Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Thumbs down unlock tmobil s3 problems

OP mike102871

3rd March 2014, 11:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I have an s3 that i was selling to mother in law to use on consumer cellular. T mobile provided an unlock code that does not work. They are supposedly investigating this. I tried to pay an online unlocker for a code, I told them the code t mobile provided that did not work, They were unable to generate an unlock code ,
What is is going on. T mobile sim locks phones and then cant provoide correct unlock codes??
What other option do i have?
This seems like a bunch of BS on tmobile part.
3rd March 2014, 11:19 PM   |  #2  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,734
 
7,757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Selling to MiL ? I'd give for free if I were you.

Seriously speaking, you can take the phone to a T-Mobile store for further investigation. If the code does not work, don't try it repeatedly. The phone will lockup for good.

If the code did not work, make sure the T-Mobile Rep has taken down your IMEI correctly. Make them repeat it to make sure its correct.

There are other ways to unlock. But in order to try them, I need to know what android version you have right now. Its listed in Settings > About.
3rd March 2014, 11:47 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Its running stock rooted 4.3 with stocm recovery and some bloat removed. Have verified t mo has correct imei. Have tried 2 old centennial wireless sims and an old at&t sim. No luck.
Sent from my SM-N900T using xda app-developers app
4th March 2014, 02:40 AM   |  #4  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,734
 
7,757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Since you are on 4.3, the other way to unlock is out of question. Please take the phone to a T-Mo Store after you get the new unlock code.
4th March 2014, 10:02 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Tmobile cant seem to get me a correct code

Sent from my SM-N900T using xda app-developers app
9th April 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike102871

Tmobile cant seem to get me a correct code

Sent from my SM-N900T using xda app-developers app

I am having the same problem.

I just got done with TMO online chat and they said to make sure the WiFi is off before you do it.
I am going to try this when I get home.
9th April 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #7  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,500
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Check out chainfires Region Lock Away app on the play store or here on xda. Its built for the note3 on 4.3 firmware, but ive seen claims it works on the S3 and others. I suggest reading the thread to be certain, but it may be a viable option for those running 4.3 rooted.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
10th April 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Check out chainfires Region Lock Away app on the play store or here on xda. Its built for the note3 on 4.3 firmware, but ive seen claims it works on the S3 and others. I suggest reading the thread to be certain, but it may be a viable option for those running 4.3 rooted.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

Let us know if you get it unblocked.
ive tried all the do this do that.
Region lock away doesnt work on 2 s3s I tried.




Quote:
Originally Posted by hfslacker

I am having the same problem.

I just got done with TMO online chat and they said to make sure the WiFi is off before you do it.
I am going to try this when I get home.



Sent from my SM-N900T using xda app-developers app
10th April 2014, 06:49 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Didn't work.... Now I'm waiting for the 2nd time for this to be escalated... I know Im not gonna get a call back.....
10th April 2014, 09:26 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfslacker

Didn't work.... Now I'm waiting for the 2nd time for this to be escalated... I know Im not gonna get a call back.....

Good luck. Still cany get mine unlocked. Second one also.

Sent from my SM-N900T using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes