Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Thumbs up [SOLVED] BELL QCN Backup Needed

OP Ian1331

29th October 2012, 11:49 PM   |  #1  
Ian1331's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 176
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Thanks for looking everyone - The required QCN file was obtained and the Post-IMEI Recovery Bell Data Connectivity issue has been solved by PeopleArmy with the assistance of Jethro650!

Hey Bell users, I recently lost my IMEI and after restoring it using this method I now have no service. However their is a solution and but I need your help!

I need a backup of a specific file from a working BELL SGS3. Their is no flashing required as you only need to install a windows program and click a few buttons, then upload the file and PM it to PeopleArmy. The file will allow xda member, Peoplearmy to add BELL to his Data Restorer App for post-IMEI-injection issues. The file is small and will only take you a few minutes to retreive. As a bonus, the file you are retrieving is a backup of your IMEI data, which is good for you to keep in case you ever loose it.

If any Bell user already has a QCN file backup, please skip to step 7 so I can get this fix underway for my phone and the others waiting to get data back.

INSTRUCTIONS (for stock samsung rooted/unrooted roms - AOSP roms follow this):

1. DOWNLOAD and Install QPST V2.7.378 from HERE. Unzip the file and run the "setup.exe" to install QPST.
(Please note that QPST is a powerful program and can flash anything you throw at it. Don't do anything outside of the instructions as it can/could damage your phone)

2. You need open a hidden settings menu. Using the stock dialer dial *#7284#

3. Press the USBSettingsMenu button and put your phone in "RMNET + DM + MODEM" mode.

4. Plug your phone into your computer. Open your windows control panel and look in device manager under Ports and Serials you should see your phone there (note the COM##).

5. Find QPST in your start menu and open "QPST Configuration", click on the PORTS tab and then on Add New Port button. You should see the phone listed in the box on the right side. Click it and press OK. If you don't see it, type in COM## where ## is the port number you noted in step 4 and click OK. Close "QPST Configuration".

6. Find QPST in your start menu and open "Software Download". Click on the BACKUP tab. Make sure your phone is listed at the top under Port. Select the location you want to save your backup beside the "QCN File". Click Start and wait for it to finish. You should now have a QCN file of your NV wherever you made the save location.

7. Submitting your QCN is no longer required as this issue has been solved.

Please note that the instructions above were originally written by PeopleArmy but I modified them for people like me, who need it a little simpler

Thank you for your help,

Ian
Last edited by Ian1331; 30th October 2012 at 04:35 PM. Reason: Solved!
The Following User Says Thank You to Ian1331 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 12:31 AM   |  #2  
jethro650's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
I just replied to your thread here to his thread there hope I can help.
30th October 2012, 12:44 AM   |  #3  
Ian1331's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 176
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jethro650

I just replied to your thread here to his thread there hope I can help.

I hope you can help too! I see your reply on PeopleArmy's thread. Probably for the better that it goes directly to the maker than to the public or a noob like me. I'm not really sure what kind of devious things could be done with a copy of someones QCN file. I think PeopleArmy only needed one file so I suppose anyone else can use the instructions to backup their QCN but don't post it online or send it out.

I'll edit the OP and ask to have this thread closed once everything is resolved.

Thanks again,

Ian
The Following User Says Thank You to Ian1331 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 12:52 AM   |  #4  
jethro650's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian1331

I hope you can help too! I see your reply on PeopleArmy's thread. Probably for the better that it goes directly to the maker than to the public or a noob like me. I'm not really sure what kind of devious things could be done with a copy of someones QCN file. I think PeopleArmy only needed one file so I suppose anyone else can use the instructions to backup their QCN but don't post it online or send it out.

I'll edit the OP and ask to have this thread closed once everything is resolved.

Thanks again,

Ian

Yeah I'm not sure what all is contained in the backup but I do know that my imei number is in there so its not wise to throw it out to the general public.
On a side note mine was carrier unlocked when I took the backup so I don't know how that would play into it if at all. In the least I hope it helps him help people in your situation.
30th October 2012, 02:47 AM   |  #5  
Ian1331's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 176
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Good call! I decided to update the OP so that if anyone else decides to send their Bell QCM backups in, they will know to send them directly to PeopleArmy. I have no idea if your carrier unlocked file will have any effect on this fix so it couldn't hurt to have other people send theirs in too.

Thanks again for you're help. If you get any kind of updates that don't make it to the other thread, feel free to post them here as I'll be checking it every chance I get (only at home until my phone works again - no wifi at work)

Ian
30th October 2012, 05:58 AM   |  #6  
Peoplearmy's Avatar
Member
Flag Cedar Hill, TX
Thanks Meter: 936
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian1331

I hope you can help too! I see your reply on PeopleArmy's thread. Probably for the better that it goes directly to the maker than to the public or a noob like me. I'm not really sure what kind of devious things could be done with a copy of someones QCN file. I think PeopleArmy only needed one file so I suppose anyone else can use the instructions to backup their QCN but don't post it online or send it out.

I'll edit the OP and ask to have this thread closed once everything is resolved.

Thanks again,

Ian

Thanks for making a note of this on here. I have said in my thread repeatedly to never post any QCN backups publicly even if you are just storing it somewhere publicly accessible. I always discard of any QCN's that people send me once I look it over and once they are no longer needed. I even go as far as deleting the message that contains the link to a person's QCN after it is no longer needed for development (it also helps keep my message box from becoming too full...lol).

Jethro I sent you a message that I need a backup created using the 2.7.378 version of QPST. The one you sent me was made using the 2.7.323 version.

Thanks,

DX
30th October 2012, 06:09 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 821
 
1,847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
@ian1331: It may be helpful to change your OP: It is a "QCN" backup, not QCM. No need to stress too much yet, I am pretty sure once peoplearmy gets what he needs you will be up and running again. I have seen him do it many times before.
The Following User Says Thank You to David Dee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 06:54 AM   |  #8  
Ian1331's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 176
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Dee

@ian1331: It may be helpful to change your OP: It is a "QCN" backup, not QCM. No need to stress too much yet, I am pretty sure once peoplearmy gets what he needs you will be up and running again. I have seen him do it many times before.

Haha, I noticed that earlier today and I took a couple minutes to look but I couldn't figure out how to change the thread title. I think I got all instances of "QCM" in the OP, just not that title. I'll take another look right now.

Thanks,

Ian
Last edited by Ian1331; 30th October 2012 at 04:35 PM.
30th October 2012, 07:30 AM   |  #9  
jethro650's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
@peoplearmy new backup made and pm sent, actually two sent cause I don't think the first one went lol.
30th October 2012, 12:50 PM   |  #10  
jethro650's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
@ian1331, I stayed up last night and got peoplearmy what he needed and he has updated his program in his thread. You should be good to go. Please post your results and if it works just add (solved) to your thread title. Good luck.

Edit--> you can change the thread title by editing your first post and just edit the title....
Last edited by jethro650; 30th October 2012 at 01:02 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes