Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Lost root, help downgrading to 4.1.2

OP UberBaumer

18th April 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hi all,

I'm a bit of a n00b at this, so please forgive me.

I started with Android 4.1.2, Kernel 3.4.0-g298631f-02047-gec59411, build 10.1.C.0.370.

I rooted it using Doomlord's easy-root and then when attempting to flash custom recovery, I accidentally flashed some other .img and the tablet wouldn't even turn on. I cried. Like, a few good tears.

Went online, found out I wasn't screwed, and figured out how to flash SGP312_10.4.B.0.577_VMo DE_1273-3719_WIFI312G.

But, as I said, I lost root, and am confused about how to downgrade back to 4.1.2 properly without bricking.

Here is my current info:

Version 4.3, Kernel 3.4.0-g1b44cd5, build 10.4.b.0.577

In this thread, under "Downgrade your rom" and "back to 4.1.2 and rooting" it says "if you're in 4.3, Flash this SGP 351 4.1.2 FTF using Flash Tool and it will be booted in 4.1.2. if you have different Variant downgrade to your Variant FTF file"

What is a variant FTF file? Can I just use any SGP 312 4.1.2 FTF? Does anyone know a safe one to use?

Thanks!
18th April 2014, 09:38 PM   |  #2  
worf_1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 99
 
664 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Just wipe EVERYTHING on flashtools. Make sure that you have al wipe checked, and press start flashing.

But be careful, sometimes, bootloader is messed up with updates, not sure if it is your case because i don't have a SGP312. Instead i have the LTE variant, wich turned itself into an stubborn piece of technology LOL

Sent from my little big badass boy!
18th April 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by worf_1977

Just wipe EVERYTHING on flashtools. Make sure that you have al wipe checked, and press start flashing.

But be careful, sometimes, bootloader is messed up with updates, not sure if it is your case because i don't have a SGP312. Instead i have the LTE variant, wich turned itself into an stubborn piece of technology LOL

Sent from my little big badass boy!

Thanks for the response!

Just not sure what you mean by "wipe everything". What am I flashing it with? Which firmware? And what's "al wipe"?

I tried posting a screenshot of the flash tools but as a new user I can't do it. Sorry for being a n00b.
19th April 2014, 01:28 AM   |  #4  
Cat McGowan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 356
 
809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberBaumer

Thanks for the response!

Just not sure what you mean by "wipe everything". What am I flashing it with? Which firmware? And what's "al wipe"?

I tried posting a screenshot of the flash tools but as a new user I can't do it. Sorry for being a n00b.

I believe by "wipe everything" and "al wipe", they mean select to wipe APPSLOG, CACHE, and DATA during the flashing process. The flash tool you need can be downloaded from HERE. You can download a US version of the firmware from my post HERE.
Last edited by Cat McGowan; 19th April 2014 at 01:32 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Cat McGowan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2014, 02:53 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat McGowan

I believe by "wipe everything" and "al wipe", they mean select to wipe APPSLOG, CACHE, and DATA during the flashing process. The flash tool you need can be downloaded from HERE. You can download a US version of the firmware from my post HERE.

THANK YOU, SIR.

I really appreciate it!

Back onto 4.1 and just rooted again. Now I just need to manage not screwing up installing CWM like I did last time!
19th April 2014, 03:30 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Grrr...so I'm having trouble again.

When I try flashing CWM it keeps soft-bricking or whatever my tablet. It won't boot and I need to put it into fastboot mode and reflash the firmware.

I'm using the command fastboot flash boot TabZ_DooMLoRD_AdvStkKernel_FW-253-v01.img

Is there a better or another way to get CWM installed?
19th April 2014, 04:47 AM   |  #7  
Cat McGowan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 356
 
809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberBaumer

Grrr...so I'm having trouble again.

When I try flashing CWM it keeps soft-bricking or whatever my tablet. It won't boot and I need to put it into fastboot mode and reflash the firmware.

I'm using the command fastboot flash boot TabZ_DooMLoRD_AdvStkKernel_FW-253-v01.img

Is there a better or another way to get CWM installed?

TabZ_DooMLoRD_AdvStkKernel_FW-253-v01.img is for the SGP321 running firmware 10.1.1.A.1.253.
You have a SGP312.
TabZ_DooMLoRD_AdvStkKernel_FW-344-v01.img is for the SGP312 running firmware 10.1.C.0.344.
You are running firmware 10.1.C.0.370.
You would probably have better luck trying to install Nut's XZDualRecovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to Cat McGowan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2014, 06:56 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat McGowan

TabZ_DooMLoRD_AdvStkKernel_FW-253-v01.img is for the SGP321 running firmware 10.1.1.A.1.253.
You have a SGP312.
TabZ_DooMLoRD_AdvStkKernel_FW-344-v01.img is for the SGP312 running firmware 10.1.C.0.344.
You are running firmware 10.1.C.0.370.
You would probably have better luck trying to install Nut's XZDualRecovery.

Jeez, dude, you're totally rocking my world. Thanks a ton for all your help.

I've successfully installed the XZ DualRecovery.

But now something weird is happening: when I try installing various roms (cm-10.2.0-pollux_windy or cm-11-20140418-nightly-pollux_windy) I get the error that it's for the wrong device. It tells me that I have a Pollux, but according to google, Pollux is the LTE version - I most definitely have the SG312 32GB WiFi version).

Did I go wrong somewhere here?
19th April 2014, 04:22 PM   |  #9  
Cat McGowan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 356
 
809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberBaumer

Jeez, dude, you're totally rocking my world. Thanks a ton for all your help.

I've successfully installed the XZ DualRecovery.

But now something weird is happening: when I try installing various roms (cm-10.2.0-pollux_windy or cm-11-20140418-nightly-pollux_windy) I get the error that it's for the wrong device. It tells me that I have a Pollux, but according to google, Pollux is the LTE version - I most definitely have the SG312 32GB WiFi version).

Did I go wrong somewhere here?

I do not install custom ROMs. No ROM has ever impressed me enough to cause me to want to install it. However, I have read posts regarding your problem in the Xperia Tablet Z Original Android Development forum. Look there and perhaps you will find the answer you need.
19th April 2014, 06:02 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat McGowan

I do not install custom ROMs. No ROM has ever impressed me enough to cause me to want to install it. However, I have read posts regarding your problem in the Xperia Tablet Z Original Android Development forum. Look there and perhaps you will find the answer you need.

Hmm, I see. I was excited to install Cyanogenmod because I have it on my Samsung Galaxy S3 and enjoy the customization and ability to remove all the bloatware.

According to your signature, I see that you're on 4.2... A few questions:

Did you do this through an official update?
Can I somehow flash 4.2 through recovery mode (so if I decide I don't like it, I can just load a system backup and go back to 4.1.2)?
If I were to update through the automatic system update, I'm assuming I'll lose my root access and won't be able to get back into recovery mode (in case I figure out a way to install a custom rom in the future)?
Is there a way to remove all the sony bloatware without root access (if I were to install an official system update)?

Sorry for all the questions. I'm just trying to get this all figured out before I start downloading all my apps and getting comfortable with the interface.

Thanks again so very much.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes