Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,846 Members 39,843 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Using a GSM phone for a CDMA service?

Tip us?
 
natalie_storm
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] Using a GSM phone for a CDMA service?

Before I begin, I'm not certain if I'm in the wrong forum but I'll know eventually..

Is it possible, (if so, how) to use a GSM phone for a CDMA service, Sprint to be exact.

all in all, can i use my tmobile galaxy s2 (unlocked) for my new sprint service?
if so, how can i go about doing that?!?!?!?!
 
LS.xD
Old
#2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 585
Posts: 1,854
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lübeck

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie_storm View Post
Before I begin, I'm not certain if I'm in the wrong forum but I'll know eventually..

Is it possible, (if so, how) to use a GSM phone for a CDMA service, Sprint to be exact.

all in all, can i use my tmobile galaxy s2 (unlocked) for my new sprint service?
if so, how can i go about doing that?!?!?!?!

Is your model T989 ?
HTC One S @ PAC-man 4.4.2 [ALPHA1] [12/5/2014] + IceCode Kernel v4.0 // HBoot 2.15 - unlocked BL - S-OFF - NO "tampered & warning text" // TWRP mod 2.7.0.8

Samsung Galaxy W @ ParanoidAndroid 4.3 [BETA3] [6/5/2014] + KhaN Kernel v2.0 // Base: I8150XXLMI // PhilZ CWM 6.01.4

"REVIVED" HTC Wildfire S @ CyanogenMod 11(AWESOME!!!) [6/5/2014] //HBoot 1.09 - unlocked BL // TWRP 2.7.0.0


It won't hurt you to press "thanks" if me or someone other helped you...
 
natalie_storm
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
Is your model T989 ?
yes... is that ok?
 
LS.xD
Old
(Last edited by LS.xD; 7th April 2014 at 01:25 AM.)
#4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 585
Posts: 1,854
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lübeck

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie_storm View Post
yes... is that ok?

These are the supported frequencies:

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100


Check out here for compatible carrier --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cellular_frequencies
HTC One S @ PAC-man 4.4.2 [ALPHA1] [12/5/2014] + IceCode Kernel v4.0 // HBoot 2.15 - unlocked BL - S-OFF - NO "tampered & warning text" // TWRP mod 2.7.0.8

Samsung Galaxy W @ ParanoidAndroid 4.3 [BETA3] [6/5/2014] + KhaN Kernel v2.0 // Base: I8150XXLMI // PhilZ CWM 6.01.4

"REVIVED" HTC Wildfire S @ CyanogenMod 11(AWESOME!!!) [6/5/2014] //HBoot 1.09 - unlocked BL // TWRP 2.7.0.0


It won't hurt you to press "thanks" if me or someone other helped you...
 
natalie_storm
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
These are the supported frequencies:

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100


Check out here for compatible carrier --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cellular_frequencies
Soooooooo... I can? I'm not understanding.
 
LS.xD
Old
#6  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 585
Posts: 1,854
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lübeck

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie_storm View Post
Soooooooo... I can? I'm not understanding.


Check out what frequencies the wanted carrier uses in your region

Google helps...
HTC One S @ PAC-man 4.4.2 [ALPHA1] [12/5/2014] + IceCode Kernel v4.0 // HBoot 2.15 - unlocked BL - S-OFF - NO "tampered & warning text" // TWRP mod 2.7.0.8

Samsung Galaxy W @ ParanoidAndroid 4.3 [BETA3] [6/5/2014] + KhaN Kernel v2.0 // Base: I8150XXLMI // PhilZ CWM 6.01.4

"REVIVED" HTC Wildfire S @ CyanogenMod 11(AWESOME!!!) [6/5/2014] //HBoot 1.09 - unlocked BL // TWRP 2.7.0.0


It won't hurt you to press "thanks" if me or someone other helped you...
 
natalie_storm
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
Check out what frequencies the wanted carrier uses in your region

Google helps...
i googled around a bit and found that Sprint uses the 1900 MHz band for both voice and data service.
 
LS.xD
Old
#8  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 585
Posts: 1,854
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lübeck

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie_storm View Post
i googled around a bit and found that Sprint uses the 1900 MHz band for both voice and data service.
Sprint USA uses MHz
800/1900 for 2g
1900 for 3g
2500 for 4g

Infact you will not be able to make calls if your region uses 800MHz for calls.


Sent from my beloved HTC One S using (most time buggy) Tapatalk
HTC One S @ PAC-man 4.4.2 [ALPHA1] [12/5/2014] + IceCode Kernel v4.0 // HBoot 2.15 - unlocked BL - S-OFF - NO "tampered & warning text" // TWRP mod 2.7.0.8

Samsung Galaxy W @ ParanoidAndroid 4.3 [BETA3] [6/5/2014] + KhaN Kernel v2.0 // Base: I8150XXLMI // PhilZ CWM 6.01.4

"REVIVED" HTC Wildfire S @ CyanogenMod 11(AWESOME!!!) [6/5/2014] //HBoot 1.09 - unlocked BL // TWRP 2.7.0.0


It won't hurt you to press "thanks" if me or someone other helped you...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more