Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to add data and other toggles to notification bar...

OP rpenrod23

18th October 2013, 10:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 366
 
756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I found this on the AT&T Note 3 forum but used it on my Sprint Note 3 to enable the Mobile Data toggle since it was so conveniently left out.

I take zero credit for this but can confirm it does work at least for the mobile data toggle; I did not attempt to add or remove any other toggles so as always, YMMV.

If you find this useful, please thank the creator of the thread linked below, I'm simply sharing a great find by someone else.

Enjoy!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2484638
Last edited by rpenrod23; 24th November 2013 at 05:45 AM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to rpenrod23 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th November 2013, 05:14 AM   |  #2  
nerys71's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 402
 
2,024 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I can not make this work on Mj4 Stock Rooted

when I click on settings.db I get this error

Error

An error occured while opening the database. unable to
open database file (code 14):, while compiling: SELECT *
FROM sqlite_master WHERE type in('table',view') ORDER
BY name
24th November 2013, 05:39 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 366
 
756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
[QUOTE=nerys71;47781566]I can not make this work on Mj4 Stock Rooted

when I click on settings.db I get this error

Error

An error occured while opening the database. unable to
open database file (code 14):, while compiling: SELECT *
FROM sqlite_master WHERE type in('table',view') ORDER
BY name[/QUOTE

I'm running Bonsai and don't have this issue but here's mine from Bonsai.

This is NOT flashable, simply unzip and use a file explorer to put it into /system/app. Make sure you set the correct permissions and reboot, then try this mod again.

Good luck!
Attached Files
File Type: zip SecSettingsProvider.zip - [Click for QR Code] (28.4 KB, 394 views)
24th November 2013, 07:42 AM   |  #4  
nerys71's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 402
 
2,024 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
ok the TB Fixer app worked I can now edit the file in sqlite. but the effect does not appear to take effect. I rebooted I reset notification but no new icons appeared.
Last edited by nerys71; 24th November 2013 at 08:03 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to nerys71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th November 2013, 07:56 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 366
 
756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nerys71

ok the TB Fixer app worked I can now edit the file in sqlite. but the effect does not appear to take effect. I rebooted I reset notification but no new icons appeared.

Did you ensure that you put the ; at the end of MobileData?

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk 2
25th November 2013, 01:38 AM   |  #6  
nerys71's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 402
 
2,024 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
yep Semi Colon after each one. No change. I am going to try and add just "one" and see what happens.

OK got it. the keyboard for whatever reason was inserting a "SPACE" after each semi colon. removed the spaces rebooted and reset notification panel and pow got wifi hotspot and mobile data.

SO is there a complete list of what other toggles we can add ?
Last edited by nerys71; 25th November 2013 at 01:57 AM.
25th November 2013, 05:34 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 366
 
756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nerys71

yep Semi Colon after each one. No change. I am going to try and add just "one" and see what happens.

OK got it. the keyboard for whatever reason was inserting a "SPACE" after each semi colon. removed the spaces rebooted and reset notification panel and pow got wifi hotspot and mobile data.

SO is there a complete list of what other toggles we can add ?

I'm not sure to be honest. I was only after mobile data since Sprint decided it was in our best interest to remove it, so that's the only one I have messed with.

Glad to hear that you got it working. :thumbup:

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk 2
25th November 2013, 09:38 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
560 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I could only get the MobileData toggle to show up, MobileHotspot would not appear. I can live with it because I was only really after the data toggle.

Sent from my SM-N900P using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th November 2013, 01:57 PM   |  #9  
nerys71's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 402
 
2,024 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
that would be because there is no such thing as MobileHotspot

you want WiFiHotspot (note the 3 capital letters)
26th November 2013, 12:47 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
560 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
LOL...... I thought so but everything I have seen said MobileHotspot that's funny. I'll get this fixed right away.....lol

Sent from my SM-N900P using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 12:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:41 AM ----------

Fixed......

Sent from my SM-N900P using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes