Build Custom Stock Kernel with Linaro GCC 4.9.1

With this guide for Sony devices, you will learn how to build a kernel using the Linaro … more

What’s Your Biggest Reason for Not Owning an iPhone?

With XDA being a community of Android enthusiasts, it is not uncommon to see … more

“New Kernel” for OnePlus One

If you are hungry for a new kernel on your OnePlus One, XDA Senior Member jgcaap‘s … more

GMD GestureControl Gets Lollipop Support

GMD GestureControl is an app that allows you to control your (rooted) devices with multitouch … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Firmware update failure

1st June 2014, 09:07 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hello, I purchased a used Galaxy gear and it has already been rooted, I have done a reset to factory settings but it still comes back as being rooted. My phone is rooted also so im ok with the watch being rooted but the only problem is that watch will not update to the latest firmware, it keeps going to firmware failed. How do i update to the latest firmware? Do i need to unroot the phone? and if so whats the best and easiest way to? If i can still update to the latest firmware with it still being rooted, how? Thanks!
3rd June 2014, 09:43 AM |#2  
crazysuraj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in India
Thanks Meter: 53
 
235 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenLeo

Hello, I purchased a used Galaxy gear and it has already been rooted, I have done a reset to factory settings but it still comes back as being rooted. My phone is rooted also so im ok with the watch being rooted but the only problem is that watch will not update to the latest firmware, it keeps going to firmware failed. How do i update to the latest firmware? Do i need to unroot the phone? and if so whats the best and easiest way to? If i can still update to the latest firmware with it still being rooted, how? Thanks!

The problem can be because of rooting your phone.
You can flash back to your Stock rom, the problem will be solved
The Following User Says Thank You to crazysuraj For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2014, 06:09 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazysuraj

The problem can be because of rooting your phone.
You can flash back to your Stock rom, the problem will be solved

Thanks, I actually connected it via PC and used KIES 3 and the update went just fine!! Now I am thinking about rather or not to update to Tizen... suggestions?
5th June 2014, 06:35 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Also, after doing the update, it's no longer rooted. I didn't really use it for root purposes though.. I may reroot it late on or update it to Tizen.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes