Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more
Post Reply

Please help: Chrome stopped working

OP body150165

31st March 2014, 03:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 20
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Hi guys... stupid me... I was playing around with Titaniuum Backup and read about the recommended job to integrate update into the ROM in order to free up space. Good idea, i thought.

So, I pressed it and was toasted successfully. Tried to start chrome again and was told that an error occurred and I have to delete chrome first. Well. I wondered as it is a system app. Never mind. Titanium backup pro solves the problem I thought. Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it.

If now I want to start Chrome, it closes itself and gives a toast that "Chrome stopped working". I can press report or ok. The most interesting part is, that this toast appears 2 times. So, I guess that the process starts 2 times and produces a conflict.

Any idea?
31st March 2014, 05:29 AM   |  #2  
Mandark52's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by body150165

Hi guys... stupid me... I was playing around with Titaniuum Backup and read about the recommended job to integrate update into the ROM in order to free up space. Good idea, i thought.

So, I pressed it and was toasted successfully. Tried to start chrome again and was told that an error occurred and I have to delete chrome first. Well. I wondered as it is a system app. Never mind. Titanium backup pro solves the problem I thought. Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it.

If now I want to start Chrome, it closes itself and gives a toast that "Chrome stopped working". I can press report or ok. The most interesting part is, that this toast appears 2 times. So, I guess that the process starts 2 times and produces a conflict.

Any idea?

Hmmm.... try the 'Undo sys integration' option in Titanium Backup n see whether it works. Tell us what happens next.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using xda app-developers app
31st March 2014, 02:58 PM   |  #3  
yuzgen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Istanbul
Thanks Meter: 25
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by body150165

Hi guys... stupid me... I was playing around with Titaniuum Backup and read about the recommended job to integrate update into the ROM in order to free up space. Good idea, i thought.

So, I pressed it and was toasted successfully. Tried to start chrome again and was told that an error occurred and I have to delete chrome first. Well. I wondered as it is a system app. Never mind. Titanium backup pro solves the problem I thought. Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it.

If now I want to start Chrome, it closes itself and gives a toast that "Chrome stopped working". I can press report or ok. The most interesting part is, that this toast appears 2 times. So, I guess that the process starts 2 times and produces a conflict.

Any idea?

Try clearing data and defaults of Chrome in "system settings - apps" and then long pressing Chrome and turning it to a system app in TB.
1st April 2014, 03:17 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 20
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandark52

Hmmm.... try the 'Undo sys integration' option in Titanium Backup n see whether it works. Tell us what happens next.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using xda app-developers app

Hello, "undo sys integration" lets me know that there is nothing to undo. So, I can not execute this process.

@yuzgen: Chrome is still a system app and so, I can not make it one ( as it is already)
1st April 2014, 07:37 AM   |  #5  
yuzgen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Istanbul
Thanks Meter: 25
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by body150165

Hello, "undo sys integration" lets me know that there is nothing to undo. So, I can not execute this process.

@yuzgen: Chrome is still a system app and so, I can not make it one ( as it is already)

But you put "Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it." in your first post. So now it must be a user app?
1st April 2014, 04:20 PM   |  #6  
jeffrey268's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag W.b.D.
Thanks Meter: 105
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Exclamation Try this!
Quote:
Originally Posted by body150165

Hi guys... stupid me... I was playing around with Titaniuum Backup and read about the recommended job to integrate update into the ROM in order to free up space. Good idea, i thought.

So, I pressed it and was toasted successfully. Tried to start chrome again and was told that an error occurred and I have to delete chrome first. Well. I wondered as it is a system app. Never mind. Titanium backup pro solves the problem I thought. Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it.

If now I want to start Chrome, it closes itself and gives a toast that "Chrome stopped working". I can press report or ok. The most interesting part is, that this toast appears 2 times. So, I guess that the process starts 2 times and produces a conflict.

Any idea?

1. Make sure chrome is closed.
2. Go to the app settings and remove all data from chrome.
3. Go into /data/data/ (with a root explorer) and remove any directory with chrome (probably: com.android.chrome),
4. Then remove chrome from your device.
5. Restart the device after that reinstall chrome from the play store.
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffrey268 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 04:43 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 20
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffrey268

1. Make sure chrome is closed.
2. Go to the app settings and remove all data from chrome.
3. Go into /data/data/ (with a root explorer) and remove any directory with chrome (probably: com.android.chrome),
4. Then remove chrome from your device.
5. Restart the device after that reinstall chrome from the play store.

Thank you Jeffrey. That solved my problem. If ever you come to Thailand, I invite you to a beer (or 2)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank