FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

Miracast Waiting Room

223 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By drawde, Senior Member on 7th April 2014, 11:55 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Anyone know if the Fire TV has any Miracast support at launch? I saw according to the press release it's coming later this year, but not much information aside from that.
Last edited by drawde; 8th April 2014 at 12:00 AM. Reason: wrong location.. mods please delete
 
 
10th April 2014, 10:52 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drawde

Anyone know if the Fire TV has any Miracast support at launch? I saw according to the press release it's coming later this year, but not much information aside from that.

I posted in a long thread before there was a separate forum. I had no luck with Miracast. However, a new alternative has popped up. If you have a 4.4.2 rooted device, you can download Clockworkmod Mirror beta and the receiver app, and you can get similar functionality.
14th April 2014, 10:26 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
You can try AllCast. It has support for Fire TV now. You will need to sideload the app to your FTV.
18th April 2014, 04:37 AM |#4  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 580
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xaudiblex

I posted in a long thread before there was a separate forum. I had no luck with Miracast. However, a new alternative has popped up. If you have a 4.4.2 rooted device, you can download Clockworkmod Mirror beta and the receiver app, and you can get similar functionality.

My FTV showed up today... I sideloaded the AllCast Receiver and AllCast works good. However mirror doesn't see the FTV at all. 4.4.2 rooted GN3. Never had a device it would work with so I'm not sure if the app is working (didn't support chromecast on my phone).
21st April 2014, 08:38 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krelvinaz

My FTV showed up today... I sideloaded the AllCast Receiver and AllCast works good. However mirror doesn't see the FTV at all. 4.4.2 rooted GN3. Never had a device it would work with so I'm not sure if the app is working (didn't support chromecast on my phone).

Allcast is now available in the Fire TV Appstore. No need to side load it.
22nd April 2014, 07:39 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Does allcast also work with ios? If not is there any casting app that work.
22nd April 2014, 01:14 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by quantang

Does allcast also work with ios? If not is there any casting app that work.

XBMC and SPMC support Airplay. I have not tested it yet, but will tonight.
24th June 2014, 05:05 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question
Does Miracast work? I've a BlackBerry Q10 and it has Miracast screen mirroring built-in. Wondering if anyone has tried to mirror using Miracast?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spelvin

XBMC and SPMC support Airplay. I have not tested it yet, but will tonight.

Does Airplay Screen Mirroring work? My wife has an iPhone 5s and Macbook. She wants to be able to Airplay from both her iPhone and Macbook (screen mirroring).

How about support for DLNA/Play-to/Play-On ?

Cheers
28th September 2014, 06:25 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question
Hi,

i just received my Fire TV and also tried to connect my Microsoft Surface2 via Miracast with the FTV...which did not work at all. The FTV Box is just not shown as Miracast enabled device. Do I have something to activate first, or is the FTV just not working with Maracas (for now)?

Tanks!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes