the phone to trip over into thermal protection mode much faster, which means it will automatically throttle back. (Which is precisely why the stock CM and HypnoToad kernels do not allow for frequency scaling in an upward direction from stock CPU speeds

OK, thanks, I'll avoid doing it then.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S Relay 4G Q&A by ThreadRank