Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,371 Members 38,908 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cell Signal on Stock Rom vs AOSP Rom

Tip us?
 
vx2ko
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 146
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Cell Signal on Stock Rom vs AOSP Rom

I have not seen a unified discussion on this issue yet, only fragments in other forums. I know it is a known issue but it is hardly discussed. I've noticed that the cell signal on stock LG roms are MUCH better than on AOSP/CM11. This is causing issues with my phone constantly refreshing. I dont get very good signal in my office already, but I can make calls and text still. When im on an AOSP or CM11 based rom, it all fails. Also when im on AOSP or CM11 it will connect to the network then instantly disconnect and go into roaming mode then repeat this over and over again. I just want to know if this is a known issue or if there is some kind of fix.
 
Mightycaptain
Old
#2  
Mightycaptain's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 357
Posts: 842
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Morganton, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by vx2ko View Post
I have not seen a unified discussion on this issue yet, only fragments in other forums. I know it is a known issue but it is hardly discussed. I've noticed that the cell signal on stock LG roms are MUCH better than on AOSP/CM11. This is causing issues with my phone constantly refreshing. I dont get very good signal in my office already, but I can make calls and text still. When im on an AOSP or CM11 based rom, it all fails. Also when im on AOSP or CM11 it will connect to the network then instantly disconnect and go into roaming mode then repeat this over and over again. I just want to know if this is a known issue or if there is some kind of fix.
It's related to multisim merges from cyanogenmod. Seems to affect Verizon mostly and 3g. As of right now no fix that I'm aware of. LS doesn't have this bug. It helps to allow roaming. As far as signal bars alone don't tell the whole story. The phone usually gets the same signal check it out with an app called advanced signal status. But aosp has always been slower with data handoffs from 3g to 4g or from WiFi to mobile. But not to say you aren't seeing these issues where aosp can't make calls where stock can but for me I can make calls and use data in all the same places. And I live in a low signal area.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Devices:
LG G2 VS980-Spirit Rom 4.4.4 (Daily Driver)
Nexus 7 2012-Dirty Unicorns 4.4.4
Nexus 7 2013-Dirty Unicorns 4.4.4
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014- Stock-Rooted
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4(MDK)-(Retired... For Now)-Liquid Smooth 4.4.2
 
vx2ko
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 146
Join Date: Aug 2012
Very helpful info. Nice to finally have solid evidence to my issue. I don't mind the roaming bit. Its the constant switching from low signal to no service that I get that bothers me. It refreshes every app I'm in every time it does it. Its bearable but annoying as hell.

Sent from my LG-VS980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Lawlrus
Old
#4  
Lawlrus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,616
Posts: 3,620
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vx2ko View Post
Very helpful info. Nice to finally have solid evidence to my issue. I don't mind the roaming bit. Its the constant switching from low signal to no service that I get that bothers me. It refreshes every app I'm in every time it does it. Its bearable but annoying as hell.

Sent from my LG-VS980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Are you basing this off of bars or db? Aosp Roms typically show less bars for me then stock but the db only varies about -5

The 3g roaming issue is because of cm screwing some files for the vs. It also caused no apn found issue too. Until cm fixes the issue it shall remain.

Turn on allow data while roaming (because the roaming is only cosmetic) and data should work as it normally would.

Sent from my VS980 4G
 
vx2ko
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 146
Join Date: Aug 2012
I'm basing it off the bars. Either way it is constantly switching and refreshing my apps. On my stock ROM I get signal with no switching in my office.

Sent from my VS980 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Lawlrus
Old
#6  
Lawlrus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,616
Posts: 3,620
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vx2ko View Post
I'm basing it off the bars. Either way it is constantly switching and refreshing my apps. On my stock ROM I get signal with no switching in my office.

Sent from my VS980 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Try turning on data while roaming, and see if that stops it from refreshing.

Sent from my VS980 4G
 
vx2ko
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 146
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawlrus View Post
Try turning on data while roaming, and see if that stops it from refreshing.

Sent from my VS980 4G
Seeing how its CM source related and almost all the current AOSP kitkat roms are based on that source, I went back to stock for now. Much more stability with no cell signal issue. Seems like ill have to be patient before we get any kind of stability improvements.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes