Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,909 Members 38,068 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fix DHD with S-ON and unmountable /sdard

Tip us?
 
DeKiesel
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 82
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Fix DHD with S-ON and unmountable /sdard

Hi,

I got a DHD from my coworker. It hangs on a CM7 bootscreen after his son tried to install CM.
As he said I could keep it I thought I would give the repair a try.

I read on the forums but I am not sure atm on how to proceed.

When I start it while holding VOlume down it I see

Code:
*** UNLOCKED ***
ACE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.00.0029
MICROP-0438
RADIO-26.14.04.28_M
eMMC-boot
Dec 22 2011, 14:28:19
ClockworkMod 5.8 is installed but I cant mount anything. E: Can't mount /sdcard/

Could somebody advise me what the easiest way would be to make the DHD usable again?

Thanks,
Kiesel
 
bananagranola
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1608
Posts: 3,795
Join Date: Jul 2012
I don't know what he did to it, but flashing a ROM in recovery without flashing the kernel in fastboot on an S-On device will make it hang on boot. Either flash the CM7 kernel in fastboot or do both steps with a new ROM.
 
DeKiesel
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 82
Join Date: Feb 2012
thanks, that was my first thought but I didnt want to make the situation any worse. Will that work even if CWM says it cant mount /sdcard?
 
bananagranola
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1608
Posts: 3,795
Join Date: Jul 2012
I would try flashing the kernel of the existing CM7 ROM in fastboot first. If that doesn't work, figure out the SD card mount. You could try another recovery.
 
DeKiesel
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 82
Join Date: Feb 2012
I flashed the boot.img, thats what you meant, isnt it? Thats at least what I saw in other threads I read. Didnt work out though. I will read about over recovery mods and then try those.
 
Gussta
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 140
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Zagreb

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeKiesel View Post
I flashed the boot.img, thats what you meant, isnt it? Thats at least what I saw in other threads I read. Didnt work out though. I will read about over recovery mods and then try those.


This thread maybe help you a little bit if you didn't read it already:


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1528925


CyanogenMod ROM is just a option. You can install what ever ROM you want.


Did you try: format the cache, data and system partitions, wipe the Dalvik cache?
 
bananagranola
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1608
Posts: 3,795
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeKiesel View Post
I flashed the boot.img, thats what you meant, isnt it? Thats at least what I saw in other threads I read. Didnt work out though. I will read about over recovery mods and then try those.
Yeah, flash the boot.img from fastboot. If that doesn't work try another recovery; maybe another recovery will mount the sdcard properly. (I find that easier than trying to fix a specific problem because I'm lazy.) 4ext and TWRP are good options.

You need to mount the sdcard to flash an entire ROM from the recovery. You could also unzip a ROM and flash the partitions individually from fastboot, but I'd do that as a last resort.
 
DeKiesel
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 82
Join Date: Feb 2012
I tried TWRP but it had the same problem. Ext4 is next.

I also heard about using a RUU. would that maybe work?

Sent from my GT-I9105P using xda app-developers app
 
Gussta
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 140
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Zagreb

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeKiesel View Post

I also heard about using a RUU. would that maybe work?

Sent from my GT-I9105P using xda app-developers app
No, because you will get error 140. You can't use ruu on unlocked phone.
Only thing you can do with ruu is that you can use stock rom.zip from it and flash it from sdcard or via fastboot.
If you flash it from sdcard, you must rename it to PD98IMG.zip

Sory for my bad english.
 
DeKiesel
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 82
Join Date: Feb 2012
Ah, ok.

I will try that tomorrow, I am not at a PC atm. Can I otherwise somehow repartition the internal sd?

Sent from my GT-I9105P using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes