FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

[PSA] Google Play Edition and Sense Version have different system partition sizes

6,108 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,952
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
If anyone has a REAL GPE or a converted GPE you will notice you can't flash any ROMS without getting errors. I investigated into this and this is what I found. The system partition is only a little over 1 gig where the sense system partition is 2.8 gb. So if you try to flash a sense rom on a GPE or a converted HTC m8. It will fail (because the partition is too big for the gpe partition). The only way to correct this is to flash a sense RUU when it's available.

I'm working on a new GPE conversion RUU that will use a bigger system partition. If this works (which I'm not sure it will) then it will be easy for people who to convert to go back..

Just figured I'd let everyone know.. This was NOT tha case with the m7!
Last edited by graffixnyc; 8th April 2014 at 02:07 AM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to graffixnyc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
8th April 2014, 01:37 AM |#2  
graffixnyc's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 5,952
 
Donate to Me
More
Here is a df from a real GPE (non converted)
/system 1006.7M 778.0M 228.6M 4096

Mine after conversion:

/system 1006.7M 779.1M 227.6M 4096


Can someone do a df on a sense version?

Using adb
Type adb shell
Then df
Last edited by graffixnyc; 8th April 2014 at 02:05 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to graffixnyc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 02:04 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 152
 
More
Thanks for that info, very good to know!

Sent from my LG-V510 using Tapatalk
8th April 2014, 03:32 AM |#4  
HolyAngel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 7,659
 
Donate to Me
More
Wow! Glad I didn't convert yet! Here's a pic of it

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1396924324361.jpg
Views:	1961
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	2674289  
The Following User Says Thank You to HolyAngel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 04:33 AM |#5  
I converted not worried about it at all tho. On a side note graffix do you have the GPE hboot pulled? If so can you upload it or add it to your recovery thread, want it to edit out the red dev text lol.
8th April 2014, 04:37 AM |#6  
graffixnyc's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 5,952
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djkinetic

I converted not worried about it at all tho. On a side note graffix do you have the GPE hboot pulled? If so can you upload it or add it to your recovery thread, want it to edit out the red dev text lol.

It's already there I posted it last night in the stock recovery thread.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to graffixnyc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 06:43 AM |#7  
nugzo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fayetteville, NC.
Thanks Meter: 569
 
More
subscribed. will guinea pig if safe
8th April 2014, 02:50 PM |#8  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 47000 places at once.
Thanks Meter: 269
 
More
Can't you just flash sense (htc) hboot.img? Won't that change the partitions.

Remember on my desire I used to modify the hboot to make a bigger system partition.
8th April 2014, 05:17 PM |#9  
vultuk's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Blackpool
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
No one seems to have sent you this yet so... Here is a stock Sense

/system 2641M 2062M 579M 4096
Last edited by vultuk; 8th April 2014 at 05:25 PM.
8th April 2014, 05:18 PM |#10  
graffixnyc's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 5,952
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by backfromthestorm

Can't you just flash sense (htc) hboot.img? Won't that change the partitions.

Remember on my desire I used to modify the hboot to make a bigger system partition.

I tried that and it didn't work. Maybe a modified hboot but not the normal one.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes