Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,775 Members 40,895 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Powerpoint Remote?

Tip us?
 
DomZH
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 33
Join Date: Nov 2013
Question Powerpoint Remote?

Hey Gents!

Does anyone know about a powerpoint presenter for the gear? this would be totally awesome if i could steer my presentations with my gear
i dont need the presentation itself on the watch, only buttons for for- and backwards (like media player remote).

any ideas on existing solutions or possible workarounds?
The Following User Says Thank You to DomZH For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nikkobenson
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DomZH View Post
Hey Gents!

Does anyone know about a powerpoint presenter for the gear? this would be totally awesome if i could steer my presentations with my gear
i dont need the presentation itself on the watch, only buttons for for- and backwards (like media player remote).

any ideas on existing solutions or possible workarounds?
I wouldn't try this.

I cannot think of any easy and reliable way to do this. The problem is the phone doesn't have WiFi. So you can't get the phone and computer on the same network. If you could, you could use "Unified Remote" to accomplish this easily.

Possible ways to do this are with Tasker + Autoremote + Null ROM. Or Null ROM + Unified Remote + Tethering (though I'm not sure if tethering would share the device's local network with you or just it's cell network).

Problem is with either of the above 2 possibilities, there are too many parts that can fail, and you wouldn't want that happening during a presentation which is why I recommend not doing it.

---------- Post added at 01:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:21 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkobenson View Post
I wouldn't try this.

I cannot think of any easy and reliable way to do this. The problem is the phone doesn't have WiFi. So you can't get the phone and computer on the same network. If you could, you could use "Unified Remote" to accomplish this easily.

Possible ways to do this are with Tasker + Autoremote + Null ROM. Or Null ROM + Unified Remote + Tethering (though I'm not sure if tethering would share the device's local network with you or just it's cell network).

Problem is with either of the above 2 possibilities, there are too many parts that can fail, and you wouldn't want that happening during a presentation which is why I recommend not doing it.
Actually, having said all that, look at what I found:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....android&hl=en

If you could pair to 2 devices at the same time PC & your note 3 (null rom?) this could work for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikkobenson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
blazespinnaker
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 45
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkobenson View Post
I wouldn't try this..
It'd be easy to do and it'd be pretty cool. Just install NULL rom and communicate via Bluetooth.
 
nikkobenson
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jul 2007
Yeah, I pretty much said that. Though I did have to do research to come to that conclusion.
 
Amdathlonuk
Old
(Last edited by Amdathlonuk; 22nd November 2013 at 08:49 PM.)
#5  
Amdathlonuk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 898
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Abergavenny
I've been trying to get this to work, however I cannot get the Gear to communicate with my Laptop, so it looks like you have to play the presentation through the phone only, however you you can't install that software on the phone.

More investigation required I think.....
Galaxy NOTE III .....loving it! plus Samsung Galaxy Note 8"
 
DomZH
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 33
Join Date: Nov 2013
thank you guys for your research and input!
so first way would be to get null rom and sideload a bluetooth remote to controll directly from my watch w/o phone?
is there a way without null?

thank you so much in advance
 
nikkobenson
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jul 2007
The reason you'd need Null is because it allows you to be tethered to 2 devices at once. Otherwise, you'd lose the connection to your phone.

Don't be scared of Null. I was, but I really wanted tasker and autovoice/autoremote so I dove in. Null comes with the stock launcher so you're actually not losing anything. You have all of the same features you have now, plus much much more.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikkobenson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fOmey
Old
#8  
fOmey's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3903
Posts: 3,150
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, AUS
This is possible using tasker & autoremote.. Do some research on the two apps.



HELPFUL POST? HIT THANKS !

OR BETTER YET

BUY ME A BEER OR TWO ?


GTA V FORUM :: MODS, GLITCHES & BOOSTING SERVICES

 
DomZH
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 33
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkobenson View Post
You have all of the same features you have now, plus much much more.
thank you man!! this helps me a lot, especially that you told me about keeping the stock launche. i was scared because i did not wanted to have tiny icons and fiddly touch controlls on the gear like on a cheap 50 dollar china watch.

i will try it
 
nikkobenson
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jul 2007
Yeah. I had the same worries. Good luck. You're going to kick butt switching slides with your watch. James Bond style.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes