Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,296 Members 51,739 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Add capacitive key on black HTC logo bar?

Tip us?
 
cuscoale
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lugano
Default [Q] Add capacitive key on black HTC logo bar?

I see many videos where they say how enable the HTC logo in HTC One. Is it possible do the same thing in the new HTC One (M8) and so remove the on screen buttons?
 
matt95
Old
#2  
matt95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2326
Posts: 5,781
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Verona

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuscoale View Post
I see many videos where they say how enable the HTC logo in HTC One. Is it possible do the same thing in the new HTC One (M8) and so remove the on screen buttons?
Probably not, I would say no... With the HTC One the space over the logo was touch sensitive cause there where 2 capacitive buttons on the sides but with the New HTC One there is no sense to make it touch sensitive since the buttons are on the screen


Donate and support my studies at the MIT University! Unruu HTC RUUs | Setup Android Development Environment on Ubuntu | Decrypt HTC RUUs
 
xShin
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 348
Join Date: Oct 2010
I can confirm that this apparently is not possible. When I went to a Verizon store yesterday to pick up my M8, there was actually a Senior Technical Manager from HTC there. We chatted, and I asked him if there was a capacitive strip under the logo bar - he said that unfortunately, there was not. He did say, however, that there is other hardware under it. So at least it's not completely just there for no reason
HTC One M8 S-OFF running InsertCoin

HTC One M7 (Stock) - Retired
HTC Droid DNA S-OFF'd using revone - Retired
HTC Rezound S-OFF - Retired
HTC Droid Incredible - Retired
 
bakemcbride21
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 453
Join Date: Sep 2009
With that much bezel on the bottom of the phone...really just should have put actual capacitive buttons there on the black where the HTC logo is and given us that screen real estate back from the virtual buttons
 
cuscoale
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lugano
Thanks for the answers, now I just have to hope that in future they'll add new gesture for go back and go to the home and so deactive the on screen key because with the same sense version and settings in my HTC One when I'm in Internet I can see more display than the new One that I tried on store. The same thing in many menus like settings.
 
Traceamount
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 249
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OKC, OK
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakemcbride21 View Post
With that much bezel on the bottom of the phone...really just should have put actual capacitive buttons there on the black where the HTC logo is and given us that screen real estate back from the virtual buttons
Quote:
Originally Posted by xShin View Post
I can confirm that this apparently is not possible. When I went to a Verizon store yesterday to pick up my M8, there was actually a Senior Technical Manager from HTC there. We chatted, and I asked him if there was a capacitive strip under the logo bar - he said that unfortunately, there was not. He did say, however, that there is other hardware under it. So at least it's not completely just there for no reason
Tags
htc screen bar logo
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes