Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

.TOT recovery -- Model Error

OP datdude_tc

8th April 2014, 10:33 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I have stock recovery and can't boot. My model is currently reported as "g2" thanks to the mahdi rom which I screwed up flashing.

Has anyone been able to flash back to a stable firmware by bypassing the model check (using a special .dll, anything?).
10th April 2014, 08:21 AM   |  #2  
podagee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag kahului
Thanks Meter: 259
 
1,445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by datdude_tc

I have stock recovery and can't boot. My model is currently reported as "g2" thanks to the mahdi rom which I screwed up flashing.

Has anyone been able to flash back to a stable firmware by bypassing the model check (using a special .dll, anything?).

i had that problem once and this is what i did...

i booted back into recovery,TWRP or CWM,
i had TWRP , went to advanced wipe and wiped everything,
system,data,cache,dalvik cache
powered down and put it back in download mode and reflashed stock.

it seems that if you dont wipe system it is still picking it up as whatever model rom you flashed.
hope that helps...
10th April 2014, 02:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by podagee

i had that problem once and this is what i did...

i booted back into recovery,TWRP or CWM,
i had TWRP , went to advanced wipe and wiped everything,
system,data,cache,dalvik cache
powered down and put it back in download mode and reflashed stock.

it seems that if you dont wipe system it is still picking it up as whatever model rom you flashed.
hope that helps...

Appreciate the response, but I mentioned in my post that I have stock recovery. Not CWM or TWRP. No dice for me
10th April 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #4  
podagee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag kahului
Thanks Meter: 259
 
1,445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by datdude_tc

Appreciate the response, but I mentioned in my post that I have stock recovery. Not CWM or TWRP. No dice for me

well how did you flash mahdi? anyways do a adb push through stock recovery.
10th April 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by podagee

well how did you flash mahdi? anyways do a adb push through stock recovery.

So adb is accessible through stock recovery? I hold down+power until the LG logo, then release both, and press both again. This takes me to hard reset menu, not recovery. I press power three times, the andriod guy appears with a progress bar (i think it is attempting to factory reset here) and then it reboots. Everything I seem to find on Google/XDA indicates the only way to access a recovery mode is through a custom recovery.


If it's really this simple I'm going to flip.......ha
10th April 2014, 10:46 PM   |  #6  
podagee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag kahului
Thanks Meter: 259
 
1,445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by datdude_tc

So adb is accessible through stock recovery? I hold down+power until the LG logo, then release both, and press both again. This takes me to hard reset menu, not recovery. I press power three times, the andriod guy appears with a progress bar (i think it is attempting to factory reset here) and then it reboots. Everything I seem to find on Google/XDA indicates the only way to access a recovery mode is through a custom recovery.


If it's really this simple I'm going to flip.......ha

there is a recovery menu even through stock that you can reach. not sure how to get there except through your phone being on in the kk ui. i will try looking around. kinda busy at work so if i dont respond quickly im sorry. in the mean time try again through lgflashtool. make sure your sim card is out when doing it

---------- Post added at 10:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:33 AM ----------

how did you get stock recovery back on your phone?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes