Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

OTA update now boot loop

OP channeldave

16th April 2014, 02:54 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
a while back I had a friend root my phone, he recently unrooted it and brought me back to stock. Tonight I received an OTA update and clicked ok. it stated to update and then rebooted into the "Samsung" screen with white lettering, but it stays there and the screen flickers.

If I try to boot into recovery it asks if I want to download a custom OS.

Does this mean it wasn't fully unrooted (we thought he took all the steps to unroot)? is there anything I can do? If I bring the phone into verizon will they know if has been rooted and will they even care?

thanks
16th April 2014, 07:41 AM   |  #2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 591
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by channeldave

a while back I had a friend root my phone, he recently unrooted it and brought me back to stock. Tonight I received an OTA update and clicked ok. it stated to update and then rebooted into the "Samsung" screen with white lettering, but it stays there and the screen flickers.

If I try to boot into recovery it asks if I want to download a custom OS.

Does this mean it wasn't fully unrooted (we thought he took all the steps to unroot)? is there anything I can do? If I bring the phone into verizon will they know if has been rooted and will they even care?

thanks

Whats the phone you're talking about?
16th April 2014, 02:11 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Sorry, thought I was in the Note 2 forum. It's the Note 2 from verizon.

When I try to bot into recovery it now goes to a screen that says I'm downloading an OS, and at the top it says ODIN.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Whats the phone you're talking about?

16th April 2014, 06:57 PM   |  #4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 591
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by channeldave

Sorry, thought I was in the Note 2 forum. It's the Note 2 from verizon.

When I try to bot into recovery it now goes to a screen that says I'm downloading an OS, and at the top it says ODIN.

Is it SGH-T889??
16th April 2014, 07:19 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
SCH-1605

Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Is it SGH-T889??

16th April 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #6  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 591
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by channeldave

SCH-1605

SCH-i605

---------- Post added at 08:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:04 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

SCH-i605


You can flash the stock firmware via Odin to fix it --> LINK
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes