Post Reply
Unhappy

[Q] TMobile D801 Stuck in TWRP boot

29th March 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Needing expert help. I have a rooted LG G2 D801 with a custom ROM installed. Was stupid enough to accept the most recent OTA and now it just continually goes into TWRP. Have tried to reinstall custom ROM from TWRP. Have tried the LG software to install the kdz file. Always gets stuck at step after extracting the kdz file. Even took it to a local guy and he got stuck in the same place.

I just want the phone back in working order. Don't care which ROM. Will pay $20 for anyone with the working answer.

Thx.
29th March 2014, 07:39 PM   |  #2  
x714x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 269
 
940 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dba723

Needing expert help. I have a rooted LG G2 D801 with a custom ROM installed. Was stupid enough to accept the most recent OTA and now it just continually goes into TWRP. Have tried to reinstall custom ROM from TWRP. Have tried the LG software to install the kdz file. Always gets stuck at step after extracting the kdz file. Even took it to a local guy and he got stuck in the same place.

I just want the phone back in working order. Don't care which ROM. Will pay $20 for anyone with the working answer.

Thx.

you can do a couple things. Sideload a new rom from your computer. Google how to setup the drivers and do it. OR from what Ive read you can delete the system partition like you are gonna flash a new rom then you wont get stuck when using the kdz to go back to stock.

Also look on the forums, I think you can run a command via shell in twrp to delete the fota dir and it should boot to. Dont quote me on that
29th March 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #3  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,461
 
2,536 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dba723

Needing expert help. I have a rooted LG G2 D801 with a custom ROM installed. Was stupid enough to accept the most recent OTA and now it just continually goes into TWRP. Have tried to reinstall custom ROM from TWRP. Have tried the LG software to install the kdz file. Always gets stuck at step after extracting the kdz file. Even took it to a local guy and he got stuck in the same place.

I just want the phone back in working order. Don't care which ROM. Will pay $20 for anyone with the working answer.

Thx.

if you can still get into the recovery you can try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2451696

---------- Post added at 03:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:59 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by x714x

you can do a couple things. Sideload a new rom from your computer. Google how to setup the drivers and do it. OR from what Ive read you can delete the system partition like you are gonna flash a new rom then you wont get stuck when using the kdz to go back to stock.

Also look on the forums, I think you can run a command via shell in twrp to delete the fota dir and it should boot to. Dont quote me on that

that is correct http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2451696
29th March 2014, 09:58 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Thx all
Thx all. Will try out tonight.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

if you can still get into the recovery you can try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2451696

---------- Post added at 03:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:59 PM ----------



that is correct http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2451696

30th March 2014, 02:25 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Tried to delete fota; no avail
Tried this method:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota

That didn't help. Now trying to adb shell method from my computer.
30th March 2014, 07:22 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dba723

Tried this method:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota

That didn't help. Now trying to adb shell method from my computer.

Did you write it correctly ? the code ? when you miss some space or something it wont work
31st March 2014, 02:19 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Yes. It gave me a strange error about not enough space
31st March 2014, 10:52 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Fixed....finally
Thanks for the pointers guys. The fix ended up being this from another post:

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
then hit enter
type
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/misc
then hit enter and reboot.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloop, d801, ota
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank