Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,823 Members 52,104 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Note 3 Problems Due to Kitkat Update

Tip us?
 
mxv588t
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2014
Question [Q] Note 3 Problems Due to Kitkat Update

Now, my problem started when I updated my OS from jellybean to kitkat about 2-3 days ago (but my phone has a contract and was bought 13 Nov 2013). About a day after, I suddenly noticed some problems on my phone. Frequently, my Menu button, Home button, and back button will suddenly not work even when you press it. When this happens, the half portion of the screen is also not functioning to my touch. I can only make it work again if I press the LOCK screen or if I pull out the S pen. On the passcode pattern, only the two upper portions are working. Same method if I want to get it working again.

I tried to factory reset my phone and still the problem persists.

Does anyone of you had this problem during the update?

Hope anyone can shed light on this matter. Thanks.
 
skalium
Old
#2  
skalium's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Nov 2008
Hi,
My n9005 had a similar behaviour when updated to kk then I took out it's unofficial cover. Screen and buttons are ok now, but I am having some other issues:
- sometimes when people call me, they think my phone is off, even it's on and displaying strong signal.
- No way to use 3g (only gsm and cdma options are available in setting menu, tried every single config, can't get 3g to work).
- camera is slow to save and react.

If any one have a clue about what I should do to fix this, please dont hesitate to suggest a fix (essentially for 3g issue, I can live with the other glitches).
Thanks again.
(Hope I didn't hijacked your post)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
mxv588t
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2014
Hmm... mine is also SM-N9005 (or note 3). The guy from samsung said they better check it first and it could not be caused by the recent update...probably from hardware issues...
 
skalium
Old
#4  
skalium's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Nov 2008
Imho, i's not hardware. I know a bunch of guys who suffer these symptoms just after updating via OTA to 4.2.2. Have to say that the unresponsive screen, mainly when entering phone passcode. Cicking the power/sleep button also worked for me when screen freezes. Samsung admitted that the kitkat update has changed the rules and that third party accessories(s-pen and other stuff) won't work with its devices (they said it's a bug that they gonna fix in the coming update)
I got my phone from Vodafone Spain, it was on jelly bean and working perfectly. Then I traveled to Morocco and wanted to use it with a local network provider (Maroc Telecom). Got it imei unlocked and he phone worked just ok. Then I was prompted for the kit lat update, did it via OTA and immediately the phone started to behave strangely (the kit kat syndrom).
The strangest thing is I can't get Maroc Telecom 3G network or any of the 2 other Moroccan providers' to work. When I looked at the settings, surprise: instead of listing "GSM only, 3g only, Lte only, Automatic..." it just shows " wcdma/gsm (auto)/wcdma only" options.
So till now, I can't get 3g to work, ever after checking APN, wiping, reseting, hard resting. I've read somewhere that this is had something to do with the network radio bands, but I am not sure about what to do to fix this (thinking about installing the cm11 nightly).
I hope you'll be luckier that I was and solve your note issues.
 
mxv588t
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by skalium View Post
Imho, i's not hardware. I know a bunch of guys who suffer these symptoms just after updating via OTA to 4.2.2. Have to say that the unresponsive screen, mainly when entering phone passcode. Cicking the power/sleep button also worked for me when screen freezes. Samsung admitted that the kitkat update has changed the rules and that third party accessories(s-pen and other stuff) won't work with its devices (they said it's a bug that they gonna fix in the coming update)
I got my phone from Vodafone Spain, it was on jelly bean and working perfectly. Then I traveled to Morocco and wanted to use it with a local network provider (Maroc Telecom). Got it imei unlocked and he phone worked just ok. Then I was prompted for the kit lat update, did it via OTA and immediately the phone started to behave strangely (the kit kat syndrom).
The strangest thing is I can't get Maroc Telecom 3G network or any of the 2 other Moroccan providers' to work. When I looked at the settings, surprise: instead of listing "GSM only, 3g only, Lte only, Automatic..." it just shows " wcdma/gsm (auto)/wcdma only" options.
So till now, I can't get 3g to work, ever after checking APN, wiping, reseting, hard resting. I've read somewhere that this is had something to do with the network radio bands, but I am not sure about what to do to fix this (thinking about installing the cm11 nightly).
I hope you'll be luckier that I was and solve your note issues.
Okay, so here's the update. Last Sunday I was already set to bring this to Samsung Singapore for an assessment. So what I did was to put back the original casing (I am previously using a third party flip cover). I was observing it the whole day and suddenly my note 3 worked fine. Because of this I didn't bring it to Samsung. Now I am still observing it and so far no problems. I believe the reason is the flip cover... but it's strange as the affected portion is the lower half of the screen, home button, menu button and back button.

I hope you solve your problem on your note 3 as well.
 
pete4k
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 326
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by skalium View Post
Imho, i's not hardware. I know a bunch of guys who suffer these symptoms just after updating via OTA to 4.2.2. Have to say that the unresponsive screen, mainly when entering phone passcode. Cicking the power/sleep button also worked for me when screen freezes. Samsung admitted that the kitkat update has changed the rules and that third party accessories(s-pen and other stuff) won't work with its devices (they said it's a bug that they gonna fix in the coming update)
I got my phone from Vodafone Spain, it was on jelly bean and working perfectly. Then I traveled to Morocco and wanted to use it with a local network provider (Maroc Telecom). Got it imei unlocked and he phone worked just ok. Then I was prompted for the kit lat update, did it via OTA and immediately the phone started to behave strangely (the kit kat syndrom).
The strangest thing is I can't get Maroc Telecom 3G network or any of the 2 other Moroccan providers' to work. When I looked at the settings, surprise: instead of listing "GSM only, 3g only, Lte only, Automatic..." it just shows " wcdma/gsm (auto)/wcdma only" options.
So till now, I can't get 3g to work, ever after checking APN, wiping, reseting, hard resting. I've read somewhere that this is had something to do with the network radio bands, but I am not sure about what to do to fix this (thinking about installing the cm11 nightly).
I hope you'll be luckier that I was and solve your note issues.
I'm not an expert but it seems to me you updated hardware for Spain with Morocco firmware. I'm totally guessing here but you probably would need at least to flash different modem software to match your hardware. If I was you and Knox flag =0 I would probably try Samsung service first, once you start flashing custom stuff, most likely you will trip Knox flag and you may be totally on your own to fix it and there may not be many people with similar set up to help you out.
 
errol19
Old
#7  
errol19's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 67
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Adelaide
I here lots of people have trouble with KITKAT update OTA method.Try manual flash official stock rom with odin.
 
skalium
Old
#8  
skalium's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Nov 2008
>mxv588t
Glad you could solve your problem

>pete4k
Thanks for the advice. Samsung guys are useless. They are formated to answer specific questions.
Will try to flash a compatible modem because I beleive Moroccan devices did not have kitkat update yet( and the ones that are officially sold here aren't strait n9005 but some variant (n9000ZWE, with this bizarre stock n900xxxubmhc_llc).
Thanks guys

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
guichankr
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Info 2 Same issue - did you find a solution ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skalium View Post
>mxv588t
Glad you could solve your problem

>pete4k
Thanks for the advice. Samsung guys are useless. They are formated to answer specific questions.
Will try to flash a compatible modem because I beleive Moroccan devices did not have kitkat update yet( and the ones that are officially sold here aren't strait n9005 but some variant (n9000ZWE, with this bizarre stock n900xxxubmhc_llc).
Thanks guys

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I have the same issue today. Did you find a solution?
 
antique_sonic
Old
#10  
antique_sonic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1087
Posts: 2,094
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Corner of the earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by guichankr View Post
I have the same issue today. Did you find a solution?
Don't update through OTA. Download full firmware and flash through odin, and after that do full wipe. There should be no problem after that.

Sent from N9005 4.4.2 NB7 rooted device
~WJ~
Learn.... Learn.... & Learn
Learn till you die, and you will die a happy man



Q & A for XNote Galaxy S5 (All Questions about X-Note Galaxy S5 PORT) :
[Q&A]X-Note G900F S5 PORT

The Following User Says Thank You to antique_sonic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes