Post Reply

WIP - Google Play Edition - M8

7th April 2014, 08:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Malvern
Thanks Meter: 43
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
I was able to take a base from another XDA Dev (Thanks graffixnyc)

Script Modifications:
Mount points
Build.Prop check was removed until I find the correct ID for the Verizon M8
boot.img was removed

Working:
Boots
Bluetooth

Not working:
Camera
No cellular connection (No Data/Text/Calls)
GPS

Download: Link
MD5: bc44801ce43752e36375cfa6fb43ae1d

I think this will make a good base to help with further GPE development on the Verizon M8!

Flash at your own risk - I am not responsible for bricked devices. CWM Backup is HIGHLY recommended.

Correct ro.build.product name: htc_m8wl (Will be added on next update)

SELECT YES WHEN CWM ASKS YOU ABOUT RECOVERY REPLACEMENT.
Last edited by chriskader; 8th April 2014 at 01:59 AM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to chriskader For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2014, 10:43 PM   |  #2  
krazie1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,846
 
3,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Originally from @myn in your other thread OP

Quote:
Originally Posted by myn

Love to see threads like this

For the data/cell, move over the libril* file(s) in /system/lib from our Verizon stock ROM to the GPE ROM (do one at a time) and see if that fixes the issue with data. Also may want to verify the build.prop references the appropriate RIL ffilename if different from in GPE build.prop.

For SMS/MMS, try moving the *apns* files from /system/etc on our Verizon stock rom to GPE and again see if that fixes the SMS/MMS issue. If that doesn't resolve it, it's probably buried in the framework-res.apk under /xml/. You could try extracting the contents of the Verizon framework-res.apk and simply copy over the /xml/apns.xml into the GPE framework-res.apk.

Biggest advice I can give you is only move and test 1 file at a time. Sounds Tedious but it will save you sooo much time in the long run.

Good to see you working on this

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
7th April 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #3  
JWhetstone02's Avatar
Senior Member
Hollow Creek
Thanks Meter: 816
 
931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
If you needed the mount points for our device, I pulled them a while back.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51479859

[MOUNTPOINTS] HTC One M8

Not sure if they are different from the base device in which this gpe base came from

-HTC One m8-
The Following User Says Thank You to JWhetstone02 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Thumbs up
I was waiting for this! Thanks for kicking it off, I will be more than happy to test for you when it gets to that point.
7th April 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #5  
androidoholic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Simi Valley, CA
Thanks Meter: 100
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskader

I was able to take a base from another XDA Dev (Thanks graffixnyc)

Script Modifications:
Mount points
Build.Prop check was removed until I find the correct ID for the Verizon M8
boot.img was removed

Working:
Boots
Bluetooth

Not working:
Camera
No cellular connection (No Data/Text/Calls)
GPS

Download: Link
MD5: bc44801ce43752e36375cfa6fb43ae1d

I think this will make a good base to help with further GPE development on the Verizon M8!

Flash at your own risk - I am not responsible for bricked devices. CWM Backup is HIGHLY recommended.

I will get working on this tonight when I get home.
7th April 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Malvern
Thanks Meter: 43
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhetstone02

If you needed the mount points for our device, I pulled them a while back.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51479859

[MOUNTPOINTS] HTC One M8

Not sure if they are different from the base device in which this gpe base came from

-HTC One m8-

The needed mountpoints where modified in the install script but thanks for the info!
The Following User Says Thank You to chriskader For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2014, 11:36 PM   |  #7  
BFirebird101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 137
 
768 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
And here we go.

Sent from my HTC One M8!
U WOT M8?
8th April 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Barrington, RI
Thanks Meter: 76
 
622 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Will this work with data for a Verizon m8 on tmobile

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
8th April 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #9  
androidoholic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Simi Valley, CA
Thanks Meter: 100
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtmedeiros

Will this work with data for a Verizon m8 on tmobile

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

Data is not working period....will be soon though. Give it time.
8th April 2014, 12:04 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Barrington, RI
Thanks Meter: 76
 
622 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I didn't know if gsm was broken as well. No problem man take time

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon One (M8) Android Development by ThreadRank