Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,583 Members 38,267 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fixing Roboto, Somewhat

Tip us?
 
noll5326
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Fixing Roboto, Somewhat

I saw a post earlier on G+ about the G2 and Roboto. Basically you can only use normal and bold; italic, bold italic, Roboto Light, Roboto Thin, and Roboto Condensed don't work. The weight also appears to be off.

I did some looking around and all the fonts are present on the system. I made a quick test app to compare the fonts on the G2 and Galaxy Nexus and set to figure out how to fix it.

It's pretty simple, just copy the system_fonts.xml file in the zip to \system\etc. You'll probably want to backup and/or rename the existing file first and give it the same file permissions. You'll need root and a file explorer that can mount system. Reboot and you should be able to see the changes.

I copied the file over to internal storage and used Total Commander to copy the xml file after renaming the original file.

The weight is still wrong but at least if the developer wanted to use Roboto and italics, you'll now be able to see italics.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Original G2.jpg
Views:	2096
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	2260658   Click image for larger version

Name:	Galaxy Nexus.jpg
Views:	1908
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	2260659   Click image for larger version

Name:	Modified G2.jpg
Views:	1803
Size:	35.6 KB
ID:	2260660  
Attached Files
File Type: zip system_fonts.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.1 KB, 389 views)
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to noll5326 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
canecbr600
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 437
Join Date: Oct 2008
If rooted, u can use jrummys font app, and install any font the app has, it replaces the roboto font in stock font settings....

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium HD app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to canecbr600 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cortez.i
Old
#3  
cortez.i's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 2,319
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: north texas
@noll5326, thanks for sharing. I'm a fan of the 4.2 bold font hours/light font minutes clock and your tweak fixed this issue on my G2.

sent from my GN2 / GS4
d.cortez || HTC One (M8) || SGN 3 || Nexus 7 (LTE)
"My life has no purpose, no direction, no aim, no meaning, and yet I'm Happy. I can't figure it out. What am I doing right?" --Snoopy
 
sefnap
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 378
Posts: 40
Join Date: Sep 2013
If you want to fix the weight issues, you can download Roboto directly from Google. Just click "Download Roboto" and extract the zip, then copy to your phone. In adb you can do this:

Assuming you put the roboto files at /sdcard/roboto
Code:
su
mount -o remount,rw /system
cp /sdcard/roboto/*.ttf /system/fonts
This will overwrite the ones from the stock rom, so if you're concerned about that, you can make a backup first:
Code:
mkdir /sdcard/roboto-stock
cp /system/fonts/Roboto* /sdcard/roboto-stock
After that and using your modded system_fonts.xml, I have nice proper typography in the Play Store and other Holo apps.

Thanks!
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to sefnap For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WheresTrent
Old
#5  
WheresTrent's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 76
Join Date: Jul 2012
Thanks for posting this, this was (oddly?) one of my bigger concerns in researching this phone. Will give it a try when I get it.
 
slider112
Old
(Last edited by slider112; 24th November 2013 at 10:44 PM.)
#6  
slider112's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 179
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by noll5326 View Post
I saw a post earlier on G+ about the G2 and Roboto. Basically you can only use normal and bold; italic, bold italic, Roboto Light, Roboto Thin, and Roboto Condensed don't work. The weight also appears to be off.

I did some looking around and all the fonts are present on the system. I made a quick test app to compare the fonts on the G2 and Galaxy Nexus and set to figure out how to fix it.

It's pretty simple, just copy the system_fonts.xml file in the zip to \system\etc. You'll probably want to backup and/or rename the existing file first and give it the same file permissions. You'll need root and a file explorer that can mount system. Reboot and you should be able to see the changes.

I copied the file over to internal storage and used Total Commander to copy the xml file after renaming the original file.

The weight is still wrong but at least if the developer wanted to use Roboto and italics, you'll now be able to see italics.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sefnap View Post
If you want to fix the weight issues, you can download Roboto directly from Google. Just click "Download Roboto" and extract the zip, then copy to your phone. In adb you can do this:

Assuming you put the roboto files at /sdcard/roboto
Code:
su
mount -o remount,rw /system
cp /sdcard/roboto/*.ttf /system/fonts
This will overwrite the ones from the stock rom, so if you're concerned about that, you can make a backup first:
Code:
mkdir /sdcard/roboto-stock
cp /system/fonts/Roboto* /sdcard/roboto-stock
After that and using your modded system_fonts.xml, I have nice proper typography in the Play Store and other Holo apps.

Thanks!

Thanks for this guys, much appreciated. I combined both of these procedures and now have all stock android roboto system fonts that render perfectly everywhere, most notably in the play store. FYI: I ended up just using root explorer to move both the xml file as well as all of the stock font files to the proper directories, changed permissions and rebooted. Good as gold
The Following User Says Thank You to slider112 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
robogo1982
Old
#7  
robogo1982's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 470
Posts: 1,447
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Osijek
Followed the instructions and now everything looks as it's supposed to!

DashClock now looks great.
| LG G2 | D802 | CloudyG3 1.3 | 72 hrs on a single charge
| Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 | WanamLite | [sold]
| Sony Xperia Z | stock | [sold]
| Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-I9300 | WanamLite | [sold]
| Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 | stock | [sold]
| Samsung Galaxy S GT-I9000 | AllianceROM | [sold]
| HTC Desire | stock | [sold]
| HTC Hero | stock | [sold]
:: i'm a lazy mug who doesn't update his signature that often ::

 
tarkil
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 52
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hong Kong
Much appreciated indeed !! Thanks vm.
 
revolt1
Old
#9  
revolt1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 1,553
Join Date: Nov 2009
can someone make a zip
thanks in advance
 
robogo1982
Old
(Last edited by robogo1982; 26th November 2013 at 02:17 PM.)
#10  
robogo1982's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 470
Posts: 1,447
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Osijek
Um... is pasting a couple of files really that big of a problem?

I reckon it can be made, yes... I might just give it a go.

EDIT: okay, here it is.

NOTE: I have not tested this and I don't know whether it works properly! I am not responsible if you mess up your system or your phone. Do a nandroid backup first!

Download from attachment or this link.
Attached Files
File Type: zip roboto_fix.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.19 MB, 83 views)
| LG G2 | D802 | CloudyG3 1.3 | 72 hrs on a single charge
| Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 | WanamLite | [sold]
| Sony Xperia Z | stock | [sold]
| Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-I9300 | WanamLite | [sold]
| Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 | stock | [sold]
| Samsung Galaxy S GT-I9000 | AllianceROM | [sold]
| HTC Desire | stock | [sold]
| HTC Hero | stock | [sold]
:: i'm a lazy mug who doesn't update his signature that often ::


Tags
lg g2, roboto, root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes