Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Gpe device running sense roms?

OP d11dog11

7th April 2014, 06:25 PM   |  #1  
d11dog11's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
1,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Can I flash sense based roms on the Google play edition ? I know you can do gpe based roms on sense devices but I can't find any info on what happens the other way. Thanks.
7th April 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #2  
d11dog11's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
1,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Bump, probably trading for this tomorrow so I would really like an answer today. Does anyone know?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
7th April 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag milton keynes
Thanks Meter: 10
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by d11dog11

Can I flash sense based roms on the Google play edition ? I know you can do gpe based roms on sense devices but I can't find any info on what happens the other way. Thanks.

Not as far as i am aware, you will have to go through a few hoops unlocking bootloader s-off - firmware change to sense etc, i have bricked
my device in the process as i have a current post up here asking for help, gonna get M8 tomorrow, so we are in similar circumstances !
7th April 2014, 10:09 PM   |  #4  
d11dog11's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
1,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrat

Not as far as i am aware, you will have to go through a few hoops unlocking bootloader s-off - firmware change to sense etc, i have bricked
my device in the process as i have a current post up here asking for help, gonna get M8 tomorrow, so we are in similar circumstances !

I know it needs s off and custom recovery and all that. I just mean once I have it ready to flash roms, is there any reason I can't flash a sense rom?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
7th April 2014, 10:26 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag milton keynes
Thanks Meter: 10
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by d11dog11

I know it needs s off and custom recovery and all that. I just mean once I have it ready to flash roms, is there any reason I can't flash a sense rom?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I am trying to do that now and i am stuck on the bootloader !!! Bricked, ! You can give it a try but am not a novice and i am stuck with a bricked
GPE version phone, if i was you, sell your working variant GPE on Gumtree, Ebay and go from there ! Good luck
8th April 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #6  
NxNW's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 517
 
1,427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Come on folks. Do your research.

A GPE One's hardware is identical to the AT&T carrier-locked/branded or Developer Edition or "International" (WWE) unlocked/unbranded phones.

Any of them can be turned into any of the others by (carefully) writing to the necessary partitions.

Once any of these phones is S-OFF you can easily run any of the ROMs intended for any of the others.

In fact, you can use "firmware" intended for one while running another, although I would advise you understand what "flashing firmware" really means before making any firm conclusions there.

Anyway, short answer to the OP, yes if you're S-OFF and do a little reading, you can flash a variety of Sense ROMs.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NxNW For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #7  
d11dog11's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
1,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NxNW

Come on folks. Do your research.

A GPE One's hardware is identical to the AT&T carrier-locked/branded or Developer Edition or "International" (WWE) unlocked/unbranded phones.

Any of them can be turned into any of the others by (carefully) writing to the necessary partitions.

Once any of these phones is S-OFF you can easily run any of the ROMs intended for any of the others.

In fact, you can use "firmware" intended for one while running another, although I would advise you understand what "flashing firmware" really means before making any firm conclusions there.

Anyway, short answer to the OP, yes if you're S-OFF and do a little reading, you can flash a variety of Sense ROMs.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app

That was the answer I was expecting and I thank you.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to d11dog11 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #8  
d11dog11's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
1,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Next question, do I have to worry about s off like I did on my Verizon version or does the old fastboot oem unlock work like a nexus?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
8th April 2014, 01:27 AM   |  #9  
NxNW's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 517
 
1,427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by d11dog11

Next question, do I have to worry about s off like I did on my Verizon version or does the old fastboot oem unlock work like a nexus?

Unlock is not the same as S-OFF.

You can do a lot with just being unlocked, but at some point you probably want S-OFF.

I didn't buy my phone from Google, so I don't know if unlocking is as simple as using a fastboot command like on a Nexus.

If not, you will have to unlock like everyone else. You can go to htcdev.com and/or do it as part of the S-OFF process.

Just to review the obvious, unlocking your phone in this way will erase everything personal on it including your pictures, your music, everything.

Backup your stuff.

To go all the way S-OFF, you first need to find out your HBOOT version. Most GPE phones have 1.54 right now.

Then decide which S-OFF exploit might work for you.

Read the rumrunner and firewater threads very carefully before doing anything. Always read the OP several times and then peruse the last two or pages of activity in any thread before making any conclusions.

Good luck.




Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app



Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
8th April 2014, 01:55 AM   |  #10  
ipfreelytech's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anchorage Alaska
Thanks Meter: 81
 
373 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
GPE Hboot unlocks just like a nexus with Fastboot OEM Unlock. A token from htc dev is not required.

Still going to need to use an exploit to gain S-OFF


Quote:
Originally Posted by NxNW

Unlock is not the same as S-OFF.

You can do a lot with just being unlocked, but at some point you probably want S-OFF.

I didn't buy my phone from Google, so I don't know if unlocking is as simple as using a fastboot command like on a Nexus.

If not, you will have to unlock like everyone else. You can go to htcdev.com and/or do it as part of the S-OFF process.

Just to review the obvious, unlocking your phone in this way will erase everything personal on it including your pictures, your music, everything.

Backup your stuff.

To go all the way S-OFF, you first need to find out your HBOOT version. Most GPE phones have 1.54 right now.

Then decide which S-OFF exploit might work for you.

Read the rumrunner and firewater threads very carefully before doing anything. Always read the OP several times and then peruse the last two or pages of activity in any thread before making any conclusions.

Good luck.




Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app



Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app


The Following User Says Thank You to ipfreelytech For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes