Post Reply

[Q] How to Root LG G2 on a Mac

20th September 2013, 04:04 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Does anyone here have any tools or guides on how I can achieve root on my Verizon LG G2 on my mac in terminal or via a tool like this one which seems to only be windows based: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448887

I don't have access to a windows machine at home that I can use to get root on my LG G2. I would really appreciate it if someone could make a guide (Text or Youtube even better) or a root tool like the one I linked to above. I'm not trying to be a mac snob which I'm not...I just do a lot of design work and photo editing and have used Mac's since I find that most of the studios I deal with all use them and I need to be able to exchange files that are compatible. I would really appreciate some help with regards to doing this on my MAC. Thanks for listening and I hope someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks again.
22nd September 2013, 11:57 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I'm also looking for a Mac solution. I'm a long time Android user but have a Macbook. Hoping someone comes up with Mac version.
23rd September 2013, 03:55 AM   |  #3  
Member
Lafayette
Thanks Meter: 40
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I used the method by thecubed in the development section. I unzipped it and followed the adb commands in the .bat file (right click that file, open with text editor). Don't forget the part about unplugging the USB cable and disabling and then enabling debugging.
23rd September 2013, 08:01 AM   |  #4  
trickster2369's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SD
Thanks Meter: 759
 
2,295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjdupuis

I used the method by thecubed in the development section. I unzipped it and followed the adb commands in the .bat file (right click that file, open with text editor). Don't forget the part about unplugging the USB cable and disabling and then enabling debugging.

But, did you do it on a Mac?

Thank you Devs. From my LG G2.
23rd September 2013, 01:53 PM   |  #5  
Member
Lafayette
Thanks Meter: 40
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Yes, all through terminal.
23rd September 2013, 04:36 PM   |  #6  
Member
Lafayette
Thanks Meter: 40
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I can post the specifics, but I'm not a developer and most likely could not help you if you or I happen to mess something up.
24th September 2013, 03:19 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
That would be great if you could post the specifics. Would really love to see how you did it.
24th September 2013, 03:26 PM   |  #8  
Member
Lafayette
Thanks Meter: 40
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
WARNING! This is just what worked for me, and it's just the adb commands from thecubed's program. All credit goes to him, I didn't do any of this, just took the info from it.

Here's the thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448887

Download it, unzip it, and then take a moment to go back and thank him if you didn't do that.

You are not actually using his program, just the files and commands. Everything is done using Terminal and the Finder. You must have ADB working, look elsewhere for instructions on setting that up.

The files used here are the Verizon versions of the files, which I used for my phone. They are also specific to the OTA'd Verizon software, "11A" so there are different files if you haven't installed the OTA. These commands are correct, but the files being pushed aren't all the same between different carrier models and do not work with any other carrier. All the right stuff for other carriers is contained in thecubed's program.

The bold sections are files you need to send over adb, you can manually enter the file pathway or drag the files from finder into terminal after the adb commands (and before you type the destinations).

One more warning; if this is your first time using adb or terminal, I don't recommend this as your first try. It's super easy to screw something up in terminal.



Your phone must have developer options enabled and usb debugging on. plug in your phone via usb and select "Internet" and then "Ethernet."

adb push ytiruces_1a_vzw /sdcard/ytiruces_1a

Unplug usb, disable USB debugging and then re-enable it. Plug USB back in.

adb shell "mount -o remount,rw /system"

adb push su /system/xbin/su

adb shell "chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su;chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su;sync;mount -o remount,ro /system"

adb install superuser.apk

exit
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mjdupuis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th September 2013, 08:20 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
thanks for this.
25th September 2013, 04:57 AM   |  #10  
dincdoes.me's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Traverse City
Thanks Meter: 209
 
1,353 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I used parallels installed Windows 7 I could have drove home and grabbed my laptop but that would have been to easy lol.

But now my mom is happy to see Windows android and osx lion on a 2009 MacBook pro I was surprised how well it went I thought I was going to have driver issues or something would go wrong but it was like I was using a straight up Windows 7 laptop. If that program was available for ubuntu a lot if people would be happy campers 😄

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by dincdoes.me; 25th September 2013 at 05:00 AM.

The Following User Says Thank You to dincdoes.me For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank