Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,588 Members 47,403 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] CM11 Gyroscope Problem

Tip us?
 
MrKrunch
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Question [Q] CM11 Gyroscope Problem

I love this forum! For the first time, I can't find an answer to my problem here, so I am hoping someone can help.

Like the title says, I'm running Cyanogenmod 11 VILLUMINATI 12-7-13, and it's great. I have everything working, except for the gyroscope! When I flashed back to a 4.1.2 ROM, "Touched by an S4" the gyroscope worked perfectly. Then I bring it back to 4.4, and the gyroscope acts crazy. Am I missing something obvious?

Also, I'm running ART and I don't get any FCs at this point.

Any advice? Hope? Thanks.
 
KingOz
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Have you tried the basic, Factory reset, reflashing the rom?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKrunch View Post
I love this forum! For the first time, I can't find an answer to my problem here, so I am hoping someone can help.

Like the title says, I'm running Cyanogenmod 11 VILLUMINATI 12-7-13, and it's great. I have everything working, except for the gyroscope! When I flashed back to a 4.1.2 ROM, "Touched by an S4" the gyroscope worked perfectly. Then I bring it back to 4.4, and the gyroscope acts crazy. Am I missing something obvious?

Also, I'm running ART and I don't get any FCs at this point.

Any advice? Hope? Thanks.
I have used this rom before with no problems.. hmmm..... what was the process of you getting to villuminati? and what recovery?
 
MrKrunch
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOz View Post
I have used this rom before with no problems.. hmmm..... what was the process of you getting to villuminati? and what recovery?
Thanks for the reply. Here's basically what I did: Flashed CM10.2 nightly, booted the phone, rebooted to recover, wiped everything in mounts and davlik, Flashed CM11, gapps-kk-11192013, booted the phone, turned on ART, rebooted to recovery, flashed Linux Guy's Camera Fix, cleared cache and davlik, and rebooted the phone.

Had problems with Google Text to Voice force closing constantly, so I used Root Explorer to delete the apk, then re-installed it from the Play Store. I still get some random screen touches from the system, or the 3g will stop completely (fix by turning airplane mode on and off), or the panel buttons will be unresponsive (fixed by turning the screen on and off). Weird.

Now, when I use Android Sensor Box to see the Gyroscope Sensor, the box displayed doesn't rotate exactly with the motion of the phone. I'll flash back to another ROM and try the app there again. I tried flashing back to EL29 stock rooted to calibrate the gyroscope, but I don't think it helped... Is there a better app for looking at this?

Does anyone know where the gyroscope is physically located inside the unit? Maybe mine is defective, and I can just replace it?
 
bilgerryan
Old
(Last edited by bilgerryan; 10th January 2014 at 07:57 PM.)
#4  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 27,479
Posts: 15,153
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
The only way to tell if it is a hardware issue is to Odin back to a stock ROM, or at the very least flash a TouchWiz ROM and see if the problem persists

 
KingOz
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default You did everything right..

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKrunch View Post
Thanks for the reply. Here's basically what I did: Flashed CM10.2 nightly, booted the phone, rebooted to recover, wiped everything in mounts and davlik, Flashed CM11, gapps-kk-11192013, booted the phone, turned on ART, rebooted to recovery, flashed Linux Guy's Camera Fix, cleared cache and davlik, and rebooted the phone.

Had problems with Google Text to Voice force closing constantly, so I used Root Explorer to delete the apk, then re-installed it from the Play Store. I still get some random screen touches from the system, or the 3g will stop completely (fix by turning airplane mode on and off), or the panel buttons will be unresponsive (fixed by turning the screen on and off). Weird.

Now, when I use Android Sensor Box to see the Gyroscope Sensor, the box displayed doesn't rotate exactly with the motion of the phone. I'll flash back to another ROM and try the app there again. I tried flashing back to EL29 stock rooted to calibrate the gyroscope, but I don't think it helped... Is there a better app for looking at this?

Does anyone know where the gyroscope is physically located inside the unit? Maybe mine is defective, and I can just replace it?
I dont think this is a hardware problem if what you stated was true (When I flashed back to a 4.1.2 ROM, "Touched by an S4" the gyroscope worked perfectly)..... the only culprit i can think of would be the "Linux Guy's camera fix" ....try flashing the ROM without it..and see how it goes
 
MrKrunch
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOz View Post
I dont think this is a hardware problem if what you stated was true (When I flashed back to a 4.1.2 ROM, "Touched by an S4" the gyroscope worked perfectly)..... the only culprit i can think of would be the "Linux Guy's camera fix" ....try flashing the ROM without it..and see how it goes
You're right, it's not a hardware problem.. I'm no expert, but the orientation sensor is not set up correctly. It only works with the phone is screen facing down! Haha Also I discovered that Google Glass cannot take phone calls with either KitKat ROM, but it works in JB. What's really strange is that my car and jawbone both have no problem with bluetooth phone calls.

I tried clearing everything and flashed Mokee's KitKat 4.4.2 and the current gapps, and I still had the same issues. I tried a couple of different sensor testing apps, and it's actually the orientation that is the most messed up. The gyroscope seems to mix up the X and Y axis on a few of the tests, but not all. Of course, back in JB the sensors are all functioning just fine.

For now I'm going back to a JB TouchWiz ROM... Bummed because I really like the way KitKat works, so unbelievably smooth and low memory use.
 
bilgerryan
Old
#7  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 27,479
Posts: 15,153
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Try calibrating the Gyro while you're on TouchWiz and then flash KK again. That's the only other thing I can think of. It's in Settings/Motion/Sensitivity Settings/Calibrate Gyro.

 
bilgerryan
Old
#8  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 27,479
Posts: 15,153
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Also maybe try this-http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2405849

 
MrKrunch
Old
(Last edited by MrKrunch; 13th January 2014 at 06:35 AM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Default Convinced these are bugs

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan View Post
Try calibrating the Gyro while you're on TouchWiz and then flash KK again. That's the only other thing I can think of. It's in Settings/Motion/Sensitivity Settings/Calibrate Gyro.
Thanks for the suggestion. I tried going back to TW calibrating it, and returning to KitKat as I explained above.

BUT Calibration can't correct the X and Y axis. The KitKat ROMS (VILLUMINATI and Mokee) are both switching the axis, so motion is behaving unexpectedly. If I tilt the phone back and forth the software interprets that as tilting right and left, and when I tilt it right and left the phone thinks it's tilting back and forth. This is probably why I couldn't get Photosphere to function correctly, even though I could get it to load.

Perhaps this will get fixed in a future release..
 
mattzeller
Old
#10  
mattzeller's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 50
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Orleans
I'm having the exact same problem in VILLUMINATTI , I noticed it when I tried to use sky maps. It's Definitely a KitKat issue with our phones.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more

Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more