Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Saferoot question

OP Verynoob1

4th April 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hello,

I tried to root my S4 I545, MK2 with version 4.3 on the Verizon network using the saferoot method however when I go to run the program by pushing any button to continue the black command screen disappears and the program does not run. Anybody else have this problem?
I have Kies 3 loaded and my phone is recognized
I have tried with USB Debugging on and off
I have used the stock cable that came with the phone
I tried on two computers one with vista and windows 7.
Adb recognizes my device using the view device command. I am not sure what else there is to do any suggestions? Am I missing something I thought I followed the instructions pretty good.
Thanks
4th April 2014, 03:08 AM   |  #2  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verynoob1

Hello,

I tried to root my S4 I545, MK2 with version 4.3 on the Verizon network using the saferoot method however when I go to run the program by pushing any button to continue the black command screen disappears and the program does not run. Anybody else have this problem?
I have Kies 3 loaded and my phone is recognized
I have tried with USB Debugging on and off
I have used the stock cable that came with the phone
I tried on two computers one with vista and windows 7.
Adb recognizes my device using the view device command. I am not sure what else there is to do any suggestions? Am I missing something I thought I followed the instructions pretty good.
Thanks

It seems that something may be missing on your computer that the install.bat file is looking for, causing it to exit.
You might be able to tell what's happening if you start up a command prompt window and run the install.bat from there.

Unzip the saferoot zip file into c:\saferoot\

For windows 7, press the start key and type "cmd" in the "Search programs and files" box. "cmd.exe" should appear. Click on that to open a command prompt.

at the command prompt, type
Quote:

cd \saferoot\

then press enter.

then type
Quote:

install.bat

Press enter and the install will run. The window will remain open so you can see whatever error is being emitted.
The Following User Says Thank You to k1mu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th April 2014, 08:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by k1mu

It seems that something may be missing on your computer that the install.bat file is looking for, causing it to exit.
You might be able to tell what's happening if you start up a command prompt window and run the install.bat from there.

Unzip the saferoot zip file into c:\saferoot\

For windows 7, press the start key and type "cmd" in the "Search programs and files" box. "cmd.exe" should appear. Click on that to open a command prompt.

at the command prompt, type

then press enter.

then type

Press enter and the install will run. The window will remain open so you can see whatever error is being emitted.

It worked Saferoot installed!! Now I need to explore all that I can do on my new rooted phone. Thanks
4th April 2014, 09:37 PM   |  #4  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verynoob1

It worked Saferoot installed!! Now I need to explore all that I can do on my new rooted phone. Thanks

Hmm. I'm wondering if you had an out-of-date copy of saferoot from somewhere.
Did you download the saferoot zip from the Android Development forum here?
4th April 2014, 11:47 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by k1mu

Hmm. I'm wondering if you had an out-of-date copy of saferoot from somewhere.
Did you download the saferoot zip from the Android Development forum here?

k1mu,
I think it was operator error on my part. Before I tried your suggestion I re-installed Saferoot to my c:drive opened it up an ran it with no problem.

I don't remember if I did that the first time as I tried to root from two different computers. The first time I tried was on my win 7 computer and I could not get it to run. I then I switch to my Vista system and tried to run Saferoot from that system again with no luck. On the Vista system I tried to save Saferoot to my c:drive and I could not because I got an error that I didn't have admin rights to load the file. At that point I gave up.

What I think happened is I didn't download Saferoot to my c: drive on my win 7 computer and after reading your suggestion I tried again and it worked. So I didn't load from the cmd prompt, I guess I should have mentioned that. Hope I am making sense.

FYI I used the Saferoot file dated 29 Mar 2014 from the Android Development forum. Thanks again!
6th April 2014, 03:27 AM   |  #6  
peppersu812's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Douglasville, GA
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I rooted my phone. I'm new to this safestrap thing. I can reboot my phone and see it says Samsung and a lock that says custom underneath. I hit menu and nothing happens. What in the world do I do???

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
6th April 2014, 03:32 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by peppersu812

I rooted my phone. I'm new to this safestrap thing. I can reboot my phone and see it says Samsung and a lock that says custom underneath. I hit menu and nothing happens. What in the world do I do???

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app

Did you use saferoot or safestrap? You need to root as step 1, then install safestrap.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2441441
6th April 2014, 03:35 AM   |  #8  
peppersu812's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Douglasville, GA
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I used saferoot. I tried to download safestrap and I used my file manager to open it up and it was all documents. How do I install the thing. Lol
6th April 2014, 03:41 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by peppersu812

I used saferoot. I tried to download safestrap and I used my file manager to open it up and it was all documents. How do I install the thing. Lol

You just need to follow the directions in the thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2441441

It's always best to read the full post before doing anything.
6th April 2014, 03:45 AM   |  #10  
peppersu812's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Douglasville, GA
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
That's why I posted in here. I did what it said and downloaded it to my phone and tried to open it and it was all documents. No app.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes