Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,173 Members 42,016 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM | ZTE OPEN] FFOS 1.2 multilanguage - upgradeable through B2G nightlies

Tip us?
 
paziusss
Old
(Last edited by paziusss; 22nd January 2014 at 11:35 PM.) Reason: Device support :)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2014
Talking [ROM | ZTE OPEN] FFOS 1.2 multilanguage - upgradeable through B2G nightlies

Hello again:

Build B2G for ZTE Open (inari) is tricky. People who want to develop applications with firefox's app-manager extension need to wait for ZTE upgrades or build their own system, which involves some permission modifications in boot.img and some tweaking to recover the bootanimation (lost on custom builds) among other things.


But hey, I've build a production pre-release of firefox os 1.2, and so far so good , and I like to share it with you via a flashable .zip file. Remember this file can be installed ONLY from CWM recovery, cause its not signed


features:

Version 1.2-prerelease (user release):
  • Build with blobs from version 1.1.0B02 (also known as 1.1.0B06) for ZTE Open (EU version)
  • Multilanguage - upgradeable through B2G nightlies (for both gecko & gaia)
  • Compatible with firefox app-manager (firefox 26+)
  • Includes su & busybox binaries ( busybox is linked with clear, grep, head, less, lsmod, more, nohup, pidof, ping, printf, pstree, sysctl, tail, telnetd, tftpd, traceroute, uname & usleep, for debugging via adb)
  • No carrier branding, just official firefox os branding
  • Fastboot enabled | ADB rooted
  • does *NOT* overwrite your recovery partition (you won't loose CWM recovery )

known bugs: isn't a bug but a security feature: "ADB should not be allowed to connect when device is locked in production builds"


FAQ:
  • I'm on version 1.x.y of 'some-carrier' build, Will this zip work in my case: Yes, only and just only if you have CWM installed.
  • There are a lot of strange files inside .zip, why ? this is because ZTE provides upgrades with radio & bootloader firmware (incompatibles between versions) If I want to support this ROM I need to make sure everyone have the same version ( the version that matches with the blobs )


Of course, YOUR WARRANTY IS VOID, and if you brick your phone , this is NOT MY FAULT



the link to the zip file: ul.to/2jwkruhj

Feedback is welcome
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to paziusss For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
martin_s5670
Old
(Last edited by martin_s5670; 24th January 2014 at 01:31 PM.) Reason: build-specification
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 140
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by paziusss View Post
Hello again:

Build B2G for ZTE Open (inari) is tricky. People who want to develop applications with firefox's app-manager extension need to wait for ZTE upgrades or build their own system, which involves some permission modifications in boot.img and some tweaking to recover the bootanimation (lost on custom builds) among other things.


But hey, I've build a production pre-release of firefox os 1.2, and so far so good , and I like to share it with you via a flashable .zip file. Remember this file can be installed ONLY from CWM recovery, cause its not signed


...

Feedback is welcome
Runs great, I will use your build to test and mod some apps with the app-manager.
And please, stay at this good work (updates etc?!)
---edited:
Is your build a development build (of FFOS 1.2)? I cant't open certified apps with the app-manager (I have changed the pref "devtools.debugger.forbid-certified-apps" to false in my profile. But there is no certified app to see or to open in the app-manager. If not, can you - or somebody else - build this development build of FFOS 1.2?
ZTE Open / roamer2 (B2G 1.2. / 1.4 -prereleases)
Galaxy Tab 3, 7'' (SM-T210)
 
ryanolson7
Old
#3  
ryanolson7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 123
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Syracuse
ROM is pretty stable. I don't know if I'm the only one having this issue, but it looks like my data is connecting but then it isn't working. I'm connected to AT&T right now. When I pull down the notification bar, I see that I am getting an "H" (HSPA+) signal but if I try to open firefox and hit a site, it says I'm not connected to the internet.

I'm aware that this is in a prerelease state but do you know how I could fix this?
Nexus 5 & ZTE Open (Firefox OS)

Twitter
 
paziusss
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2014
@martin_s5670: AFAIK there are three types of builds: engineer builds, userdebug builds and user builds. This is an user build, but you can also test privilegied (aka certified) apps on it. If you want to see your installed system apps I'm sorry but you can't do it in this way

@ryanolson7: could you please test your connection via a ping

adb shell
ping www.google.com

if you can't reach google, then I would appreciate if you paste somewhere your logcat in this way:

adb logcat | grep RIL > file.log

and just deactivate data, wait a few seconds, and activate it again.

---

I'll do some further tests on this branch (because some blobs may change from 1.0.1) but here in Spain both 3G & 2G data seems to works well, need to find a place with HSPA+.

Are you in the USA? I'm asking because this rom is based in open_eu release ( AFAIK they are the same except for radio capabilities )


Thanks for the feedback
 
g2rp
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Great Job!

Thanks! Tried and working. I have even received a update, and still working smooth!
 
erik_tran
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default can you tell me about the creating this ROM process?

I'm using US rom, I just want to use these blobs to make a custom builds, but flashing all the images bricked my phone. Can you explain me about the steps you did to package this ROM?
 
martin_s5670
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 140
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by paziusss View Post
...
Feedback is welcome
@ paziusss:
Maybe a littele bug: The app "calendar" starts everytime when your build will be booted - without open it separetly.
ZTE Open / roamer2 (B2G 1.2. / 1.4 -prereleases)
Galaxy Tab 3, 7'' (SM-T210)
 
youcef.83
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Algiers
Default im new here

i want to know if i can use this in my nexus 4 multirom android 4 KK
 
LinuxHolic
Old
(Last edited by LinuxHolic; 4th February 2014 at 05:59 PM.)
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Need FF OS 1.3

Can anyone please provide me zip file of FF OS 1.3?
Thanks
 
Deathwish238
Old
#10  
Deathwish238's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 308
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ATX
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinuxHolic View Post
Can anyone please provide me zip file of FF OS 1.3?
Thanks
Not quite a zip, but, https://daylightpirates.org/b2g_inari_nightly_builds/
++ Primary Device: Google Nexus One
++ ROM: VJ CM10.1 4.2.2 v6.0 Blackrose++ Recovery: ClockworkMod v5.0.2.8
++ Secondary Device: ZTE Open
++ ROM: diafygi's 1.2 Nightly 1-24-14 ++ Recovery: ClockworkMod v6.0.3.3

Sony S710A >> Qtek 8310 >> Nokia N75 >> T-Mobile G1 >> Google Nexus One >> Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes