Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Question Powerpoint Remote?

OP DomZH

21st November 2013, 08:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Hey Gents!

Does anyone know about a powerpoint presenter for the gear? this would be totally awesome if i could steer my presentations with my gear
i dont need the presentation itself on the watch, only buttons for for- and backwards (like media player remote).

any ideas on existing solutions or possible workarounds?
The Following User Says Thank You to DomZH For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2013, 08:24 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DomZH

Hey Gents!

Does anyone know about a powerpoint presenter for the gear? this would be totally awesome if i could steer my presentations with my gear
i dont need the presentation itself on the watch, only buttons for for- and backwards (like media player remote).

any ideas on existing solutions or possible workarounds?

I wouldn't try this.

I cannot think of any easy and reliable way to do this. The problem is the phone doesn't have WiFi. So you can't get the phone and computer on the same network. If you could, you could use "Unified Remote" to accomplish this easily.

Possible ways to do this are with Tasker + Autoremote + Null ROM. Or Null ROM + Unified Remote + Tethering (though I'm not sure if tethering would share the device's local network with you or just it's cell network).

Problem is with either of the above 2 possibilities, there are too many parts that can fail, and you wouldn't want that happening during a presentation which is why I recommend not doing it.

---------- Post added at 01:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:21 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkobenson

I wouldn't try this.

I cannot think of any easy and reliable way to do this. The problem is the phone doesn't have WiFi. So you can't get the phone and computer on the same network. If you could, you could use "Unified Remote" to accomplish this easily.

Possible ways to do this are with Tasker + Autoremote + Null ROM. Or Null ROM + Unified Remote + Tethering (though I'm not sure if tethering would share the device's local network with you or just it's cell network).

Problem is with either of the above 2 possibilities, there are too many parts that can fail, and you wouldn't want that happening during a presentation which is why I recommend not doing it.

Actually, having said all that, look at what I found:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....android&hl=en

If you could pair to 2 devices at the same time PC & your note 3 (null rom?) this could work for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikkobenson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd November 2013, 02:53 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkobenson

I wouldn't try this..

It'd be easy to do and it'd be pretty cool. Just install NULL rom and communicate via Bluetooth.
22nd November 2013, 04:44 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Yeah, I pretty much said that. Though I did have to do research to come to that conclusion.
22nd November 2013, 09:45 PM   |  #5  
Amdathlonuk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Abergavenny
Thanks Meter: 48
 
935 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
I've been trying to get this to work, however I cannot get the Gear to communicate with my Laptop, so it looks like you have to play the presentation through the phone only, however you you can't install that software on the phone.

More investigation required I think.....
Last edited by Amdathlonuk; 22nd November 2013 at 09:49 PM.
23rd November 2013, 02:12 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
thank you guys for your research and input!
so first way would be to get null rom and sideload a bluetooth remote to controll directly from my watch w/o phone?
is there a way without null?

thank you so much in advance
23rd November 2013, 10:40 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
The reason you'd need Null is because it allows you to be tethered to 2 devices at once. Otherwise, you'd lose the connection to your phone.

Don't be scared of Null. I was, but I really wanted tasker and autovoice/autoremote so I dove in. Null comes with the stock launcher so you're actually not losing anything. You have all of the same features you have now, plus much much more.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikkobenson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd November 2013, 12:23 PM   |  #8  
fOmey's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Sydney, AUS
Thanks Meter: 3,951
 
3,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
This is possible using tasker & autoremote.. Do some research on the two apps.
24th November 2013, 10:43 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkobenson

You have all of the same features you have now, plus much much more.

thank you man!! this helps me a lot, especially that you told me about keeping the stock launche. i was scared because i did not wanted to have tiny icons and fiddly touch controlls on the gear like on a cheap 50 dollar china watch.

i will try it
27th November 2013, 01:49 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Yeah. I had the same worries. Good luck. You're going to kick butt switching slides with your watch. James Bond style.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes