Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,970 Members 48,811 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to Unlock T-Mobile Galaxy Note 2 any Firmware Root Required

Tip us?
 
killerxx2
Old
(Last edited by killerxx2; 3rd February 2014 at 06:03 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 108
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ

 
DONATE TO ME
Angry How to Unlock T-Mobile Galaxy Note 2 any Firmware Root Required

There seems to be a lot of confusion on how to unlock the T-Mobile note 2. This unlock is dependent on what modem you have not necessarily the rom or software that is on the phone. However i HIGHLY RECOMMEND you use a stock rom for this unlock procedure. this tutorial assumes you already have rooted your device, and a custom recovery installed. Do that before following this guide

I am not responsible to anything that happens to your device.
You must be rooted on a custom recovery for this guide to work.
This guide is only for the t-mobile note 2

You will lose 4GLTE when you downgrade your modem don't be alarmed it will come back when we update the modem at the end of the guide

1. First you need to downgrade your modem
UVALJ1_Modem
You will download the flash able zip and flash it via recovery.

2. Reboot your device and then follow these instructions.
Quote:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cmiEZcw1z8

T-Mobile Users might have to downgrade to unlock your device. I have listed all the phones and providers that worked. If you have a different carrier and a different model, and if it works please leave a comment on my YouTube video! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cmiEZcw1z8) Thanks.


Unlock your Samsung Galaxy S3, Note 2 and Ruby. Free. No Rooting. No Hacking.

Just dial the following keys *#197328640#

Main Menu
[1] UMTS
[1] Debug Screen
[8] Phone Control
[6] Network Lock
Options [3]Perso SHA256 OFF
(after choosing this option, wait about 30 seconds, then go back one step by pressing the Menu button then select Back, now you are in
[6] Network Lock then choose
[4] NW Lock NV Data INITIALLIZ ..... wait for a minute then reboot your phone

Don't pay high unlocking fee's on eBay! Say no to them with a big smile


Comfirm Works on:
Rogers Note 2
Bell Note 2
Bell Galaxy Rugby LTE
Telus Note 2
Wind Mobile Note 2 Thanks Deafmented for confirming this
Mobilicity Note 2 Thanks liveevil for confirming this
Wind Mobile S3
Mobilicity S3 YMMV
Bell S3
Koodo S3
Telus S3
Rogers S3

(http://forums.redflagdeals.com/free-...-bell-1266487/)
Thanks DaveenJay for posting the method
3. After you reboot verify that your device is unlocked, i had a blank att laying around if it does not ask you for an unlock code it should be good

4. Reboot Into recovery and re-flash the new modem.
4.3 Modem
4.1.2 Modem Latest (anyone has minor it would be great)

Congratulations you have now unlocked your Note 2 for use with any carrier. the main point of this guide was to explain it all in one post. i hope this answered any questions that people were having about unlocking this phone.
[CENTER]

Retired:
Tmobile MDA running WM6
Blackberry Pearl
Blackberry Curve
Iphone
Iphone 3G
Palm pre
HTC Hero Sprint Running 2.2
HTC Evo Sprint Running CM7 RC1
Droid Razr Running Stock (Rooted Bloat Removed)
Samsung Galaxy S3 Tmobile 4.3 Debloated

Current: Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Tmobile
Daily Driver: 4.2.1
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to killerxx2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
UnidH4x0r
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 120
Join Date: Nov 2010
Things to note:
The unlock will stay regardless of what ROM or update you flash.
If you have unlocked a ATT Note 2 than you need to follow these instructions to allow LTE:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2068041
 
Lloyd Christmas
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2008
I just rooted my device with the method that will not set off Knox. Is there a way to flash a modem without cwm?
 
steve45058
Old
(Last edited by steve45058; 3rd April 2014 at 07:45 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2012
Downgraded and still getting the Connection problem or Invalid MMI code. I am on CM 10.2

Help!

Thanks!
 
pyraxiate
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 635
Posts: 1,770
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Baltimore
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve45058 View Post
Downgraded and still getting the Connection problem or Invalid MMI code. I am on CM 10.2

Help!

Thanks!
Use twrp / cwm and backup your cm10.2. Wipe data / system / dalvik / cache. Install a stock based touchwiz rom ( I used jedi x1 ... but whatever you use CHECK THE MD5!! ). Downgrade modem and follow the steps. After successful unlock, restore your backup.




Sent from my SGH-T889 using xda app-developers app
Devices - T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy Note 2 | Asus Transformer Tab TF300T
Roms - JediMaster 13 + Jedi X 13 - - - - - - - | CleanRom Inheritance 3.4.6 W / Untermench's 10.4.4.20 Kernel
Home Internet Speed - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -> Work Internet Speed

If I have helped and you would like to donate, Click Here
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes