Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,664 Members 42,621 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

return phone for warrenty

Tip us?
 
MICH_**
Old
#1  
MICH_**'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 574
Join Date: Jul 2013
Default return phone for warrenty

I have custom recovery, bootloader unlocked and s-off. My phone does not power on anymore. Not a single signal. Not even the LED lights up when plugged into the charger.. I think i will send it to HTC. Is HTC able to spot that is it unlocked etc. ?
 
aooga
Old
#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 861
Posts: 2,914
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICH_** View Post
I have custom recovery, bootloader unlocked and s-off. My phone does not power on anymore. Not a single signal. Not even the LED lights up when plugged into the charger.. I think i will send it to HTC. Is HTC able to spot that is it unlocked etc. ?
If you unlocked it with HTCdev.com, then yes they will be able to. But usually unlocking the bootloader doesn't make the entire device stop working. They might blame you for over clocking or something, but there isn't anything you can do about it. You obviously can't re-lock it, so I would just send it in and hope that they don't care.
 
MICH_**
Old
#3  
MICH_**'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 574
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
If you unlocked it with HTCdev.com, then yes they will be able to. But usually unlocking the bootloader doesn't make the entire device stop working. They might blame you for over clocking or something, but there isn't anything you can do about it. You obviously can't re-lock it, so I would just send it in and hope that they don't care.
The bootloader was unlocked before it stopped working. I was able to install the stock rom. I have i plan how i could make it completely stock.. but for my plan i need it to boot into recovery.
 
aooga
Old
#4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 861
Posts: 2,914
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICH_** View Post
The bootloader was unlocked before it stopped working. I was able to install the stock rom. I have i plan how i could make it completely stock.. but for my plan i need it to boot into recovery.
You can't make it stock if you can't turn it on. Honestly, there is NOTHING you can do right now except send it in if the phone doesn't even get to the bootlaoder or RUU modes.

I don't think HTC will not fix it though. They should be fine with it.
 
MICH_**
Old
#5  
MICH_**'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 574
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
You can't make it stock if you can't turn it on. Honestly, there is NOTHING you can do right now except send it in if the phone doesn't even get to the bootlaoder or RUU modes.

I don't think HTC will not fix it though. They should be fine with it.
Ok, i will send it to HTC and hope for the best thank you
 
MICH_**
Old
#6  
MICH_**'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 574
Join Date: Jul 2013
I made the bootloader to show "locked" and flashed the stock recovery!

How to get s-on now?
 
nateboi81
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 534
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne
Leave it s off

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
 
MICH_**
Old
#8  
MICH_**'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 574
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nateboi81 View Post
Leave it s off

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
Are you sure? Do i have warranty with s-off?
 
raghav kapur
Old
(Last edited by raghav kapur; 1st April 2014 at 02:31 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 455
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dubai
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICH_** View Post
Are you sure? Do i have warranty with s-off?
Well, it depends. Usually, HTC will only check for the TAMPERED flag and the bootloader status. But sometimes, they may have a problem with the phone being S-OFF.
I S-ON'ed my phone before giving it for warranty repair.

Anyways, whether u will S-ON the phone or not, ill tell u how to S-ON.
Put the phone in fastboot mode. On ur PC, open command prompt and type:
fastboot oem writesecureflag 3

Then, do what the screen shows

HOWEVER, DO NOT S-ON UR PHONE IF HBOOT IS 1.55 OR ABOVE. THE TAMPERED LOGO WILL RE-APPEAR
 
MICH_**
Old
#10  
MICH_**'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 574
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur View Post
Well, it depends. Usually, HTC will only check for the TAMPERED flag and the bootloader status. But sometimes, they may have a problem with the phone being S-OFF.
I S-ON'ed my phone before giving it for warranty repair.

Anyways, whether u will S-ON the phone or not, ill tell u how to S-ON.
Put the phone in fastboot mode. On ur PC, open command prompt and type:
fastboot oem writesecureflag 3

HOWEVER, DO NOT S-ON UR PHONE IF HBOOT IS 1.55 OR ABOVE. THE TAMPERED LOGO WILL RE-APPEAR
okay, i will try to get s-on. But how to do so? Does it work by just typing "fastboot writesecureflag 3" ?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Integrate Social Networks Into Your Project With ASNE Library

Social network applications and services have developed into major parts ofour … more

Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more

Forums Added for the LG G Watch R and Samsung Gear S

A little over a week ago, LG “inadvertently” let the world know about the … more

Secrecy App Goes Open Source, New LG Android Wear Device! – XDA Developer TV

Secrecy encryption app goes open source! That and much … more