Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,274 Members 45,753 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] LTE preferred

Tip us?
 
Gnarfsan
Old
(Last edited by Gnarfsan; 3rd April 2014 at 07:26 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 810
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default [Q] LTE preferred

I have huge LTE issues. The coverage where I live is amazing, but my phone will not prefer LTE no matter what I do. Does the phone software just suck or is there something I can do?

LTE only - works, but then I cannot make or receive calls. All other modes will prefer 5.9 bars of 3G over 5.8 bars of LTE. Which doesn't make any sense.

Btw I am on CloudyPro II but I don't think it is a ROM issue because I never had had the phone prefer LTE even though I have almost max LTE everywhere.

I have also tried with fast dormancy enabled and disabled. It makes no difference.


Is there a way to make this phone prefer LTE?
Primary device: LG G2 (D802, International)
 
jefbeck
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 131
Join Date: Jun 2010
Same problem here. Even though i got 4g on my place, it will connect on edge or 3g. Sometimes i got no signal at all. I dont have thos problem on JB. Im on rooted stock KK international. Is this a kernel or baseband issue?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Gnarfsan
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 810
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefbeck View Post
Same problem here. Even though i got 4g on my place, it will connect on edge or 3g. Sometimes i got no signal at all. I dont have thos problem on JB. Im on rooted stock KK international. Is this a kernel or baseband issue?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Hmmm... I had the same problem on JB stock...
Primary device: LG G2 (D802, International)
 
Gnarfsan
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 810
Join Date: Aug 2010
Another thing that I noticed is that if I for instance set this phone to LTE/GSM/WCDMA it will go nuts. Sometimes changing between H and 3G almost every second. Just back and forth.

It is almost as if this phone will poll the network several times each second and then prefer the strongest signal while completely disregarding data speed.
Primary device: LG G2 (D802, International)
 
Billy Madison
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 892
Join Date: Dec 2011
First, why are creating new threads when already exist similar topics? Do you read old topics? Maybe it has contained answer
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2474244

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnarfsan View Post
Another thing that I noticed is that if I for instance set this phone to LTE/GSM/WCDMA it will go nuts. Sometimes changing between H and 3G almost every second. Just back and forth.

It is almost as if this phone will poll the network several times each second and then prefer the strongest signal while completely disregarding data speed.
And what could it possibly do? You prefer it to connect to some 5miles fay away LTE cell only if it's speed is faster but your modem will then constantly drop packet and reestablish connection to drain the battery? Or should phone grab a nearest and most powerful signal from 3G cell?

And third, wait for Kitkat, it contains a newer 190084 baseband, maybe it will relieve your pains

Then again, why do you complain here instead of going straight to you operator office? It surely is their fault to tweak their cell wrongfully. We can't change their settings

---------- Post added at 04:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:14 PM ----------

Almost forgot, read this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2660471
 
Gnarfsan
Old
(Last edited by Gnarfsan; 4th April 2014 at 09:25 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 810
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy Madison View Post
Then again, why do you complain here instead of going straight to you operator office? It surely is their fault to tweak their cell wrongfully. We can't change their settings
I have tried with different basebands and in case you didn't read my first post I have full LTE signal (6 of 6 bars) if I force it to pick LTE only. If I don't, it will pick 6 Bars H/3G.
I have also tried many different ROMs and I have checked the settings of the Sim card. It is set to prefer LTE.

Btw, did you read the last post in the thread that you linked to?
Primary device: LG G2 (D802, International)
 
Gnarfsan
Old
(Last edited by Gnarfsan; 4th April 2014 at 09:47 PM.)
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 810
Join Date: Aug 2010
With LTE i get a ping of 34 ms and 15/5 Mbps. But the phone will pick a HSDPA connection with 47 ms ping and 6/1 Mbps.

And I am on the stock KitKat baseband but like I said I had the same issue on JB

If I force it in my office downtown I get up to 70 Mbps. And as soon as I switch back to default settings (if I boot) I go back to good old HSDPA if the phone is in a good mood. Otherwise I get 3G.

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
Primary device: LG G2 (D802, International)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...