Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

return phone for warrenty

OP MICH_**

31st March 2014, 05:25 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
I have custom recovery, bootloader unlocked and s-off. My phone does not power on anymore. Not a single signal. Not even the LED lights up when plugged into the charger.. I think i will send it to HTC. Is HTC able to spot that is it unlocked etc. ?
31st March 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICH_**

I have custom recovery, bootloader unlocked and s-off. My phone does not power on anymore. Not a single signal. Not even the LED lights up when plugged into the charger.. I think i will send it to HTC. Is HTC able to spot that is it unlocked etc. ?

If you unlocked it with HTCdev.com, then yes they will be able to. But usually unlocking the bootloader doesn't make the entire device stop working. They might blame you for over clocking or something, but there isn't anything you can do about it. You obviously can't re-lock it, so I would just send it in and hope that they don't care.
31st March 2014, 05:58 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

If you unlocked it with HTCdev.com, then yes they will be able to. But usually unlocking the bootloader doesn't make the entire device stop working. They might blame you for over clocking or something, but there isn't anything you can do about it. You obviously can't re-lock it, so I would just send it in and hope that they don't care.

The bootloader was unlocked before it stopped working. I was able to install the stock rom. I have i plan how i could make it completely stock.. but for my plan i need it to boot into recovery.
31st March 2014, 06:08 PM   |  #4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICH_**

The bootloader was unlocked before it stopped working. I was able to install the stock rom. I have i plan how i could make it completely stock.. but for my plan i need it to boot into recovery.

You can't make it stock if you can't turn it on. Honestly, there is NOTHING you can do right now except send it in if the phone doesn't even get to the bootlaoder or RUU modes.

I don't think HTC will not fix it though. They should be fine with it.
31st March 2014, 06:41 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

You can't make it stock if you can't turn it on. Honestly, there is NOTHING you can do right now except send it in if the phone doesn't even get to the bootlaoder or RUU modes.

I don't think HTC will not fix it though. They should be fine with it.

Ok, i will send it to HTC and hope for the best thank you
1st April 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
I made the bootloader to show "locked" and flashed the stock recovery!

How to get s-on now?
1st April 2014, 02:53 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
592 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Leave it s off

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
1st April 2014, 03:11 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nateboi81

Leave it s off

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app

Are you sure? Do i have warranty with s-off?
1st April 2014, 03:27 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 105
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICH_**

Are you sure? Do i have warranty with s-off?

Well, it depends. Usually, HTC will only check for the TAMPERED flag and the bootloader status. But sometimes, they may have a problem with the phone being S-OFF.
I S-ON'ed my phone before giving it for warranty repair.

Anyways, whether u will S-ON the phone or not, ill tell u how to S-ON.
Put the phone in fastboot mode. On ur PC, open command prompt and type:
fastboot oem writesecureflag 3

Then, do what the screen shows

HOWEVER, DO NOT S-ON UR PHONE IF HBOOT IS 1.55 OR ABOVE. THE TAMPERED LOGO WILL RE-APPEAR
Last edited by raghav kapur; 1st April 2014 at 03:31 PM.
1st April 2014, 03:32 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur

Well, it depends. Usually, HTC will only check for the TAMPERED flag and the bootloader status. But sometimes, they may have a problem with the phone being S-OFF.
I S-ON'ed my phone before giving it for warranty repair.

Anyways, whether u will S-ON the phone or not, ill tell u how to S-ON.
Put the phone in fastboot mode. On ur PC, open command prompt and type:
fastboot oem writesecureflag 3

HOWEVER, DO NOT S-ON UR PHONE IF HBOOT IS 1.55 OR ABOVE. THE TAMPERED LOGO WILL RE-APPEAR

okay, i will try to get s-on. But how to do so? Does it work by just typing "fastboot writesecureflag 3" ?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes