Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,924 Members 45,508 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SOLVED] I can't enter into recovery mode. Please help

Tip us?
 
devrruti
Old
(Last edited by devrruti; 6th April 2014 at 07:03 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 439
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default [SOLVED] I can't enter into recovery mode. Please help

I broke the digitizer, so I replaced it (I think successfully). I was able to boot it once and everything worked fine. Now all I get is a bootloop with the htc logo on white background.

I wanted to install a newer rom, but I'm unable to enter recovery
If I try to enter recovery pressing vol down and power, and then select recovery and press power, I get the htc logo bootloop again

I was in rom CM 10.2 by Sultan. With S-off. I can't remember which recovery I had installed (4ext or twrp?)

What could I do?
Are there any pc tools like flashtool for Sony devices or Odin/Heimdall for Samsung ones? (preferably for ubuntu)
 
Mile_zdr
Old
#2  
Mile_zdr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 266
Posts: 814
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bitola
First eject your battery than reinsert and try again volume and power button

Sent from my HTCSensation using xda app-developers app
HTC Sensation 4G T-Mobile USA
3.33 Firmware,S-off
Current Rom -ViperS 5.2.1 (4.1.2-Sense 5) Nothing is impossible!

Hit that Thanks button if in some way helped you
The Following User Says Thank You to Mile_zdr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
devrruti
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 439
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mile_zdr View Post
First eject your battery than reinsert and try again volume and power button

Sent from my HTCSensation using xda app-developers app
I've done so many times, that's the first thing I've tried.

I was thinking about using adb and fastboot commands to see if I can get to the recovery that way or at least they prompt some errors that tell me what's wrong.

But I don't know what should I do, I've always used some gui (like flashtool or heimdall or odin for other devices, no idea if there's anything like that for htc devices)
 
rzr86
Old
#4  
rzr86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1974
Posts: 6,640
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nafpaktos
Quote:
Originally Posted by devrruti View Post
I've done so many times, that's the first thing I've tried.

I was thinking about using adb and fastboot commands to see if I can get to the recovery that way or at least they prompt some errors that tell me what's wrong.

But I don't know what should I do, I've always used some gui (like flashtool or heimdall or odin for other devices, no idea if there's anything like that for htc devices)
from fastboot try the command
fastboot reboot recovery

otherwise reflash the recovery again
see only step 2 from here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1631861

for tool see here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1668276

DEVICE: HTC Sensation Z710e
PREVIOUS ROM:Rooted Stock Rom ICS Sence 3.6 Revelation 1.0.3 JB Sense 4+ ViperS 3.1.4 JB Sense 4+
CURRENT ROM:ViperS 5.2.1 JB Sense 5 | Sense 6 Blinkfeed
FIRMWARE:3.32.401.5
PREVIOUS KERNEL:Overclocked kernel v1.5.2 by SebastianFM
CURRENT KERNEL:kernel 3.4.10 by SebastianFM
BOOTLOADER:unlocked
HBOOT VERSION:1.27.0000
RECOVERY:4EXT recovery touch v.1.0.0.6 RC3 testing build: 8
S-OFF
The Following User Says Thank You to rzr86 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
devrruti
Old
(Last edited by devrruti; 5th April 2014 at 02:35 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 439
Join Date: Jan 2011
k
Quote:
Originally Posted by rzr86 View Post
from fastboot try the command
fastboot reboot recovery

otherwise reflash the recovery again
see only step 2 from here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1631861

for tool see here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1668276
ok I've tried everything i could on ubuntu, windows 7 and windows 8.1. Please more ideas?

on Ubuntu
I've installed adb and fastboot and added the file 51-android. rules. I enter fastboot mode on phone and it is recognised by pc.
sudo fastboot reboot recovery does nothing

I've downloaded 4ext recovery and uncompressed
sudo fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
sending 'recovery'
okay
writing 'recovery'
FAILED (remote: not allowed)

I've also placed the 4ext recovery zip file on the sd renamed as PG58IMG.zip, no luck either. it just says parsing, but doesn't do anything else

on windows 7 and 8 I've tried with kgs utility with the option 3 to install a recovery. however this tool didn't work. Sometimes it just closed. other times it complained about md5. I think this tool tries to download Juopunutbear windows version and fails because it is no longer available a link for the windows version

phone was rooted, bootloader unlocked, supercid... using Juopunutbear
it had a recovery installed (i think it was 4ext, but i don't remember)
it had CM 10.2 by sultanxda
i replaced the digitizer. first boot everything was working.
I rebooted to enter the recovery to install a new rom but i can't
i can't boot to rom or recovery. i just get the htc logo bootloop
fastboot tells me remote not allowed

image attached
the bootloader was unlocked, but the "Locked" word was always there if i remember well, i read this was because of unlocking with Juopunutbear instead of htc dev, but that this didn't matter
 
devrruti
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 439
Join Date: Jan 2011
Click image for larger version

Name:	1396661971588.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	2668997
image boot
 
Mile_zdr
Old
(Last edited by Mile_zdr; 5th April 2014 at 11:53 AM.)
#7  
Mile_zdr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 266
Posts: 814
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bitola
Try to flash 3.33 universal firmware (check md5 sum before flashing important ) that will give you patched hboot (unlocked) after that try to flash recovery

Edit: here is link for firmware , read the steps carefull Firmware

Sent from my HTCSensation using xda app-developers app
HTC Sensation 4G T-Mobile USA
3.33 Firmware,S-off
Current Rom -ViperS 5.2.1 (4.1.2-Sense 5) Nothing is impossible!

Hit that Thanks button if in some way helped you
The Following User Says Thank You to Mile_zdr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rzr86
Old
(Last edited by rzr86; 5th April 2014 at 11:41 AM.)
#8  
rzr86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1974
Posts: 6,640
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nafpaktos
yes do as Mile_zdr suggested
with locked bootloader you can't do almost nothing
before flashing 3.33 universal firmware check md5 sums(important)
by the way i thought you still had unlocked bootloader

edit: because of locked bootloader you don't have access to the rom and recovery

DEVICE: HTC Sensation Z710e
PREVIOUS ROM:Rooted Stock Rom ICS Sence 3.6 Revelation 1.0.3 JB Sense 4+ ViperS 3.1.4 JB Sense 4+
CURRENT ROM:ViperS 5.2.1 JB Sense 5 | Sense 6 Blinkfeed
FIRMWARE:3.32.401.5
PREVIOUS KERNEL:Overclocked kernel v1.5.2 by SebastianFM
CURRENT KERNEL:kernel 3.4.10 by SebastianFM
BOOTLOADER:unlocked
HBOOT VERSION:1.27.0000
RECOVERY:4EXT recovery touch v.1.0.0.6 RC3 testing build: 8
S-OFF
The Following User Says Thank You to rzr86 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
devrruti
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 439
Join Date: Jan 2011
I had unlocked the bootloader with unlimited.io juopunutbear, this is very strange. As I said, I read somewhere that the locked word is there if you use the juopunutbear method, but it was supposedly unlocked. the only thing I did was change the digitizer.

but yeah it looks like it is locked if i can't use fastboot nor recovery. thank you very much, I'll try that firmware and tell you
 
rzr86
Old
#10  
rzr86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1974
Posts: 6,640
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nafpaktos
Quote:
Originally Posted by devrruti View Post
I had unlocked the bootloader with unlimited.io juopunutbear, this is very strange. As I said, I read somewhere that the locked word is there if you use the juopunutbear method, but it was supposedly unlocked. the only thing I did was change the digitizer.

but yeah it looks like it is locked if i can't use fastboot nor recovery. thank you very much, I'll try that firmware and tell you
also in order to have access in all fastboot commands you need unlocked bootloader or the patched hboot

DEVICE: HTC Sensation Z710e
PREVIOUS ROM:Rooted Stock Rom ICS Sence 3.6 Revelation 1.0.3 JB Sense 4+ ViperS 3.1.4 JB Sense 4+
CURRENT ROM:ViperS 5.2.1 JB Sense 5 | Sense 6 Blinkfeed
FIRMWARE:3.32.401.5
PREVIOUS KERNEL:Overclocked kernel v1.5.2 by SebastianFM
CURRENT KERNEL:kernel 3.4.10 by SebastianFM
BOOTLOADER:unlocked
HBOOT VERSION:1.27.0000
RECOVERY:4EXT recovery touch v.1.0.0.6 RC3 testing build: 8
S-OFF

The Following User Says Thank You to rzr86 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes