Post Reply

[Q] Recovery lost?

OP Norside

30th March 2014, 10:05 AM   |  #1  
Norside's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag A place south in the north!
Thanks Meter: 121
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Hello everyone! Think that I did something kinda stupid today..but not sure. I have installed cwm recovery (philz version, latest) but today I was transfering over a backup to my pc (I removed it from phone to pc), well that was what I thought..(the file was TWRP, since it was a twrp nandroid backup and I had twrp before cwm) so later, when I tried to go to recovery, I couldn't, I tried with FreeGee, but nothing happened...so does this mean that I have lost my recovery? I tried to put the files back on phone where they was but it doesn't seem like that have helped...

So any other methods to get into recovery mode? And have I lost it by deleting a twrp file containing a backup and a twrps. file on 2kb?

P.s when I look into the TWRP folder, I don't have the twrps file....is that the problem, and what is that file? Is it loki or something?

P.S 2: My phone is working fine..
Last edited by Norside; 30th March 2014 at 10:09 AM.
30th March 2014, 02:36 PM   |  #2  
Norside's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag A place south in the north!
Thanks Meter: 121
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Anyone?
30th March 2014, 02:39 PM   |  #3  
Jhall8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
If you're still rooted, you could install Goo Manager, which will allow you to install a recovery.

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
30th March 2014, 02:44 PM   |  #4  
Norside's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag A place south in the north!
Thanks Meter: 121
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
I do have root, and I am running cloudystock 1.2 (kitkat), but can I just install a recovery since I am on a stock kitkat rom? Think I have done it now.....
30th March 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #5  
Jhall8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
What ROM did you have when you first installed cwm?

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
30th March 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #6  
Norside's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag A place south in the north!
Thanks Meter: 121
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
I had stock 4.2.2 rom when I first installed recovery, but I overwrited my twrp recovery and installed cwm (that too on stock 4.2.2 rom
30th March 2014, 03:45 PM   |  #7  
Jhall8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Try installing Quick Boot (free in the Play Store.) It provides an easy way to boot into recovery. This should show whether CWM or TWRP are still on your phone.

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Jhall8 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th March 2014, 04:10 PM   |  #8  
Norside's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag A place south in the north!
Thanks Meter: 121
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Thanks! Recovery is working, so thank you for your help!
30th March 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #9  
Jhall8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norside

Thanks! Recovery is working, so thank you for your help!

You're welcome!

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank