Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Anyone find a WIFI tether app that works yet?

OP Link200

25th March 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
FoxFi doesn't seem to work on the Verizon version. Problem is that the Verizon version gets locked down so rooting may take a while. Hopefully someone will find one that works.

EDIT: Bluetooth tethering works, but it is a fraction of the speed. 10% at the most.

Edit 2: Been spoiled with Paranoid Android. Looks like root is required for free WiFi tether to work with KitKat devices.
Last edited by Link200; 26th March 2014 at 07:06 AM.
27th March 2014, 04:18 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I am not buying this phone until it is rooted because of this.

If there is a workaround, I am 100% buying this thing ASAP.

So... Anyone have some ideas?
28th March 2014, 01:43 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Ithaca
Thanks Meter: 32
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
No wifi tethering yet, but using FoxFi/PdaNet for USB tethering works fine for me in the meantime. Speed is fine running it that way.
29th March 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Mansoura
Thanks Meter: 196
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Well excuse me guys but I think I'm missing something here. What's wrong with tethering? The default settings for tethering works fine with me without any other app.
29th March 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #5  
killerapl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmedsalahais

Well excuse me guys but I think I'm missing something here. What's wrong with tethering? The default settings for tethering works fine with me without any other app.

For verizon don't you need to pay for hotspots/tethering?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app
29th March 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Mansoura
Thanks Meter: 196
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerapl

For verizon don't you need to pay for hotspots/tethering?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app

Ops my mistake. I though you meant the feature in general is not working. Now I understand, it's working but with extra subscription while on Verizon. I'm not on the same network so I don't have such issue.

Sorry for any inconvenience.

Regards,
31st March 2014, 10:29 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Leyland
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
Don't know if it's any use to you but on Three in the UK you have to pay for tethering or it blocks internet until you reboot the phone but I found that it can't detect the computer if you're using a linux distro. Worth a try with a live disk/pen if it's just for browsing etc.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk
31st March 2014, 07:10 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Theoretically if you had root, do you think there's an app that would work in Infrastructure mode? I'm on Sprint so root isn't a problem but I had awful tether problems with my old M7 when it went to KitKat and I had to revert back to keep my old android-wifi-tether install working.
13th April 2014, 05:01 PM   |  #9  
RoxAbout's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Climax, Ks.
Thanks Meter: 100
 
375 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I'm on T-Mobile and purchased clockwork mod tether. DOESN'T work on HTC ONE M8. Would really like to keep this phone but I must have working tether, where I live my cell phone gets better service than the local cable provider!

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th April 2014, 01:18 AM   |  #10  
gaiden0000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Have you guys tested this one out: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...fitetherrouter
Works great for me on 3UK now that the new tariffs allows only 2GB of tethering. I've done over 5GB this month.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes