Post Reply

Resizing system partition to get more space

OP SupriseMadaafaca

30th December 2013, 11:38 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Will this work on our beloved g2 as well?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2234515

Thanks max.

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Last edited by SupriseMadaafaca; 30th December 2013 at 12:15 PM.
30th December 2013, 11:41 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Good Question
Would also be interested if this is possible
30th December 2013, 12:51 PM   |  #3  
x714x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 272
 
952 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
WebOS is a different animal compared to Android. And Im sure this wont be possible with a locked bootloader. Messing with the partitions is dumb imo, thats the easiest way to hard brick a device.
31st December 2013, 02:23 AM   |  #4  
Hutch89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City, Mo
Thanks Meter: 58
 
301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Guys I came from an LG nitro and we had several issues with modified system partitions really screwing things up. Messing with your system partition is the fastest way to end up with a shiny paperweight. Don't do it.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hutch89 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2014, 01:43 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Milano
Thanks Meter: 134
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hutch89

Guys I came from an LG nitro and we had several issues with modified system partitions really screwing things up. Messing with your system partition is the fastest way to end up with a shiny paperweight. Don't do it.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app

I can agree with you but it's a total nonsense that I bought a 32gb G2 version and available disk space sis just 24gb... hope lg will release some kind of fix/workaround soon
The Following User Says Thank You to provolinoo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2014, 02:06 AM   |  #6  
ruvort's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 405
 
1,498 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by provolinoo

I can agree with you but it's a total nonsense that I bought a 32gb G2 version and available disk space sis just 24gb... hope lg will release some kind of fix/workaround soon

Why would they? Its partitioned that way to hold the size of their default software...

Sent from my LG G2 using Tapatalk
6th January 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #7  
Henryy97's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Would definitely love for more free space especially since i'm running cm11 and the rom is practically a little over 200MB.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Henryy97 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2014, 10:25 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Probably some of the devs can have a look at this

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
6th January 2014, 03:10 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Montrose, MI
Thanks Meter: 152
 
362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
The system partition is 3.2 GB. It isn't like you can go from 24 to 31 GB free. If your that desperate over an extra gig, you might need to reevaluate what you have on your phone, or invest in a microsd usb card reader.


Also, 200 MB is most likely the size of the zip file, you are using to install the rom. That is compressed size. Mahdi rom (I have on my pc at moment so could check), is 208 MB compressed.. The actual install size is 351 MB. That doesn't include gapps, which also installs to the system partion. The core gapps package is 18MB but installs to be 30 MB. And that is assuming you are using core, the full packages are MUCH larger.

So theoretically, you could free up maybe 2.7GB. Is it really worth a good chance at bricking your phone for that?
Last edited by souleman; 6th January 2014 at 03:21 PM.
6th January 2014, 05:31 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Central Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,096
 
6,963 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
This might sound dumb, but I'll say it anyway...

There is media in /system/media, not sure about songs, but certainly ringtones etc

I wonder if one could dump a few gigs of mp3's into /system to make better use of the space, and less use of the media drive (/sdcard).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank