Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How is LTE signal strength?

OP iamkoza

2nd April 2014, 08:34 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Just curious, coming from EVO 4g LTE I am really hoping for an improvement in LTE antenna with the m8.
2nd April 2014, 09:12 AM   |  #2  
Ascertion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,102
 
2,474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
The antenna is better - but not quite as Strong as the G2, N5, or S4. It's about on avg 2-3dBm weaker than the G2, depending on location...on Band 25 LTE. It is however about 8-10dBm better than the M7, according to numerous reports.

The Nexus 5 has by far the best radio on Band 25.
2nd April 2014, 05:47 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 47
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
bad signal strength
I don't have numbers to back it up, but what I can tell you is that I have worse signal strength when compared to the M7. I used to toggle back and forth at work between 3g and LTE on the M7, but I never even see an LTE connection at work on the M8. I would also play poker on my break and never have any disconnects on 3g with the M7, but the M8 can't seem to say connected long enough to play 3 hands in a row! I also noticed when I put the M7 and M8 side by side (M7 is connected to another line on my plan now) that I show 5 bars on the M7 and 0-1 bars on the M8! Did I just get a bad phone???
3rd April 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by integra3g

I don't have numbers to back it up, but what I can tell you is that I have worse signal strength when compared to the M7. I used to toggle back and forth at work between 3g and LTE on the M7, but I never even see an LTE connection at work on the M8. I would also play poker on my break and never have any disconnects on 3g with the M7, but the M8 can't seem to say connected long enough to play 3 hands in a row! I also noticed when I put the M7 and M8 side by side (M7 is connected to another line on my plan now) that I show 5 bars on the M7 and 0-1 bars on the M8! Did I just get a bad phone???

Sounds like your a circuit switch fallback victim

Sent from my 831C using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
3rd April 2014, 02:08 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by integra3g

I don't have numbers to back it up, but what I can tell you is that I have worse signal strength when compared to the M7. I used to toggle back and forth at work between 3g and LTE on the M7, but I never even see an LTE connection at work on the M8. I would also play poker on my break and never have any disconnects on 3g with the M7, but the M8 can't seem to say connected long enough to play 3 hands in a row! I also noticed when I put the M7 and M8 side by side (M7 is connected to another line on my plan now) that I show 5 bars on the M7 and 0-1 bars on the M8! Did I just get a bad phone???

I also have an M7 and an M8. The M8 has a 2-3 dB better signal, but on LTE the number of bars displayed is not accurate. The M7 was like that for a while too until Sprint fixed it with an update. Even with a very strong LTE signal the M8 will show 1-2 bars. That is nothing to worry about.

As for the eCSFB, allegedly only like < 1% of sprint towers still have this problem. Basically if there is a tower with LTE but does not have eCSFB, the phone will deliberately NOT connect to the LTE because doing so would mean that it would not receive incoming phone calls (due to lack of eCSFB).

However, what I've noticed with my M8, is that often, after I drive for a while, the phone will just NOT connect to LTE no matter what. Even in an area with a STRING LTE signal, and working eCSFB, the thing will just not connect to LTE. When it happens it will stay that way forever, until I either reboot it, or toggle airplane mode on and off.

Very annoying. I miss the 2nd radio and SVLTE.
3rd April 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 47
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by m03sizlak

I also have an M7 and an M8. The M8 has a 2-3 dB better signal, but on LTE the number of bars displayed is not accurate. The M7 was like that for a while too until Sprint fixed it with an update. Even with a very strong LTE signal the M8 will show 1-2 bars. That is nothing to worry about.

As for the eCSFB, allegedly only like < 1% of sprint towers still have this problem. Basically if there is a tower with LTE but does not have eCSFB, the phone will deliberately NOT connect to the LTE because doing so would mean that it would not receive incoming phone calls (due to lack of eCSFB).

However, what I've noticed with my M8, is that often, after I drive for a while, the phone will just NOT connect to LTE no matter what. Even in an area with a STRING LTE signal, and working eCSFB, the thing will just not connect to LTE. When it happens it will stay that way forever, until I either reboot it, or toggle airplane mode on and off.

Very annoying. I miss the 2nd radio and SVLTE.

I didn't mention this because it did it on both the M7 and M7, but I constantly miss calls (phone never even rings) when I am at work. I hate that my 3g is so bad that I can't even use my phone at work anymore!
4th April 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
i should edit my post to ask users in spark areas if they have been able to connect to spark? on other forums i found some complaining sprint spark was not working well
4th April 2014, 04:16 AM   |  #8  
uh60james's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 63
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by m03sizlak


However, what I've noticed with my M8, is that often, after I drive for a while, the phone will just NOT connect to LTE no matter what. Even in an area with a STRING LTE signal, and working eCSFB, the thing will just not connect to LTE. When it happens it will stay that way forever, until I either reboot it, or toggle airplane mode on and off.

Very annoying. I miss the 2nd radio and SVLTE.

I don't think it scans for LTE if 3G is active. So if you're streaming something or an app is syncing it will never pick it up. The default scan rate is set at 300 seconds, not sure if 3G needs to be dormant that long or not though.


Sent from my SM-T217S using Tapatalk
9th April 2014, 05:50 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by m03sizlak

I also have an M7 and an M8. The M8 has a 2-3 dB better signal, but on LTE the number of bars displayed is not accurate. The M7 was like that for a while too until Sprint fixed it with an update. Even with a very strong LTE signal the M8 will show 1-2 bars. That is nothing to worry about.

As for the eCSFB, allegedly only like < 1% of sprint towers still have this problem. Basically if there is a tower with LTE but does not have eCSFB, the phone will deliberately NOT connect to the LTE because doing so would mean that it would not receive incoming phone calls (due to lack of eCSFB).

However, what I've noticed with my M8, is that often, after I drive for a while, the phone will just NOT connect to LTE no matter what. Even in an area with a STRING LTE signal, and working eCSFB, the thing will just not connect to LTE. When it happens it will stay that way forever, until I either reboot it, or toggle airplane mode on and off.

Very annoying. I miss the 2nd radio and SVLTE.

Living in Denver where they are FINALLY deploying LTE but in my area it's strong. Also notice the same that it's taking my phone forever to switch to LTE. Compared to my M7, the M8 stays with LTE longer and the speeds are faster.
9th April 2014, 05:56 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opman711

Living in Denver where they are FINALLY deploying LTE but in my area it's strong. Also notice the same that it's taking my phone forever to switch to LTE.

This was fixed in the 1.54 update that rolled out yesterday.
Last edited by m03sizlak; 10th April 2014 at 01:33 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes