Must Have App Review: Spider Squisher Pro Extreme

Here on XDA TV we have a series we like to call Must Have Apps. These are apps that we … more

OnePlus DR-1 Quadcopter Drone Available for Purchase

OnePlus has been teasing a new product for a while now, hailing it as a … more

KDZ of Android 5.0.1 Captured for T-Mobile LG G3

T-Mobile US is yet to release the 20B Lollipop build for the LG G3. Luckily enough, you … more

Build Custom Stock Kernel with Linaro GCC 4.9.1

With this guide for Sony devices, you will learn how to build a kernel using the Linaro … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

OTA update now boot loop

16th April 2014, 01:54 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
a while back I had a friend root my phone, he recently unrooted it and brought me back to stock. Tonight I received an OTA update and clicked ok. it stated to update and then rebooted into the "Samsung" screen with white lettering, but it stays there and the screen flickers.

If I try to boot into recovery it asks if I want to download a custom OS.

Does this mean it wasn't fully unrooted (we thought he took all the steps to unroot)? is there anything I can do? If I bring the phone into verizon will they know if has been rooted and will they even care?

thanks
16th April 2014, 06:41 AM |#2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 840
 
2,676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by channeldave

a while back I had a friend root my phone, he recently unrooted it and brought me back to stock. Tonight I received an OTA update and clicked ok. it stated to update and then rebooted into the "Samsung" screen with white lettering, but it stays there and the screen flickers.

If I try to boot into recovery it asks if I want to download a custom OS.

Does this mean it wasn't fully unrooted (we thought he took all the steps to unroot)? is there anything I can do? If I bring the phone into verizon will they know if has been rooted and will they even care?

thanks

Whats the phone you're talking about?
16th April 2014, 01:11 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Sorry, thought I was in the Note 2 forum. It's the Note 2 from verizon.

When I try to bot into recovery it now goes to a screen that says I'm downloading an OS, and at the top it says ODIN.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Whats the phone you're talking about?

16th April 2014, 05:57 PM |#4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 840
 
2,676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by channeldave

Sorry, thought I was in the Note 2 forum. It's the Note 2 from verizon.

When I try to bot into recovery it now goes to a screen that says I'm downloading an OS, and at the top it says ODIN.

Is it SGH-T889??
16th April 2014, 06:19 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
SCH-1605

Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Is it SGH-T889??

16th April 2014, 07:05 PM |#6  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 840
 
2,676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by channeldave

SCH-1605

SCH-i605

---------- Post added at 08:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:04 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

SCH-i605


You can flash the stock firmware via Odin to fix it --> LINK
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes