Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

[Q] NB4 phone with SS and installing ROM

9th March 2014, 04:04 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 60
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I got the NB4 update and was able to re-root via an older version of Kingo. Got SS installed and want to install a custom rom on the device. When i'm reading through the instructions, it wants me to flash via ODIN some files.

Can anyone explain on why I have to flash via ODIN files to get the ROM to install on SS? I did install one before and it didn't need and re-flashing.
9th March 2014, 04:14 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 71
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Was the ROM you are trying to flash a KitKat ROM? Maybe the ROM required updated firmware?
9th March 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #3  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,383
 
4,451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Because you are flashing a KitKat ROM.
You need the BL, AP and CP to be flashed in Odin in order for the ROM to boot and function properly.

You will also have to flash the ROM to the stock slot or it will not work correctly.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th March 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Kingo?
Quote:
Originally Posted by pctechdroid

I got the NB4 update and was able to re-root via an older version of Kingo. Got SS installed and want to install a custom rom on the device. When i'm reading through the instructions, it wants me to flash via ODIN some files.

Can anyone explain on why I have to flash via ODIN files to get the ROM to install on SS? I did install one before and it didn't need and re-flashing.


What was the older version of Kingo you used? I am trying to re-root after this update as well. Thank you. =)
9th March 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #5  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,383
 
4,451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
1.1.5 has been reported to work

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to graydiggy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2014, 04:54 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by graydiggy

1.1.5 has been reported to work

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Thank you. Do you know where I can download that version?
9th March 2014, 05:06 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 60
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CtrlAltDeeleet

What was the older version of Kingo you used? I am trying to re-root after this update as well. Thank you. =)

I went to the KINGO site and instead of downloading it from the website directly, I picked CNET download which had version 1.18
12th March 2014, 05:26 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Winston-Salem, NC
Thanks Meter: 4
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pctechdroid

I went to the KINGO site and instead of downloading it from the website directly, I picked CNET download which had version 1.18

I can confirm 1.18 is working for sure.
20th March 2014, 01:20 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Why0Why

I can confirm 1.18 is working for sure.

Will this trip the knox void?
20th March 2014, 02:11 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Flag Winston-Salem, NC
Thanks Meter: 4
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalconGrey

Will this trip the knox void?

Nope, it does a fine job and doesn't trip Knox.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes