Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] TWRP + CM10.1 + Encryption = invalid password

OP baddaybeav

28th March 2013, 05:31 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Ok, I'm drawing a blank on this...

I have Encryption Enabled in CM10.1 on my GSIII

The problem is that when I reboot to apply an update it fails due to not being able to decrypt the mmc.

TWRP acknowledges that it's encrypted and asks for the password (a PIN that I set up)

but every time I try it tells me it's a bad password.

Am I missing something, some setting somewhere?

The work around is rather annoying, it just involves me copying the zip to the external SD card and installing from there.

Does CMUpdater support storing the zip on the sd natively that'd be a great work around for this as well? I can't find that setting anywhere.
27th November 2013, 09:14 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Boom
Thanks Meter: 22
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Have you been able to resolve this? I'm running in a similar issue.
Company policy demands encryption and today, suddenly out of the blue, it reboots and asks for decryption password.
When I enter it, devices says it's invalid... no way to boot into recovery or into flash mode.

Device is a samsung galaxy s3 mini

Thanks,
28th November 2013, 09:08 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Unhappy Me too!
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennexpert

Have you been able to resolve this? I'm running in a similar issue.
Company policy demands encryption and today, suddenly out of the blue, it reboots and asks for decryption password.
When I enter it, devices says it's invalid... no way to boot into recovery or into flash mode.

Device is a samsung galaxy s3 mini

Thanks,

This is really strange, I'm getting this too. I also have to have my device encrypted for my work's MS Exchange access

I'm using latest TWRP 2.6.3.3 and have had no issues with my encryption password not being recognised with this version of TWRP before.

Device details - I'm using an international (GSM) HTC One. Recently I have upgraded to Android 4.3/Sense 5.5 via Telstra OTA update. The ROM is entirely stock from Telstra, just unlocked/rooted. Super user is via SuperSU v1.80
Last edited by walleyeuk; 28th November 2013 at 09:18 PM.
31st March 2014, 01:34 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Boom
Thanks Meter: 22
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by walleyeuk

This is really strange, I'm getting this too. I also have to have my device encrypted for my work's MS Exchange access

I'm using latest TWRP 2.6.3.3 and have had no issues with my encryption password not being recognised with this version of TWRP before.

Device details - I'm using an international (GSM) HTC One. Recently I have upgraded to Android 4.3/Sense 5.5 via Telstra OTA update. The ROM is entirely stock from Telstra, just unlocked/rooted. Super user is via SuperSU v1.80

Hi, I haven't had an HTC since the first "desire" and before that I had an HD2 for over 5 years...
So, if you are able to access TWRP you can get around this by fully formatting all your encrypted partitions and installing your custom rom again.

If that doesn't work you can try to restore the device with proper HTC tools, like Kies for Samsung devices. It fully resets the device back to stock recovery and stock rom.

I've found no way to restore any of my data. Luckily I had a cloud back-up with Titanium Back-up pro.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
twrp cm10.1 encryption
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes