Post Reply

Noob trying to flash Kitkat on T-mo S2

OP grifter024

6th April 2014, 03:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Hey guys. Coming from Win-mo where everything is just straight forward so this stuff is pretty new. I am trying to find a Kitkat rom for my T-mo S2. I can't seem to find any threads specifically talking about branded phones.

Can anyone help me out here? Info

The phone isn't rooted and on stock jellybean 4.1.2.

If you can direct me to some step by step threads or even better actually telling me what to do step by step it'd be appreciated. Thank you.
6th April 2014, 06:51 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,206
 
7,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I presume you have a SGH T-989 ? If so, you're in the wrong place, your thread belongs here. I've asked mods to move your thread, sit tight until they do.
6th April 2014, 07:52 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Yeah I realized that after I posted, I just couldn't figure out what the differences were. Thank you for the help.
7th April 2014, 12:41 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grifter024

Hey guys. Coming from Win-mo where everything is just straight forward so this stuff is pretty new. I am trying to find a Kitkat rom for my T-mo S2. I can't seem to find any threads specifically talking about branded phones.

Can anyone help me out here? Info

The phone isn't rooted and on stock jellybean 4.1.2.

If you can direct me to some step by step threads or even better actually telling me what to do step by step it'd be appreciated. Thank you.

Cyanogenmod 11 runs Kit Kat. You can download it from the official page. As for the actual flashing, you need to have root and the latest Clockworkmod installed, as I have read about some issues if you try to flash it with other custom recoveries or older versions of it.
29th April 2014, 04:10 PM   |  #5  
spirodave's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Louis missouri
Thanks Meter: 112
 
498 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
You don't need to root. Just flash the recovery and flash the rom. The rom itself is rooted. If you want to root your stock rom flash the su zip in recovery

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes