Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,276 Members 38,173 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to Root LG G2 on a Mac

Tip us?
 
cc1995
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default [Q] How to Root LG G2 on a Mac

Does anyone here have any tools or guides on how I can achieve root on my Verizon LG G2 on my mac in terminal or via a tool like this one which seems to only be windows based: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448887

I don't have access to a windows machine at home that I can use to get root on my LG G2. I would really appreciate it if someone could make a guide (Text or Youtube even better) or a root tool like the one I linked to above. I'm not trying to be a mac snob which I'm not...I just do a lot of design work and photo editing and have used Mac's since I find that most of the studios I deal with all use them and I need to be able to exchange files that are compatible. I would really appreciate some help with regards to doing this on my MAC. Thanks for listening and I hope someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks again.
 
black05x5
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 77
Join Date: Jan 2011
I'm also looking for a Mac solution. I'm a long time Android user but have a Macbook. Hoping someone comes up with Mac version.
 
mjdupuis
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lafayette
I used the method by thecubed in the development section. I unzipped it and followed the adb commands in the .bat file (right click that file, open with text editor). Don't forget the part about unplugging the USB cable and disabling and then enabling debugging.
 
trickster2369
Old
#4  
trickster2369's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 758
Posts: 2,284
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SD

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjdupuis View Post
I used the method by thecubed in the development section. I unzipped it and followed the adb commands in the .bat file (right click that file, open with text editor). Don't forget the part about unplugging the USB cable and disabling and then enabling debugging.
But, did you do it on a Mac?

Thank you Devs. From my LG G2.
 
mjdupuis
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lafayette
Yes, all through terminal.
 
mjdupuis
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lafayette
I can post the specifics, but I'm not a developer and most likely could not help you if you or I happen to mess something up.
 
cc1995
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
That would be great if you could post the specifics. Would really love to see how you did it.
 
mjdupuis
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lafayette
WARNING! This is just what worked for me, and it's just the adb commands from thecubed's program. All credit goes to him, I didn't do any of this, just took the info from it.

Here's the thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448887

Download it, unzip it, and then take a moment to go back and thank him if you didn't do that.

You are not actually using his program, just the files and commands. Everything is done using Terminal and the Finder. You must have ADB working, look elsewhere for instructions on setting that up.

The files used here are the Verizon versions of the files, which I used for my phone. They are also specific to the OTA'd Verizon software, "11A" so there are different files if you haven't installed the OTA. These commands are correct, but the files being pushed aren't all the same between different carrier models and do not work with any other carrier. All the right stuff for other carriers is contained in thecubed's program.

The bold sections are files you need to send over adb, you can manually enter the file pathway or drag the files from finder into terminal after the adb commands (and before you type the destinations).

One more warning; if this is your first time using adb or terminal, I don't recommend this as your first try. It's super easy to screw something up in terminal.



Your phone must have developer options enabled and usb debugging on. plug in your phone via usb and select "Internet" and then "Ethernet."

adb push ytiruces_1a_vzw /sdcard/ytiruces_1a

Unplug usb, disable USB debugging and then re-enable it. Plug USB back in.

adb shell "mount -o remount,rw /system"

adb push su /system/xbin/su

adb shell "chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su;chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su;sync;mount -o remount,ro /system"

adb install superuser.apk

exit
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mjdupuis For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cc1995
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
thanks for this.
 
dincdoes.me
Old
(Last edited by dincdoes.me; 25th September 2013 at 05:00 AM.)
#10  
dincdoes.me's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 208
Posts: 1,348
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Traverse City
I used parallels installed Windows 7 I could have drove home and grabbed my laptop but that would have been to easy lol.

But now my mom is happy to see Windows android and osx lion on a 2009 MacBook pro I was surprised how well it went I thought I was going to have driver issues or something would go wrong but it was like I was using a straight up Windows 7 laptop. If that program was available for ubuntu a lot if people would be happy campers 😄

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Phones
HTC Inspire 4G
Rom - MIUI ICS
Kernel Tiamat!
2nd Phone
GALAXY NOTE
Rom - Still Looking
b00sted Custom Themes

Like His Work. Consider donating.

The Following User Says Thank You to dincdoes.me For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes