FORUMS

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

[Q] NB4 phone with SS and installing ROM

Thanks Meter: 67
 
By pctechdroid, Senior Member on 9th March 2014, 04:04 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I got the NB4 update and was able to re-root via an older version of Kingo. Got SS installed and want to install a custom rom on the device. When i'm reading through the instructions, it wants me to flash via ODIN some files.

Can anyone explain on why I have to flash via ODIN files to get the ROM to install on SS? I did install one before and it didn't need and re-flashing.
 
 
9th March 2014, 04:14 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Was the ROM you are trying to flash a KitKat ROM? Maybe the ROM required updated firmware?
9th March 2014, 04:17 PM |#3  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,471
 
Donate to Me
More
Because you are flashing a KitKat ROM.
You need the BL, AP and CP to be flashed in Odin in order for the ROM to boot and function properly.

You will also have to flash the ROM to the stock slot or it will not work correctly.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th March 2014, 04:44 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Kingo?
Quote:
Originally Posted by pctechdroid

I got the NB4 update and was able to re-root via an older version of Kingo. Got SS installed and want to install a custom rom on the device. When i'm reading through the instructions, it wants me to flash via ODIN some files.

Can anyone explain on why I have to flash via ODIN files to get the ROM to install on SS? I did install one before and it didn't need and re-flashing.


What was the older version of Kingo you used? I am trying to re-root after this update as well. Thank you. =)
9th March 2014, 04:44 PM |#5  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,471
 
Donate to Me
More
1.1.5 has been reported to work

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to graydiggy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2014, 04:54 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graydiggy

1.1.5 has been reported to work

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Thank you. Do you know where I can download that version?
9th March 2014, 05:06 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CtrlAltDeeleet

What was the older version of Kingo you used? I am trying to re-root after this update as well. Thank you. =)

I went to the KINGO site and instead of downloading it from the website directly, I picked CNET download which had version 1.18
12th March 2014, 05:26 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Flag Winston-Salem, NC
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pctechdroid

I went to the KINGO site and instead of downloading it from the website directly, I picked CNET download which had version 1.18

I can confirm 1.18 is working for sure.
20th March 2014, 01:20 AM |#9  
FalconGrey's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Why0Why

I can confirm 1.18 is working for sure.

Will this trip the knox void?
20th March 2014, 02:11 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Winston-Salem, NC
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalconGrey

Will this trip the knox void?

Nope, it does a fine job and doesn't trip Knox.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank