Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,971 Members 44,222 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [A700] Booting Failed - can't reflash recovery

Tip us?
 
yavinmaster
Old
(Last edited by yavinmaster; 27th January 2014 at 07:22 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2011
Unhappy [Q] [A700] Booting Failed - can't reflash recovery

I was running CM 10.2 on my A700 and last night in the middle of use the machine hung. This doesn't happen very often but when it does I normally just reboot. This time when I rebooted I received the error:
Bootloader Version JB-653b3d3 (Unlock Mode)
Booting failed
Bootloader vJB-653b3d3(UnlockMode): Starting Fastboot USB download protocol.

I thought I would just reload the CW recovery and this would fix it but when I try:

fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-6.0.4.4-a700.img

I get

sending 'recovery' (5716 KB)...
FAILED (remote: (AccessDenied))
finished. total time: 0.033s

I can erase the recovery but can't reflash it.

I thought reflashing boot.img from the CM 10.2 zip might fix things but this failed to execute too with the same error.

fastboot getvar all gives:

(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.0
(bootloader) version-baseband: 2.0
(bootloader) version: 0.4
(bootloader) serialno: 015d123afc541011
(bootloader) mid: 001
(bootloader) product: Picasso_MF
(bootloader) secure: no
(bootloader) unlocked: yes
(bootloader) partition-size:bootloader: 0x0000000000400000
(bootloader) partition-type:bootloader: emmc
(bootloader) partition-size:recovery: 0x0000000000600000
(bootloader) partition-type:recovery: emmc
(bootloader) partition-size:boot: 0x0000000000800000
(bootloader) partition-type:boot: emmc
(bootloader) partition-size:system: 0x0000000025800000
(bootloader) partition-type:system: ext4
(bootloader) partition-size:cache: 0x000000004c800000
(bootloader) partition-type:cache: ext4
(bootloader) partition-size:userdata: 0x00000006f6800000
(bootloader) partition-type:userdata: ext4

I am running everything from linux as root so permissions on the PC shouldn't be an issue.

Any help would be much appreciated.
 
Shreps
Old
#2  
Shreps's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 526
Posts: 401
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
Did you try
fastboot boot recovery-clockwork-6.0.4.4-a700.img

?

It might boot CWM (without flashing it on the tablet)
* Acer Liquid S100 (LCR E/S/F, LiquidNext)
* Samsung Galaxy S2 (7comp)
* Acer Iconia A510 (CM10*, CM11, AOKP, 7comp)
* Acer CloudMobile S500 (CM 10, 7comp, MIUI)
* Acer Liquid E1 V360 (Root)
* Acer Liquid E2 V370 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Iconia A1-810 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid S1 S510 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Aspire P3 i3 (Dual boot : Windows 8 + Android 4.2.2 Root)
* Acer Liquid S2 S520 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid E3 E380 (Root + custom UI/framework)
 
yavinmaster
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shreps View Post
Did you try
fastboot boot recovery-clockwork-6.0.4.4-a700.img

?

It might boot CWM (without flashing it on the tablet)
Thanks for the reply. I did try booting directly as you suggested but it just sat there doing nothing (command line hung, A700 not doing anything). I might try again tonight and leave it for a while.
 
yavinmaster
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by yavinmaster View Post
Thanks for the reply. I did try booting directly as you suggested but it just sat there doing nothing (command line hung, A700 not doing anything). I might try again tonight and leave it for a while.
I was wrong:

fastboot boot recovery-clockwork-6.0.4.4-a700.img
downloading 'boot.img'...
FAILED (remote: (AccessDenied))
finished. total time: 0.026s


......same (remote: (AccessDenied)) error.
 
Helldriver79
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2014
I have this problem too.

A701 CM11 M5
Last night i plug in the battery charger and in the morning i see only the acer logo. Battery was about 1%.
I have exact the same error messages.

Do someone have allready solved this problem?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes