Official MEGA Layers Overlays Collection

The Layers Overlays is getting more popular every day and is a nice alternative to … more

Why Your Smartphone Needs Infrared Sensors

Is it useful? Yes. Is it fun? Even more so! As of now, infrared or thermal vision solutions on … more

Giefroot Root Tool For Locked Z3, Z3 Compact

Check out this tool to root Xperia Z3 or Z3 Compact regardless of the locked bootloader. It … more

Five Free Icon Packs to Rule Them All

Android’s charm as an operating system is multi-faceted, and that’s after downplaying it … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Wifi problems on my converted HTC One. Wifi will stop connecting to the internet.

OP lettuceman44

10th February 2014, 06:24 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I'm having issues with wifi after converting my HTC one to a Google Edition.

I'll connect to my school wifi fine, but every single time, after a certain amount of time it just stops working. I'll still be connected to the wifi network, but I can't connect to the internet.(When I'm at home, I don't have this issue)

My friend also has the HTC One stock, and wifi works fine. My gf has a nexus 4, so it uses stock android with no problems.
What is with my HTC One GE that isn't working?

I've tried a factory reset twice now, and it didn't help at all.

Help is appreciated! This is super annoying and is literally hindering my productivity because I don't have enough data to just use cellular service.
12th February 2014, 03:02 PM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Help please

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
12th February 2014, 06:40 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 452
 
1,811 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
What happens on stock Sense firmware? If you are S-OFF, flash Dev edition RUU and test.
12th February 2014, 08:46 PM   |  #4  
LibertyMarine's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lettuceman44

I'm having issues with wifi after converting my HTC one to a Google Edition.

I'll connect to my school wifi fine, but every single time, after a certain amount of time it just stops working. I'll still be connected to the wifi network, but I can't connect to the internet.(When I'm at home, I don't have this issue)

My friend also has the HTC One stock, and wifi works fine. My gf has a nexus 4, so it uses stock android with no problems.
What is with my HTC One GE that isn't working?

I've tried a factory reset twice now, and it didn't help at all.

Help is appreciated! This is super annoying and is literally hindering my productivity because I don't have enough data to just use cellular service.

Yeah. That is a Google Play Edition Issue on 4.4 KitKat and above... you won't be able to fix this issue (except rewriting a part of GPE)
This here helped me in Wi-Fi's like your school wifi:

[root] Pry-Fi

but if you disconnect and reconnect you have to re login because you have a new Mac...
The Following User Says Thank You to LibertyMarine For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 10:03 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LibertyMarine

Yeah. That is a Google Play Edition Issue on 4.4 KitKat and above... you won't be able to fix this issue (except rewriting a part of GPE)
This here helped me in Wi-Fi's like your school wifi:

[root] Pry-Fi

but if you disconnect and reconnect you have to re login because you have a new Mac...

Gah, not what I was hoping for
I was hoping it was a specific issue I had, not an actual android issue.

Why is it only GPE that is affected by this? Explains why my GF's nexus 4 works well.

This is a bummer. I guess I have to revert back to stock.......I get disconnected and reconnected from wifi all the time due to the wifi not being 100% everywhere on campus.

Thanks for the help, at least I know now that I can't do anything about it, time to go back to stock.

Are the revert to stock guides in you're sigs work from a GPE to stock?
Last edited by lettuceman44; 12th February 2014 at 10:35 PM.
21st February 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #6  
Member
Indiana
Thanks Meter: 3
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
i know how you feel
Quote:
Originally Posted by lettuceman44

Gah, not what I was hoping for
I was hoping it was a specific issue I had, not an actual android issue.

Why is it only GPE that is affected by this? Explains why my GF's nexus 4 works well.

This is a bummer. I guess I have to revert back to stock.......I get disconnected and reconnected from wifi all the time due to the wifi not being 100% everywhere on campus.

Thanks for the help, at least I know now that I can't do anything about it, time to go back to stock.

Are the revert to stock guides in you're sigs work from a GPE to stock?

it's not just the GPE, I switched my AT&T HTC One to Developer Edition and have lost wifi since 4.4. I downgraded back to stock and worked my way up the updates with no luck. back to dev edition now 4.4.2 and still no luck
24th February 2014, 04:45 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie09

it's not just the GPE, I switched my AT&T HTC One to Developer Edition and have lost wifi since 4.4. I downgraded back to stock and worked my way up the updates with no luck. back to dev edition now 4.4.2 and still no luck

I just went back to stock sense 4.3 and I'm having the same issues still. Before conversion I had no issues.

Why is it still happening?

Could a factory reset work? I assumed when I flashed the ruu it just wiped everything.
Last edited by lettuceman44; 24th February 2014 at 04:48 AM.
24th February 2014, 05:11 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 452
 
1,811 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lettuceman44

I just went back to stock sense 4.3 and I'm having the same issues still. Before conversion I had no issues.

Why is it still happening?

Could a factory reset work? I assumed when I flashed the ruu it just wiped everything.

Run the full RUU if available.
24th February 2014, 03:13 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
What do you mean by that? I converted my phone from GPE back to stock using the AT&T ruu.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
26th February 2014, 04:41 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I really need to fix this issue, it's becoming a liability
I don't know what else to do

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
wifi, wifi not working
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes