Post Reply
Tutorial

[Q] How to make Swype my default keyboard

17th January 2013, 03:25 PM   |  #1  
gaurav.mishra280295's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Lucknow
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I want to make Swype my default keyboard. I have have CyanogenMod's flasable zip and Swype's working apk. I want to replace default keyboard in the zip with Swype. is it possible to do it?

please help
17th January 2013, 06:22 PM   |  #2  
swat4samp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 514
 
2,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Long pressing on any text field will open a menu..click input method, select keyboard of your choice
17th January 2013, 07:47 PM   |  #3  
ehsan h97's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Re: [Q] How to make Swype my default keyboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaurav.mishra280295

I want to make Swype my default keyboard. I have have CyanogenMod's flasable zip and Swype's working apk. I want to replace default keyboard in the zip with Swype. is it possible to do it?

please help

Ur question isn't clear dude.. if u just want 2 use it as ur default keyboard,do as my friend said.but if u want to delete default keyboard, delete d keyboard apk from system/app using root explorer

Press thnx button if it was helpful(plz)
Sent from my GT-S5670 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to ehsan h97 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2013, 06:32 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Phone
"if u just want 2 use it as ur default keyboard,do as my friend said"

Long pressing to change the keyboard does not make the keyboard the default. Upon reboot, your stock keyboard is used or none if you have removed it. I have to change to Swype upon every boot. Very annoying. There must be a way around this. Does anyone know?
21st April 2013, 10:52 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejayjetson

"if u just want 2 use it as ur default keyboard,do as my friend said"

Long pressing to change the keyboard does not make the keyboard the default. Upon reboot, your stock keyboard is used or none if you have removed it. I have to change to Swype upon every boot. Very annoying. There must be a way around this. Does anyone know?

I'd love to hear the answer to this as well. Prior to last release of Android, Swype said that it was an Android problem and the next release would fix it. They stated on the user comments section that "we can't help sloppy Android code and it's not our fault". The problem was neither - it still comes up with the standard keyboard as default upon reboot every time
22nd April 2013, 08:56 AM   |  #6  
ZmisiS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Livno
Thanks Meter: 390
 
2,038 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaurav.mishra280295

I want to make Swype my default keyboard. I have have CyanogenMod's flasable zip and Swype's working apk. I want to replace default keyboard in the zip with Swype. is it possible to do it?

please help

Try SwiftKey.
12th August 2013, 11:11 AM   |  #7  
PIRATA!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pisa, Italy
Thanks Meter: 96
 
1,881 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
The issue happens with all paid keyboard.
Someone says it's an os fault..someone a Play store fault..someone a bad app coding fault.
The fact is that no one had made a fix.
It's there a way to fix this without touching the alt keyboard (I mean without moving it or installing it manually so to avoid any strange future updates failure) that can prevent the default stock keyboard to stick back as default at each reboot??
I mean..if I back up the stock android keyboard and then uninstall it with Titanium Backup..could it fix?

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-i9300 using TapaTalk2
18th October 2013, 02:50 PM   |  #8  
Helix751's Avatar
Member
Flag Santiago
Thanks Meter: 12
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIRATA!

The issue happens with all paid keyboard.
Someone says it's an os fault..someone a Play store fault..someone a bad app coding fault.
The fact is that no one had made a fix.
It's there a way to fix this without touching the alt keyboard (I mean without moving it or installing it manually so to avoid any strange future updates failure) that can prevent the default stock keyboard to stick back as default at each reboot??
I mean..if I back up the stock android keyboard and then uninstall it with Titanium Backup..could it fix?

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-i9300 using TapaTalk2

This issue happens with (almost) all paid keyboards, as the only available keyboards at boot are the stock and free ones, given paid apps are stored in a protected storage area that is unavailable at boot time, at least until the Google Play service is actually started.

That's why (for instance) SwiftKey Free or Smart Keyboard Free are indeed kept as default keyboards after a reboot, but their corresponding paid apps will not and hence the 1st available free/stock keyboard will be selected.

The solution (developers?) could be the paid keyboard being the same free app, working with a "license" paid app. This way, the keyboard would be available at boot time and could be enabled as default, while keeping paid/premium features.

I'm afraid this is an OS restriction (bug maybe?) not yet addressed but with a helper app. The best ones so far imho (just workarounds anyway, as they still require user intervention):

Keyboard Picker
Keyboard Swap
Last edited by Helix751; 18th October 2013 at 03:03 PM. Reason: typo
18th October 2013, 03:34 PM   |  #9  
Galaxy_Rohit's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Electrifying
Thanks Meter: 227
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
I managed to get it working on 2.3.7 & 2.3.8 successfully but the gesture feature doesn't work(coz it asks for license):sly:. Does anyone know where the Swype licence gets stored(somewhere in /system partition)??
10th April 2014, 12:51 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
swype somehow checks your build.prop file and based on that check, Swype will work or not.

steps you have to do first:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=959192

Quote:

First you will need to extract the needed files from a stock ROM. If you are still running the stock software, you can use a file explorer app to make a copy onto your SD card. Just copy and paste. You can also pull the files from the stock image or from the Iced glacier ROM. Pulling from Iced Glacier is the easiest method. Just unzip the ROM file and find the needed files.

There are two files, both in the system partition. The first is "Swype.apk" and is in /system/app folder. The second is "libSwypeCore.so" and is in /system/lib/ folder.

Edit: 7/25/11
It seems you must also conciser the source ROM and destination ROM when obtaining the files. Swype does a device/licence check when running, and if it fails the check then Swype will not work. The build.prop lists "t-mobile/htc/ect" as product.brand and Swype seems to check this before running. So use a version of Swype from a ROM with the same build.prop or edit the build.prop manually.

Now to install Swype:

There are two ways to do this, ADB or root explorer. (or other file manager with RW)

Any extra info to help explain what is going on for any new guys will be in green text.

For ADB:

First put the files you extracted into the tools folder of the android SDK, then open an ADB shell to your phone. When that is done, use the following commands. (each line is a separate command)

Remember Linux commands are case sensitive.

First is to mount /system as RW. (this allows you to save files to /system)


Code:
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
Then you need to push (save a copy) the files to the correct locations.


Code:
adb push Swype.apk /system/app/Swype.apk
adb push libSwypeCore.so /system/lib/libSwypeCore.so
It may give the files the wrong permissions. (how much access to the system they have) Just to be safe we need to give the files the right permissions.



Code:
chmod 644 /system/app/Swype.apk
chmod 644 /system/lib/libSwypeCore.so
sync
reboot
Your phone will reboot and then you are done.

For Root Explorer:

Extract a copy of the needed files and put them on the SD card.

Then open root explorer and open the "sdcard" folder.

Next find "Swype.apk" and long press it and select "copy" (or if you have already completed this step once, copy "libSwypeCore.so")

Use the back button to go back to the root of the folder tree (up top where it shows your current location, it will show "/" this is where you started from when opening the app)

Locate and open the "system" folder.

You then need to tap the button up top marked "Mount R/W" (this will allow you to make changes and copy the files to the right locations) (this step should not be needed if you have already done so before)

Next open the "app" folder. (or if you are moving "libSwypeCore.so" open the "lib" folder)

Hit the "paste" button to copy the file.

Next long press the file you just copied "Swype.apk" and select "permissions" (or "libSwypeCore.so" as appropriate)

You will see a bunch of check boxes. The will be labeled "read" "write" "execute" across the top and "user" "group" "others" down the left side.

For "user" select the "read" and "write" boxes

For "group" and "others" select the "read" box only. Then select "OK"

When done with the first file, repeat the above steps again with the second file. Observe any changes to the steps that are in orange text.

Next open up a "terminal emulator" app and then run the following commands.



Code:
su
sync
reboot
Your phone will reboot and then you are done.

Hope this helps someone.

however, this has not helped my with my Galaxy Ace with custom rom. I guess the build.prop files do not match.
You can try with your Fit however. You need to have the swype.apk and the libswypecore.so files from your Original rom.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cyanogenmod, swype
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes